We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and friendly guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Guesthouse
Ranked #174 of 271 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

We've been at this guesthouse for 4 nights and we enjoyed it very much. The room was a little bit small but cosy and the people were friendly. The breakfast was delicious and fresh made. The guesthouse is near the mainstreet that means easy to walk.

Greetings Erika&Andy

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Andyerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2015

Nice and peaceful place to stay in the historical center of Luang Prabang near major temples. Friendly welcome and sensible advices, good and typical breakfast along Nam Khan. I'll be back for sure...

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YannBeugnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

The hotel has a nice location. If you want to go to see the monks in the morning you don't have to go near the main roads, you can just go near the hotel.

Rooms are clean (i was surprised to read the bed bugs review :o), and the staff is nice.

For breakfast they offer a wide range of dishes, even vegetarian if you are.

Be careful if you book from some website, you might end up paying a bit more for a balcony that does not exist !

A bit overpriced in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for local breakfast, you might discover unexpected treasures of lao food ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a little oasis of peace and tranquility, and you can't go wrong by staying here.That was a great find. Our original plan was to stay here for 2 days and then move further out. Loved it here so much we stayed 5 days. The owner was very accommodating and although we couldn't stay in our original room the whole time he moved us to another nice room.Rooms are simple but lovely and comfy and spotless. Nice shower and functioning a/c.
Wi-Fi signal very strong.
Nice outside seating both on a communal balcony and a tiny garden.
Location is brilliant. Halfway down the peninsular so easy walking in either direction.
Can't recommend this guest house enough

Room Tip: Get up early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loan1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a difficult time finding a mid range hotel in LP. Reserved a superior room w/king through Agoda for $50 after all their fees. What they offered was a very small dark room with a double bed. We couldn't walk around if we opened our packs. We said we booked a superior room, but they wouldn't budge - and since we prepaid we were stuck. (Lesson learned.) My husband asked if there was anything else. They showed us their deluxe room that had a balcony and was quite a bit larger for $20 more. We negotiated on $10 more per night. Not a great way to start your stay. The lock on the safe was broken when we checked in. They said they would fix it. When we left 5 days later it still was not fixed. The shower head was broken and looked like it had been for quite a while. We did enjoy the deluxe room but we paid for it.

Breakfast was served across the road by the river and was fine. Room was cleaned daily. They don't speak English so trying to arrange transport through them was useless. It looked like an extended family lived in the back and there was a kid who spent a lot of time in the reception area lolling around watching TV.

If you feel you need to reserve ahead in LP, do so for one night as there are many hotels here that don't advertise and are much cheaper.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was nice since it was large and had a nice balcony to sit out and watch the river or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0 km away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
253 reviews
0 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
858 reviews
0 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
291 reviews
0 km away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
886 reviews
0 km away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#33 of 71 in Luang Prabang
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Guesthouse

Address: Ban khili, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $38 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing