We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic setting”

Governor's Grill at Sofitel Luang Prabang
Ranked #38 of 208 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 25
Description: Overlooking the Sofitel botanical garden, Governor's Grill - the only tented colonial restaurant in Luang Prabang - makes the most of its sensational heritage setting and ambiance with indoor and al fresco seating offering premium steaks and delicious asian dishes with its distinctive spices and flavours. Limited seating, reservations in advance are mandatory for Lunch and Dinner.
Restaurant details
Description: Overlooking the Sofitel botanical garden, Governor's Grill - the only tented colonial restaurant in Luang Prabang - makes the most of its sensational heritage setting and ambiance with indoor and al fresco seating offering premium steaks and delicious asian dishes with its distinctive spices and flavours. Limited seating, reservations in advance are mandatory for Lunch and Dinner.
Reviewed 6 November 2016

The restaurant is under a large tented roof with open sides looking onto the gardens. The gardens are nicely lit up at night giving a lovely setting. The food is expertly cooked close by and served very discreetly by quietly spoken young waiters. If you are staying at the Sofitel it is recommended on a night that you decide to stay in.

Thank MalcolmM1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Gérant at Governor's Grill at Sofitel Luang Prabang, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Dear Malcolm M,

Thank you very much for your nice review about our restaurant, we are glad you enjoyed the food and service. I will share your review with our team.

I wish you a nice day.

Best regards,

Mao and Sofitel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Governor's Grill at Sofitel Luang Prabang
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The food was absolutely delicious. We had lunch and dinner here and both meals were fantastic.

For lunch we had the burger and Italian baguette. The chips were perfect, the sandwich used very high quality ingredients and was very tasty, and the burger was so succulent - the meat was cooked medium rare perfectly and the onion rings nice and crisp. We also had a couple of milkshakes which were also delicious.

For dinner we had the buffalo tasting menu. It was presented beautifully and tasted wonderful. You get a skewer of buffalo meat with peppers and onion, buffalo bourguignon, buffalo steak, buffalo Lap, vegetables and a baked potato all accompanied with different sauces. The meat was again cooked to perfection and was tender and tasty unlike other places serving buffalo. The restaurant took care over all elements of the dish. I like when restaurants choose good simple ingredients and cook them well without the need for unnecessary pomp. For 35USD I think he buffalo was really good value.

We also had cocktails with the meal, which were also wonderful. I recommend the red queen made with rosella, it was a nice touch that even the ice cubes were frozen rosella.

The setting is beautiful, yes it was quiet, but we enjoyed having the colonial style surroundings to ourselves. You get a lovely view of the grounds from the restaurant and I love that inside there is a library and wine cellar. The site is a UNESCO world heritage site itself so it's great that the restaurant takes such pride in delivering exceptional food, rather than just relying on the surroundings.

Our second favourite meal (only to the 3 Nagas which is the sister hotel).

Thank Della M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Gérant at Governor's Grill at Sofitel Luang Prabang, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Bonjour, Sabaidee Della M,

Sofitel Team would like to thank you for your great review and nice words about our Governor's Grill Restaurant. We are really glad you enjoyed the food and the service.

I will share your review with our entire team, we hope we will have the chance to welcome you again and show you the richness of Laotian Food.

Have a wonderful day.

Mao and Sofitel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Great setting, excellent service and good food. Only problem was lack of other guests to provide some ambience - obviously coming off low season and diners not knowing about it yet.

Thank gGeoff-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Gérant at Governor's Grill at Sofitel Luang Prabang, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Bonjour, Sabaidee Geoff Australia,

Thank you very much for you nice review about our restaurant, we are really glad you enjoyed the quality of the food and service. We hope we will have the chance to welcome and serve you again.

We wish you a pleasant day.

Mao and Sofitel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Sofitel and really enjoyed it. The rooms are located around a gorgeous garden. What a peaceful environment. But what made our stay so lovely was the kindness of the staff. Thank you Inès, Mao, Chef John, Frederico, Alex, Sa, Panya, Khaminar, and many others of the friendly staff.
The food was alway great at the Governor's Grill, In such perfectly manicured garden.
We had two great cooking classes with Chef John. Starting with a visit to the morning market, we cooked 4 courses of authentic Lao food. Delicious. For our second class, John prepared the teaching of 4 different dishes (différent of our previous class).

Thank Pjverlinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Gérant at Governor's Grill at Sofitel Luang Prabang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Bonjour, Sabaidee Pjverlinden,

Sofitel Team would like to thank you for your great review and for yours nice words about our hotel and our restaurant. We are more than happy you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Luang Prabang.

We will share your review with all our team. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon and show you the richness of Luang Prabang and his gastronomie.

Have a wonderful day.

Mao and Sofitel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This was the place that got to enjoy our breakfast. It has a tented roof and the seating arrangements are nicely spaced apart giving you enough privacy in a small area.
The breakfast food that we consumed there was all fresh and re-stocked continuously by the staff. And of course, the attentive staff were the highlights of the meal.

Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Gérant at Governor's Grill at Sofitel Luang Prabang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Dear Tom B,

We would like to thank you for your nice words about our Governor's Grill Restaurant. We are really happy you enjoyed the quality of the food and service.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome and serve you again soon.

Have a nice day.

Mao et Sofitel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Governor's Grill at Sofitel Luang Prabang also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Governor's Grill at Sofitel Luang Prabang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing