We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suprisingly brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“suprisingly brilliant”
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We booked the Mekong Riverview Hotel because of its great location and because it looked quite good so were very happy to find that the images of the rooms did not do it justice at all. Wish I had taken a wide angle lens and taken some better images. The hotel is owned by Swedish guy who is on site all the time as far as I know and greets guests at breakfast time and for drinks on your first evening. Really nice guy who it turns out has been in the bigger hotel business elsewhere before made a change to put together the ideal hotel in Luang Probang. We really loved it. Rooms are gorgeous. Best bed I have ever slept in and I kicked myself later for not taking a shot of the label with my phone. The beds are Swedish I think and have remote control for each side to raise or lower the head. You know how even if there are chairs in the room (which there are) you often end up watching telly in bed and get a stiff neck. Not here. Also there is some sort of quilt type thing under you as the top of the mattress and wow so cosy. I bet you'll want to buy one too.

Bathroom was lovely with a shower that worked properly and plenty of room in the room. The décor was just what you would hope for considering the location and all great quality.

Our room was on the ground floor with a slightly raised balcony/veranda outside and then there is a small quite-ish road and then there is the Mekong river in front and another river joining slightly to the right. Perfect location and a great place to walk from for town etc. Bicycles are available which is great fun as the temperature is very nice in the morning and evening. They also gave a golf buggy for running people around but we walked as it is close to the interesting parts of town and there is so much good stuff to see on the way. The French influence is still in evidence when it comes to place to eat but there is no shortage of choice.

The hotel picked us up and took us back to the airport for free and made any arrangements we needed such as hiring a mini-bus for us for a trip.

Great restaurant on the other side of the road with perfect views overlooking the river.

Can not recommend this hotel too much for being a great experience and also as a base to explore. AND Luang Probang was better than we thought it would be and we are well travelled around other parts of this part of the world.

Room Tip: Get a river view room. Ground floor or first floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    115
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
429
95
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Just left here yesterday, everything is great here and has a really unique feel. The rooms are lovely, the staff are outstanding . The only thing I would change is , smoking in the restaurant. At breakfast on Wednesday there was a guy who chained smoked cigarettes , its inconsiderate, selfish, just plain bad manners and no one wants that smell on their breakfast. We had lunch in the restaurant on the Thursday and it was excellent.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for those who want personalized service. We were treated like valued guests from the moment we arrived in Luang Prabang. Pick up from the airport was seamless with a cold bottle of water and a cold wet tissue in hand. As we checked in, a map was given to us with a staff explaining the places of interest, where we can dine, etc.. The staff also oriented us regarding the things available for free like the all day refreshments (coffee, tea, cake, etc.) in the lobby, breakfast at View Point Cafe (with a delightful view of the Mekong River where you can even see monks cross the wooden bridge), the bottles of water and sodas in the ref, the use of electric golf carts to drop off guests to any area in the Old Luang Prabang and bikes, and the airport pick up and drop off. The owner even invited the guests for free drinks at night because he was present during our stay and introduced himself to us at breakfast. A staff also asks for your plans during your stay so that he can arrange everything for you like the car for our day trip to Kuangsi Falls and Pak Ou Cave. Even if we only stayed for 2 nights and 3 days in Luang Prabang, we were able to do the things we set out to do and more because everything went smoothly with the help of the staff. By the way, don't forget to go down the steps right across the hotel and watch the sunset by the Mekong River. The owner of this boutique hotel must have thought of every single convenience he wants from a hotel while traveling and made it available to his hotel guests. This is the reason why I am rating this hotel a perfect 10.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TessSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017

This is a very nice and clean boutique hotel with a few unusual twists. For one thing, the bed is adjustable like a hospital bed. Our room had two sitting chairs, a small balcony, live orchids, two sinks in the bathroom, a nice shower, but no tub.

There may be rooms with river views, but not many. The hotel is strung out along the side of the street opposite the river, and trees block most of the view. The hotel's outdoor restaurant is on the river side of the street and has nice views of the river. Twice a week, a free wine social is provided in the garden next to the restaurant.

Be prepared for gongs in the temple next door at 4 am once every few weeks.

Room Tip: Avoid a ground floor room on the street. It is a fairly busy street and the rooms are right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINE MOUNTAIN CLUB
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This is the second time I visited this hotel in one year and they have maintained their excellent standards. I simply love this hotel and love Luang Prabang. I'm really looking forward to my next visit and will definitely return to this hotel. A special thanks to Noi for making this a great trip. We especially enjoyed the wine event in the garden next to the Viewpoint Restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 277RobertD277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.3 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.4 km away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
699 reviews
2.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
3.1 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.3 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price range (per night): $154 - $302
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing