We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
275
140
48
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
140
48
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage room buddhist temple swimming pool french girl beautiful heritage free bicycles tuk tuk a ground floor room lovely hotel hotel is located minute walk sitting area nice garden first floor i highly recommend this hotel pleasant stay yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

I recently stated at Villa Maydou in LP. It is a beautiful complex of building, some dating back many decades. The staff is very friendly helpful, with people speaking a combination of languages including English and French.

As some of the buildings are old, it can be a bit loud. Especially being on the ground floor and hearing people walk above you. But that is a minor detail that is not surprising and easily overcome by all of the positive qualities.

There is a pool, restaurant, bar and massage service on sight. They can also help you arrange a variety of tours and activities in the area. There are also bicycles available to borrow for free. A great option for getting around town!

I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Smuckuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Only spent 2 nights at the Villa Maydou. The staff are very laid back and if your only language is English then the language barrier maybe a little difficult. We were told our morning trip would be picking us up at 6am only to learn the next day it wasnt actually picking us up until 8am. Breakfast wasn't the best and although the effort was there it was very basic. Rooms are very spacious and clean. However I would take mosquito spray even though they have a plug in its ineffective. Sunken stones for pathways contacting the villas to restaurants could course problems to elder visitors and these are not very well lit during the night. I have no idea who decided to have green tiles for the swimming pool, this doesn't make the pool very inviting. Overall sorry to say it's a very average rating.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peps-vs, Villa Maydou at Villa Maydou, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, even if you made an average review.

We apologize if you do not like our green tiles and the stones pathway.
They are made to fit with our tropical garden. With the choice of a blue pool and concrete for pathway you would feel in a city instead of beying in a calm and nature environnement.

Your tavel agency didn't inform you on time about your schedules. Let them know, i'm sure they will improve their driver timetable.

Best wishes for 2017, and we would be happy to have you with us on your next stay to uang prabang. And i'm sure you would reconcider your stay at Villa Maydou.

Pep's van Sprundel
&
The Villa Maydou Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We were shown lots of village activities, and got to participate. The guide had answers for all our questions from family lifestyles to political history. The tents were super clean and a lot of fun to stay in.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Boom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We lived in a new building on the first floor by the pool (the old ones are dated back to as early as 1936),
even so it looks quite antique. And when i found out that Maydou is "rosewood" in Lao. As I know they are Very precious wood. I can only assume they are very expensive.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Xian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We enjoyed my time at Villa Maydou a lot. This is pretty hotel. The rooms are very clean and the stuff is great. All staffs were great and eager to serve as brillianr as possible. It was a little bit away from town which is good but the free bikes make a big differences. Breakfast is good. Pool is good. Aircon was good. Great service. Will comeback for shure.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoneHenchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peps-vs, Great stay at Villa Maydou, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm sure our staff will be pleased to hear that they are doing great jod.
The location of Villa Maydou is really great, not too far from the center, which makes a relaxing place to stay. The free bicycles are indeed a great way to discover and go around Luang prabang.

khop chai lai lai, hope to see you again and be sure to have a warm welcome next time in Villa Maydou.

Pep's van Sprundel
& and Villa Maydou team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews