We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
229
156
36
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
156
36
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the nam khan river the main street upstairs room the river homemade jams toasted baguette eggs or pancakes watching the world in town second building enjoyable stay night market the main hotel shower and toilet day bed perfect location four poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for four nights over Christmas. the food was superb, the service friendly, the room very comfortable. The hotel, centrally located with a view over the river, provided free bikes for guests. They arranged a great boat trip for us on the Mekong. We simply loved Luang Prabang, and the Apsara certainly contributed to our enjoyment.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room that was just on the far side of the Tamarind restaurant, at ground level. You can sit on the verandah and watch the world go by...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chausiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in this well appointed hotel. The bed and pillows are very comfy & super soft, and lovely big bathroom. Just have to be careful not to use up all the hot water too quickly, as flows like a torrent from the high ceiling fixture. The breakfast is very tasty- every day there are a different selection of homemade jams from the seasonal fruits.
I would think that the downstairs room #14 could be noisy, as it shares a wall with a popular restaurant . We however, were in the next room along, and slept through any noise, so didn't find it a problem.
A lovely place to stay, the only tiny niggle is that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess8888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We popped in to Apsara after meeting some people who raved about the food and wished we had chosen to stay there, as the accommodation looks amazing. We had a wonderful meal cooked by Melbourne born Chef Luke Clarke.
I had the pork neck which was tasty and delicious, the complimentary starter was a yummy lentil soup like no other i have tasted, for dessert we had the spiced chocolate cake with peanut butter and coconut truffle complimented with vanilla ice cream an orgasmic combination. We enjoyed talking with the gorgeous hostess and maitre D' Catherine who was doing an discreet and eagle eyed job supervising the staff, she and the staff were friendly and welcoming, service was fast. We thought the ambience and elegant decor divine. The owner Ivan was generous with his time and happy to share his knowledge. I could not recommend Apsara more highly. We will be back during this and future visits to Luang Prabang.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Everything here is lovely. The location - quiet, but central. The view of the river. The staff - nothing too much trouble. The food - breakfast every morning was delicious and a la carte, so you could choose what you felt like. The restaurant has delicious dinners too - loved the beef cheeks. We had a downstairs room next door to the Tamarind Restaurant and it was so nice to sit on our verandah and watch the world go by - slowly. This is a quiet part of town so sleeping was easy. No idea about other reviewers complaining about the noise?
We plan on returning to Luang Prabang and will definitely stay at the Apsara again. Thanks team.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalcolmBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the hotel in Jan, 2014. The hotel has an excellent location and friendly staff.

But the problem are downstairs rooms . Both of our rooms are adjacent to hotel's restaurant, there is a table at the side of the window's room! So it's possible to imagine the noise in the night, when you're back to hotel and want to rest!

Another problem is hot water! You have to wait a considerable time for heating the water and sometimes (twice in three days) we could not have a shower when we desire, we have to do it late in the night.

The breakfast would be more generous, small and limited portions, the same every day (exceptions are fruits and jam - change a little).

And take care with check out, out landry was overcharged and some food and drink expenses of another rooms charged. This was promptly corrected when we complained, I have to say.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank fthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews