We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
4
15
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
15
7
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a little oasis of peace and tranquility, and you can't go wrong by staying here.That was a great find. Our original plan was to stay here for 2 days and then move further out. Loved it here so much we stayed 5 days. The owner was very accommodating and although we couldn't stay in our original room the whole time he moved us to another nice room.Rooms are simple but lovely and comfy and spotless. Nice shower and functioning a/c.
Wi-Fi signal very strong.
Nice outside seating both on a communal balcony and a tiny garden.
Location is brilliant. Halfway down the peninsular so easy walking in either direction.
Can't recommend this guest house enough

Room Tip: Get up early!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loan1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a difficult time finding a mid range hotel in LP. Reserved a superior room w/king through Agoda for $50 after all their fees. What they offered was a very small dark room with a double bed. We couldn't walk around if we opened our packs. We said we booked a superior room, but they wouldn't budge - and since we prepaid we were stuck. (Lesson learned.) My husband asked if there was anything else. They showed us their deluxe room that had a balcony and was quite a bit larger for $20 more. We negotiated on $10 more per night. Not a great way to start your stay. The lock on the safe was broken when we checked in. They said they would fix it. When we left 5 days later it still was not fixed. The shower head was broken and looked like it had been for quite a while. We did enjoy the deluxe room but we paid for it.

Breakfast was served across the road by the river and was fine. Room was cleaned daily. They don't speak English so trying to arrange transport through them was useless. It looked like an extended family lived in the back and there was a kid who spent a lot of time in the reception area lolling around watching TV.

If you feel you need to reserve ahead in LP, do so for one night as there are many hotels here that don't advertise and are much cheaper.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was nice since it was large and had a nice balcony to sit out and watch the river or read.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We have stayed on this quiet side of Luang Prabang before overlooking the Nam Khan river but wanted to try one of the many new guesthouses a springing up along the river. The location balances peaceful setting, especially evenings and at night with close proximity to most major temples and some restaurants and shops.
We negotiated the only room (number 1) with a river view balcony direct with the hotel at usd60 per night which was fine. However our subsequent booking made through Booking.com for our daughter was lost causing some inconvenience finding accommodation elsewhere for the last night. The hotel's booking 'system' was rudimentary to say the least.
The rooms were quite large for the money, though about 5 usd more than the average. Beds were fine, cleaning so so (cobwebs and resident spider, finally disposed of), but breakfast was a great disappointment. No juice, only fruit was banana and sliced toast, despite existence of French bakery 5 minutes away. It is a pity, considering the pretty eating area outside overhanging the river bank.

Others have commented on unfriendliness of staff but I put this down to lack of language skills. They were generally amiable.

Room Tip: Pay an extra USD 10 for room 1 with large balcony if available. Get baguettes etc from bakery nearby for breakfast.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremyburtonReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Overpriced (comparative to what's around) room at the side (number 6). A damp smell greets you as you enter the small room (rising damp??). We would have endured the four nights booked if we didn't wake up itching. On closer inspection, bugs were evident in the sheets. We asked to see another room and when we saw hairs (the short and curly variety) and a footprint on the sheet, I knew cleanliness was not high on their priority list. After a very ordinary breakfast and a discussion about our options, we opted to leave the hotel and find somewhere else. After two months of travelling through Asia, it is the first time we have found a room uninhabitable.
We paid $280 for four nights (3 people in a triple room) through Agoda and now have to go through the tedious process of trying to get a refund. There appears to be a lot nicer accommodation in the town for more reasonable rates.

Room Tip: The side rooms are small and have a damp smell. I'd go elsewhere because there appears to be better value rooms in other places.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdeandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Moved here as we decided to stay longer in Luang Prabang and wanted somewhere a bit cheaper. Mistake. Grotty and tatty rooms, lethargic staff who had to be roused from a sofa in reception to hand over room keys... Lethargic during the day that is, they found the energy to have a party on the reception desk at 3am before even the monks were up. As at mid-October 2012 there's also a noisy building site next door, which isn't exactly their fault, but it hardly added to the ambience. And a woman next door decided to have a bonfire the day we were there as well which smoked the place out, don't know how often this happens. Oh, and when my travelling partner checked out (early) shortly after me, the guy on reception flipped out and they ended up having such an argument the tuk-tuk driver dashed in to intervene. We moved to Villa Senesouk after this, ten dollars cheaper and a hundred times nicer. Shame, because this could be a could be a good place if somebody with the right attitude put some work into it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanG54768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews