We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asia Sojourners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Asia Sojourners”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Second visit in less than a year only served to reinforce original opinion that this is best hotel in LP. As someone who has traveled extensively in the region for many years, the wicker-furnished balconies overlooking the Mekong are a reminder of the Orient of days gone by. A wonderful place from which to view the daily life of LP and enjoy a quiet cup of tea or book.

Special thanks to Noi and all the staff. We arranged transport through the hotel from LP to Vang Vieng and were rewarded with a great English-speaking driver by the name of Mr. Bounsawatt ("Watt"). As a result, the somewhat onerous trip through the mountains to VV passed quickly with numerous stops to enjoy the magnificent views.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AsiaSojourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    115
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
429
95
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Mekong River View for 4 days and 3 nights and can't say enough good things, especially about the customer service. The employees in the lobby, the drivers, and the kitchen staff were friendly and helpful. Whether it's driving you anywhere in town (one way) in the complimentary golf cart, booking excursions, renting free bicycles or giving sightseeing advice, the customer service is incredible. I would give the service 10 stars if possible.

The view of the Mekong at breakfast is breathtaking and words don't do it justice. And oh btw the complimentary breakfast buffet is very very good. Lao and western options available and a terrific way to start the morning.

There were a few issues with our room (a giant spider and no water pressure one night) but after a call to the front desk, someone was knocking on our door within 5 minutes. Again service is incredible. We had a late flight and they even put us up in another room (smaller) so we would have a place to rest before our flight. Very unexpected and greatly appreciated.

We were in the "expansion" part of the hotel which is separated from the main hotel. It's less than a minute walk to the front desk/lobby but just something to keep in mind when getting your room. The heat is also pretty relentless from about noon to 4:00pm so definitely try and go during cooler weather to enjoy the whole day.

Tips: There's also a great local restaurant right next to viewpoint cafe serving locally caught seafood and the fried fish was incredible. The famous/infamous $1.50 buffet at the night market is something to check off the bucket list but pretty much a non event culinary wise. Definitely check out the day market and go early in the morning to avoid the heat and crowds.

Happy traveling!

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank texastrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice quiet hotel on the river but short walking distance to town centre. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Restaurant for breakfast etc across the street in spectacular location with views of the Mekong. Nice well appointed rooms. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david & marion w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We booked the Mekong Riverview Hotel because of its great location and because it looked quite good so were very happy to find that the images of the rooms did not do it justice at all. Wish I had taken a wide angle lens and taken some better images. The hotel is owned by Swedish guy who is on site all the time as far as I know and greets guests at breakfast time and for drinks on your first evening. Really nice guy who it turns out has been in the bigger hotel business elsewhere before made a change to put together the ideal hotel in Luang Probang. We really loved it. Rooms are gorgeous. Best bed I have ever slept in and I kicked myself later for not taking a shot of the label with my phone. The beds are Swedish I think and have remote control for each side to raise or lower the head. You know how even if there are chairs in the room (which there are) you often end up watching telly in bed and get a stiff neck. Not here. Also there is some sort of quilt type thing under you as the top of the mattress and wow so cosy. I bet you'll want to buy one too.

Bathroom was lovely with a shower that worked properly and plenty of room in the room. The décor was just what you would hope for considering the location and all great quality.

Our room was on the ground floor with a slightly raised balcony/veranda outside and then there is a small quite-ish road and then there is the Mekong river in front and another river joining slightly to the right. Perfect location and a great place to walk from for town etc. Bicycles are available which is great fun as the temperature is very nice in the morning and evening. They also gave a golf buggy for running people around but we walked as it is close to the interesting parts of town and there is so much good stuff to see on the way. The French influence is still in evidence when it comes to place to eat but there is no shortage of choice.

The hotel picked us up and took us back to the airport for free and made any arrangements we needed such as hiring a mini-bus for us for a trip.

Great restaurant on the other side of the road with perfect views overlooking the river.

Can not recommend this hotel too much for being a great experience and also as a base to explore. AND Luang Probang was better than we thought it would be and we are well travelled around other parts of this part of the world.

Room Tip: Get a river view room. Ground floor or first floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Just left here yesterday, everything is great here and has a really unique feel. The rooms are lovely, the staff are outstanding . The only thing I would change is , smoking in the restaurant. At breakfast on Wednesday there was a guy who chained smoked cigarettes , its inconsiderate, selfish, just plain bad manners and no one wants that smell on their breakfast. We had lunch in the restaurant on the Thursday and it was excellent.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.3 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
0.4 km away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
702 reviews
2.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
3.1 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.3 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price range (per night): $153 - $300
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing