We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of Chez Matt

Chez Matt
Ranked #13 of 241 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, French, Wine Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We stopped into Chez Matt about three times. Staff were friendly each time and wines by the glass are decent. Just wish they had a tiny bit more in the way of snacks.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ChicagoPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Went in as a group of 3, ordered 3 gins and a can of tonic. Tried to charge us for 3 doubles as if we wouldn't notice, sorry but we ordered singles.. nice try!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattlao, Propriétaire at Chez Matt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

ERRARE HUMANUM EST.
The bar just re opended a few days ago after changing location.
If the overcharge on your bill was voluntary, I agree with you it would be a shame.
Before, the bills were made by hand.
Now we are using a new system, having around 500 items.
The staff is doing his best, and I 100 % trust his honesty.
They only need to train more with the computer then this kind of mistake won’t happen again.
As you probably notice, the bar was full, and he just push the wrong buttons with 6 cl instead of 3 cl.....
For sure you would see the overcharge, and that’s what happened.
Then he printed a new bill and all was ok.
You have been properly treated by the staff.
And with your 3 gin tonic, you get 3 free of charge gin tonic sherbet.
That’s why I really think you rating is rude and unfair.
Why you do not ask to talk with the manager at that moment, it would have certainly be more nice than hiding behind a screen and a keynote....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Great ambiance, great lighting, great music, quiet and quaint. I really enjoyed the menu offerings. Settled on a whisky sour made with Lao Lao Whisky. All I can say is WOW. It was delicious. Perfect for couples or if you are travelling solo. I'd come again so I recommend it highly...even on a Sunday night.

Whisky Sour & Local roasted peanuts

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rmrjeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

If we are looking for easy night for having the best quality of wines, whisky, gins or other spirits. We always hang out here. Then we continue ordering cold cut and cheese platter to eat there. It is 5 stars services from the owners and staffs. Good price and nice cozy ambience.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Narisaraporn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We stumbled onto this gem of a wine bar on our last night in Luang Prabang. Great wine selection at very reasonable prices. Good attentive service. Nice chill place. An absolute Gem.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Benhur05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Matt also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Chez Matt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing