We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”
Review of Santi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santi Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2015

There are a lot of good things about this hotel - the grounds are beautiful as is the pool, the restaurant serves reasonable food in a beautiful location, on a balcony overlooking the grounds and most of the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful.
The location is quite a long way from town. There is a shuttle bus, though it doesn't go very often, or you can catch a tuctuc.

The rooms are a little shabby though and we had a bad experience with our room as the lock broke on the first night - we had to wait an hour outside our room (very hot with lots of mosquitoes) for them to change it. The next day we had just 1.5 hours to rest and change after a long hot day's sightseeing before going out again, but we found the new key wouldn't work. The staff didn't respond very positively - I had to go to reception 3 times where the girl was always busy on her personal phone and just kept telling me someone would come. They kept bringing spare keys for the old lock which wasn't helpful and we didn't get any sort of an apology as once again we were waiting outside our room for an hour. Eventually we had to go out leaving the room unlocked as it took a while to be repaired again.
Then I broke a glass and was charged for a replacement - so all in all I felt a bit cheated. Just a free drink and an apology for the inconvenience would have helped.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank traveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

109 - 113 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2015

The hotel is set in large, well maintained gardens in a quiet area approx. 15 minutes drive from the centre of LP. A regular shuttle bus service is provided into LP, which was very useful for shopping and eating in town in the evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The guest rooms are in 7 blocks in the grounds. We stayed in room 710 with a balcony and views over the fields and countryside. The room was spacious and very comfortable. There is a lovely large swimming pool to relax by, with a pool bar.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a good walk from the main reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phoenix27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

This is a very nice hotel in a garden setting with the bedrooms housed in separate blocks. The setting is lovely with gardens and streams and views of fields and the mountains in the distance. The place is clean and with very good service and excellent food in the restaurant. It is several miles out of town but the hotel runs a fairly frequent shuttle bus. The swimming pool is enormous but there is very little shallow water so would not be suitable for small children.

Room Tip: The distance of rooms from reception and the restaurant increases with the room number!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

We arrived very late about 9pm but the restaurant stayed open to provide us with a reasonable meal. We were in Rm 102 which was ground floor first block. The room was very nice and spacious with a private terrace. Mosquito nets in room - mainly for effect I think.
Very few sockets available and nowhere near the kettle. No creamer or milk for tea and coffee. Wifi not reliable but seems to work in the blocks nearest reception. Take care with patio doors as they are a bit ancient. Shower not the best will run hot and cold.
Use do not disturb sign when going to breakfast as staff will start cleaning the room.
Restaurant was fine with a good selection of food - however we ate in town using the free shuttle bus - plenty of restaurants to choose from - don't miss the night market which has the best prices you will find anywhere (don't forget to haggle).
The staff speak very little English but are very helpful and polite. Service can be slow but we didn't mind as the place was so laid back.
I think this hotel does very well given that it is outside the town in a rural area.
The grounds are lovely and there is a beautiful pool and spa area behind the hotel. Good view of the mountains in the background.
It was extremely hot when we were there in March and you may need to ask for extra fans when dining or sitting on the terrace. We can recommend this hotel - not the best we have stayed in but certainly it tries its best to make your stay relaxing and comfortable.

Room Tip: Block i is best if you want in room wifi and don't want to walk too far from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Fantastic setting for this hotel and a really enjoyable walk around the grounds. The rooms are good with a comfortable bed. Enjoyed swimming in the refreshing pool after a long day in extreme heat. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
4.9 km away
Villa Santi Hotel
Villa Santi Hotel
#37 of 71 in Luang Prabang
466 reviews
12.2 km away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
263 reviews
4.4 km away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#21 of 71 in Luang Prabang
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
333 reviews
5 km away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#11 of 71 in Luang Prabang
200 reviews
3.6 km away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#28 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santi Resort & Spa

Address: Santi Resort Road | Ban Nadeuay, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#14 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $82 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain in the horizon, Never ending rice field at you door step, Canals with lotus flower , Creek and waterfall stretch through the sprawling serene landscape at Santi Resort &SpaTha Santi Resort &Spa is Located a short 10 minutes drive from down town, Luang Prabang and boast 67 elegantly designed room, Deluxe room, Bungalow and Suites all with terrace or Balcony and fitted with hot & cold shower , Bathtub, individually remote controlled air-conditioning, Cabal VT 24 Hours movie Chanel, In room electronic safe, In room WIFI and Refreshments Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Santi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santi Resort And Spa
Santi Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing