We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect 10”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for those who want personalized service. We were treated like valued guests from the moment we arrived in Luang Prabang. Pick up from the airport was seamless with a cold bottle of water and a cold wet tissue in hand. As we checked in, a map was given to us with a staff explaining the places of interest, where we can dine, etc.. The staff also oriented us regarding the things available for free like the all day refreshments (coffee, tea, cake, etc.) in the lobby, breakfast at View Point Cafe (with a delightful view of the Mekong River where you can even see monks cross the wooden bridge), the bottles of water and sodas in the ref, the use of electric golf carts to drop off guests to any area in the Old Luang Prabang and bikes, and the airport pick up and drop off. The owner even invited the guests for free drinks at night because he was present during our stay and introduced himself to us at breakfast. A staff also asks for your plans during your stay so that he can arrange everything for you like the car for our day trip to Kuangsi Falls and Pak Ou Cave. Even if we only stayed for 2 nights and 3 days in Luang Prabang, we were able to do the things we set out to do and more because everything went smoothly with the help of the staff. By the way, don't forget to go down the steps right across the hotel and watch the sunset by the Mekong River. The owner of this boutique hotel must have thought of every single convenience he wants from a hotel while traveling and made it available to his hotel guests. This is the reason why I am rating this hotel a perfect 10.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TessSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    115
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
429
95
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017

This is a very nice and clean boutique hotel with a few unusual twists. For one thing, the bed is adjustable like a hospital bed. Our room had two sitting chairs, a small balcony, live orchids, two sinks in the bathroom, a nice shower, but no tub.

There may be rooms with river views, but not many. The hotel is strung out along the side of the street opposite the river, and trees block most of the view. The hotel's outdoor restaurant is on the river side of the street and has nice views of the river. Twice a week, a free wine social is provided in the garden next to the restaurant.

Be prepared for gongs in the temple next door at 4 am once every few weeks.

Room Tip: Avoid a ground floor room on the street. It is a fairly busy street and the rooms are right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINE MOUNTAIN CLUB
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This is the second time I visited this hotel in one year and they have maintained their excellent standards. I simply love this hotel and love Luang Prabang. I'm really looking forward to my next visit and will definitely return to this hotel. A special thanks to Noi for making this a great trip. We especially enjoyed the wine event in the garden next to the Viewpoint Restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 277RobertD277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

They are on top of their game in every respect. Clean and well-maintained property. Comfortable rooms. Excellent and very helpful staff. Upon check-in they had a map prepared for me with places to visit and recommend restaurants circled along with a brief city orientation. I have been a heavy traveler since 1983 and that was a first for me -I was impressed.

Lots of complimentary items that you usually pay extra for: airport pick-up, in-town transport, use of bikes, in-room soft drinks.

Loved the restaurant; beautiful outdoor setting, excellent Lao food, good service. Breakfast was included. Normally I don't eat lunch or dinner at hotels i stay at; this time it was different. this place turned out to be our favorite place.

I had a few special requests and the staff accommodated me in every way.

My compliments to the management and staff!

Room Tip: We liked the river view balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdMusick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This is one of the best hotels i have stayed at through S.E Asia. The staff and service were great,not one thing to complain about. The rooms and the view were great,loved waking up and looking out at the Mekong River everyday from our riverview room.They have a golf cart where they will take you almost anywhere in the town. The owner is a really nice fella and they made a big point of us attending wine in the park on the Wedensday night which was really nice,and we were made to feel extremely welcome with the other guests. Breakfast everyday by the river was great, make sure you taste their locally made yogurts which were really really nice. I would definetly stay there again if in this area. I booked all my tours through them, might have been a little bit dearer but i knew there would be no complaints and there weren't from us.Overall a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in a riverview room and i would stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie05Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.3 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.4 km away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
699 reviews
2.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
3.1 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.3 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price range (per night): $154 - $302
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing