We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and great food”

The Belle Rive Terrace
Ranked #37 of 208 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 8
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Belle Rive Terrace is located opposite The Belle Rive Hotel, above the river shore. Tamarind trees and umbrellas cover it from sun and rain. Overlooking the shore of the Mekong River, with a beautiful view of the nearby mountains, it is a peaceful place during the day, and a romantic place in the evening. When the sun sets over the Mekong mountains, The Belle Rive Terrace is the best place in town to enjoy the scenery with a refreshing and classic sundowner.
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Belle Rive Terrace in Luang Prabang in November 2016 and it was a very good experience.
The restaurant is located on the riverside, near the touristic area but you still can enjoy the very calm atmosphere.
From the restaurant there is a stunning view for the Mekong river and the surrounding mountains, where you can enjoy the beauty of the sunset.
This is a good restaurant for every occasion, from a friends meeting to a romantic dinner.
The menu has a lot of different options, either traditional Lao food or western food, including some vegetarian dishes.
The atmosphere is great and the staff very friendly and willing to give you the best service.
We definitely recommend this restaurant to enjoy either the best local or western food in a beautiful place.

Thank Joana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for The Belle Rive Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2016

For some time I travel regularly to Luang Prabang and I follow and enjoy the enormous progress in the hospitality branch here. Already before the Bellerive Terrace was one of my favourite places to enjoy the Mekong view, the sunset and the calm and serene ambiance just in the busy centre of the peninsula. This year here not only efforts were made in making the terrace larger by adding a cocktail bar and a relaxing area, but also the food and drink menu improved a lot. A selection of the finest dishes of South East Asian Cuisine and some International plates are offered. My Panang Curry was outstanding as well enjoyed the local sausage and the appetiser selection. Coming here for late lunch we stayed until the sunset enjoying good coffee and later cocktails before we left. The staff is charming and effective. One can feel they are authentic and they feel happy here because their smile and everything they do for you seam to come from their hearts. Here the price-value performance is absolutely the best, you want to come back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 426ethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelleRiveBoutique, General Manager at The Belle Rive Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear 426ethomas

Thank you very much for taking your time to write such an informative and delightful review about The Belle Rive Terrace.

How great to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your late lunch followed by coffee and sunset cocktails and that the quality and presentation of food and drinks was to your full satisfaction.

We indeed have gone through some renovations and menu changes and are now glad to offer authentic South East Asian cuisine in a beautiful setting with stunning views and thank you very much for mentioning it here on TripAdvisor.

In addition, we very much appreciate your comments regarding charming and effective staff and are looking forward to be at your services again in the near future.


Best regards



The Belle Rive Terrace team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We went to the inviting riverfront terrace of the Belle Rive for a casual lunch that extended long into the afternoon and into sundowners, on account of our inability to tear ourselves away from the Mekong floating by. The terrace is sunk into the lush river-bank quite a distance from the street, providing a sense of privacy and seclusion, and an intimate, serene atmosphere. Our waitress Vone was professional and efficient, while serving us with typical Lao joviality and warmth. We shared the vegetarian plate as a starter and I had the Pad Kra Pao Gai as a main, both fresh and flavoursome. The portions were decent, and the prices very reasonable, considering the spectacular views and upscale ambiance. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelleRiveBoutique, General Manager at The Belle Rive Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear Sam B

Thank you very much for taking your time to write such a detailed review about your recent extended afternoon visit at The Belle Rive Terrace.

On behalf of our team we are glad to know that you had such a pleasant time at our Mekong riverside restaurant, that the setting was both inviting and magical and value for money more then adequate.

The biggest pleasure though is to read that your local Lao dishes were fresh, flavorsome and delicious and that our staff served with professional, efficient and warm service.

We do hope you will please us soon again with your company and send you in the meantime our very best regards.


Khop Chai lai lai



The Belle Rive Terrace team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

23 days in 4 countries and this remains the #1 experience. A boutique hotel brilliantly located across from the river in this quaint town.

The staff knock themselves out to provide a customized and unique experience.

A must stay if in Luang Prabang.

Holly

Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelleRiveBoutique, General Manager at The Belle Rive Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear Holly S

Thank you very much for this amazing review about The Belle Rive Terrace.

It is such a pleasure to read that a travel experienced person like you enjoyed our Terrace restaurant on the Mekong river shore and that our staff knocked themselves out to provide a customized and unique experience.

We further thank you very much for mentioning the great location in this quaint town and hope you will please us soon again with your company.


Best regards



The Belle Rive Terrace team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5nights in October. These are our impressions:

Best location, best terrace restaurant. Our room is very small, but charming. I consider it expensive. But so is all of Luang Prabang that relates to tourism.

The staff and all the workers cannot be more accommodative and polite. Hotel is expensive, our room is very small...but it's made up by the excellent breakfast that is served on its terrace restaurant. Everything touristy in Luang Prabang is expensive, particularly considering the country's average wage level. ... it's hard to see how poor people there live so poorly while the hotels and restaurants are so expensive. We didn't do any "tours" but we did go to the boat dock to get a shared boat ride to the cave. Highly recommended. This boat dock is about 3 minutes walk from Belle Rive, boats leave at 8:30am, you buy your tickets there, it costs about USD9.00 (6500 kip) per person . They put about 4-8 people on each boat, you reach the cave in about 2 hours after a small stop at the whiskey village where you can buy some textile if you want...the total trip takes about 4-5 hours. Bring your own snack and water--its just like a water taxi that gets you to the cave. You do not need to hire a big private boat for just the two of you and pay for the whole boat!

In Luang Prabang there seems to be only temples, hotels, and travel agencies...but the local people there seem to live in still very very poor condition. I can't help but wondering aloud where the tourist taxes go for improving people's lives there!

One consideration when you plan your trip -- Find out what is the burning season for their planting season. We found the combination of daily smoke unbearable in its humility and heat while visiting in October. There seemed to be nowhere to hide when the air blows the smoke your way, except for staying indoors.

Thank Hsiomei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Belle Rive Terrace also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The Belle Rive Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing