We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Guesthouse
Ranked #174 of 269 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2015

The hotel has a nice location. If you want to go to see the monks in the morning you don't have to go near the main roads, you can just go near the hotel.

Rooms are clean (i was surprised to read the bed bugs review :o), and the staff is nice.

For breakfast they offer a wide range of dishes, even vegetarian if you are.

Be careful if you book from some website, you might end up paying a bit more for a balcony that does not exist !

A bit overpriced in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for local breakfast, you might discover unexpected treasures of lao food ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvain-Luanglth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a little oasis of peace and tranquility, and you can't go wrong by staying here.That was a great find. Our original plan was to stay here for 2 days and then move further out. Loved it here so much we stayed 5 days. The owner was very accommodating and although we couldn't stay in our original room the whole time he moved us to another nice room.Rooms are simple but lovely and comfy and spotless. Nice shower and functioning a/c.
Wi-Fi signal very strong.
Nice outside seating both on a communal balcony and a tiny garden.
Location is brilliant. Halfway down the peninsular so easy walking in either direction.
Can't recommend this guest house enough

Room Tip: Get up early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loan1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a difficult time finding a mid range hotel in LP. Reserved a superior room w/king through Agoda for $50 after all their fees. What they offered was a very small dark room with a double bed. We couldn't walk around if we opened our packs. We said we booked a superior room, but they wouldn't budge - and since we prepaid we were stuck. (Lesson learned.) My husband asked if there was anything else. They showed us their deluxe room that had a balcony and was quite a bit larger for $20 more. We negotiated on $10 more per night. Not a great way to start your stay. The lock on the safe was broken when we checked in. They said they would fix it. When we left 5 days later it still was not fixed. The shower head was broken and looked like it had been for quite a while. We did enjoy the deluxe room but we paid for it.

Breakfast was served across the road by the river and was fine. Room was cleaned daily. They don't speak English so trying to arrange transport through them was useless. It looked like an extended family lived in the back and there was a kid who spent a lot of time in the reception area lolling around watching TV.

If you feel you need to reserve ahead in LP, do so for one night as there are many hotels here that don't advertise and are much cheaper.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was nice since it was large and had a nice balcony to sit out and watch the river or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We have stayed on this quiet side of Luang Prabang before overlooking the Nam Khan river but wanted to try one of the many new guesthouses a springing up along the river. The location balances peaceful setting, especially evenings and at night with close proximity to most major temples and some restaurants and shops.
We negotiated the only room (number 1) with a river view balcony direct with the hotel at usd60 per night which was fine. However our subsequent booking made through Booking.com for our daughter was lost causing some inconvenience finding accommodation elsewhere for the last night. The hotel's booking 'system' was rudimentary to say the least.
The rooms were quite large for the money, though about 5 usd more than the average. Beds were fine, cleaning so so (cobwebs and resident spider, finally disposed of), but breakfast was a great disappointment. No juice, only fruit was banana and sliced toast, despite existence of French bakery 5 minutes away. It is a pity, considering the pretty eating area outside overhanging the river bank.

Others have commented on unfriendliness of staff but I put this down to lack of language skills. They were generally amiable.

Room Tip: Pay an extra USD 10 for room 1 with large balcony if available. Get baguettes etc from bakery nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremyburtonReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Overpriced (comparative to what's around) room at the side (number 6). A damp smell greets you as you enter the small room (rising damp??). We would have endured the four nights booked if we didn't wake up itching. On closer inspection, bugs were evident in the sheets. We asked to see another room and when we saw hairs (the short and curly variety) and a footprint on the sheet, I knew cleanliness was not high on their priority list. After a very ordinary breakfast and a discussion about our options, we opted to leave the hotel and find somewhere else. After two months of travelling through Asia, it is the first time we have found a room uninhabitable.
We paid $280 for four nights (3 people in a triple room) through Agoda and now have to go through the tedious process of trying to get a refund. There appears to be a lot nicer accommodation in the town for more reasonable rates.

Room Tip: The side rooms are small and have a damp smell. I'd go elsewhere because there appears to be bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdeandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
9.6 km away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
3 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.2 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
1.8 km away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
840 reviews
0.4 km away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 71 in Luang Prabang
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Guesthouse

Address: Ban khili, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $40 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing