We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would give this property 6 stars if I could!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrific hotel in every aspect. This was a return trip to Luang Prabang for us and we thought we'd try a different property. So glad we did as this was a gem indeed!

Can't say enough great things about this place. Rooms are spacious, well air-conditioned, clean, and beautifully decorated. Our room overlooked the river. Bathroom was big with a good shower and good water pressure. Toilet was in a separate closet which was rather small but that is easy to overlook given everything else this property has going for it.

Staff is incredibly helpful, even arranging motorcycles for us within about 10 minutes. They have a golf cart to drive guests around as well as plenty of bikes for free use.

Our rate came with breakfast and the food was fantastic. Breakfast included options of western or asian hot breakfast, and both came with the buffet of wonderful baguette, fruit, coffee, etc.

Internet worked well and was free.

Location was epic - on the river, near the temples (5 minute walk to see the morning alms), yet still quiet and peaceful. Everything is about a 5 - 10 minute walk or bike ride away.

While I initially thought the price point was a little high, I think that is the reality in Luang Prabang now. And after staying there, it was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Don't know if there is a bad room? We had room 22 over reception which was fantastic - spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoiKeonida, Manager at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear nelsoli

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review, and such positive comments are really appreciated. All of us here at the hotel strive for great customer service and satisfaction and to hear that everything about your stay was so appreciated only adds to our ambition to strive for perfection. Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you both back soon.

Mr. Bounvone KEONIDA (Noi)
Front Office Manager, Mekong Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s the little things that make a great hotel experience. A hotel doesn’t need to be 5 star or $1000 to be a memorable experience. Just great customer service and good accommodation.

Mekong river view has the experience nailed

1. The staff are competent, friendly, ever available and courteous.
2. The rooms are great with a traditional teak experience. My only niggle was the toilet room was a little small in our room
3. Location. This hotel is the opposite end of Luang Prabang so it’s much quieter yet it’s only 2 mins onto the main road of the town. They have a free buggy service and free bikes to get around as well.
4. The attached restaurant serves breakfast with one of the best views in Luang Prabang right by one of the wooden bridges.
5. Free airport pickup
6. Free afternoon cake and tea
7. The rooms have great air con and a great fan so all bases are covered.
8. The owner is friendly and visits with guests

I’ve stayed at 3 different hotels now in the town and will go back to this one for sure. Yes it’s not the boutique contemporary place like vidara but that’s not what I’m coming to Luang Prabang for!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Gavinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked a deluxe room, but not one with a riverside view as I did not want to spend the extra money. Much to my surprise when we checked in we were told that we were being upgraded to a riverfront room. We were in room 11, near to the lobby, and on the first floor with a very nice patio. Although I was concerned that the room might be noisy given the road in front of the hotel, it turned out to be a great place to stay (with little noise after about 8 pm) as we could sit on our patio and watch the world go by. The views from the hotel are some of the best in Luang Prabang as the hotel is near the confluence of the two rivers. In fact, we had several people stop by to ask us how we had found such a lovely hotel! The room itself was quite nice--large enough, with special Swedish beds that could be made to conform to to your desired sitting/sleeping position. The bathroom was quite spacious, with a separate area for the toilet and a urinal. Breakfast was served in a separate building along the riverfront and was very tasty--you could order eggs, pancakes or a special Asian breakfast. The experience at the hotel was also made special by the owner Urban, who was on site and who personally greeted guests (there was an interesting story about how he came to buy the land for the hotel that I found in a booklet in the room--would recommend reading). My one regret for the stay was that I was not able to join the happy hour to which Urban invited us as I picked up a nasty bug in town one evening and had to spend that day in bed! All in all, a lovely stay in a wonderful town. Highly recommend this hotel for its uniqueness, special setting and lovely decor.

Room Tip: Possibly a second story room would be quieter but patio rooms also nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoiKeonida, Manager at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Fridaysmom

Thank you so much much for writing such a great review and reccomendation, very much appreciated.
As you mention the views here at the hotel are indeed some of, if not the best in town and its great that we were able to upgrade your room so that you could fully experience them whilst sitting out and relaxing on your patio. If available we will always try to upgrade our guests room so they can have the most memorable stay as possible. I'm sorry to hear that you picked up a bug during your time in Luang Prabang and could not join our wine evening, I hope your day was made as comfortable as possible in your own Swedish adjustable bed. Once again many thanks for the review and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Mr. Bounvone KEONIDA (Noi)
Front Office Manager, Mekong Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large, well equipped rooms, beautiful wooden floors, quirt, extremely helpful and friendly staff. Owner makes a point of greeting everyone. Probably the best view in town. Great breakfast. Everything perfect. Free bikes. Free pick up at the airport and drives into town that is only a few blocks away, anyway

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoiKeonida, Manager at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hugo2011

I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that everything within the room's set up went towards making it such a perfect stay for you. We are so lucky here to have, as you mention, truly the best view in town at both the hotel and our restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards

Mr. Bounvone KEONIDA (Noi)
Front Office Manager, Mekong Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are large and spacious. Laundry on-site is a huge plus especially if you are having an active holiday. Location is very convenient. What really stands out though is the staff. They could not be more helpful or service orientated. On arrival the hotel gave me a map of LP with useful places (bank/post-office/markets) and worthwhile restaurants. By and large their recommendations were excellent. I spent 6 days in LP and got an idea from other travelers regarding their accommodations. It seems Mekong Riverview had the best of most worlds.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel for airport pickup. Laundry service is super useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoiKeonida, Manager at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Michael S

Thank you very much for your kind words, they are very much appreciated. I'm so happy that everything from our recommendations to the laundry services we provide went in to making your stay with us as special as it was. All the staff take great pride in there customer service standards and your kind feedback will be passed on to them all. All the best with the rest of your travels and hopefully they bring you back to Luang Prabang so we can welcome you back for another stay at the hotel.

Best regards

Mr. Bounvone KEONIDA (Noi)
Front Office Manager, Mekong Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 km away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
729 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
2.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
313 reviews
0.3 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#9 of 71 in Luang Prabang
485 reviews
2.1 km away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $170 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing