We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (925)
Filter reviews
925 results
Traveller rating
759
140
19
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
759
140
19
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswedish ownerurban paulssonswedish bedsmekong rivergolf buggyadjustable bedsin townremote controlkhan riversrivers meetdinner reservationshotel ownerjunior suiteother guestswell run hotelseparate toiletfree bicycles
Filter
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 925 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 5 nights stay at the Mekong Riverview Hotel. As this little hotel is situated on the end of the peninsula where the Nam Khan River flows into the great Mekong River, the views from our hotel balcony are absolutely beautiful. While the location is a little off the main streets of Luang Prabang, the hotel provides golf carts which will take you anywhere within the old city area. Besides, the core area of Luang Prabang isn't very large (about 1.2km long and 400m across), so it is possible to walk to most places. Breakfast, a combination of american style and asian dishes, is served at the hotel's cafe overlooking the river. The service of the hotel staff was excellent. They were friendly, helpful and informative. Our departure flight was very early, before the cafe opens, so the staff arranged for sandwiches and yoghurt as take away for us. The only two downsides to our stay was the bed and the wifi. As it was an adjustable bed, it squeaked when you move around, and soft mattress didn't help. The wifi wasn't very stable. On our last day, we couldn't connect to it at all.
One point to note, do read the hotel information booklet in the room. It has lots of information on things to do and the culture of Laos.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RubinaGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Hotel location a the end of the peninsula that ends in the confluence of the Mekong River and Nam Khan. It is perfectly located for the view alone and a short walk, bike or golf cart trip away from all that Luang Prabang has to offer. The staff were very friendly, polite and attentive, albeit this kind person was to be found throughout the township. The area is a very welcome step back to a more laid back and friendly time, sortof like Thailand was in some places 30 years ago. The complementary breakfast menu was both varied and excellent as was everything else we sampled on their menu. Our bedroom was on the first floor overlooking the river, nicely sized, well appointed with a great bathroom. Unfortunately the timber floor squeaked whenever walked upon which detracted from what was otherwise a lovely room. The beds were also a bit soft for our tastes but may suit others. The electric adjustment on them was a novelty, great for reading or TV watching if that's your thing. I have only given a three star rating as I believe it was only average value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mekong Riverview for 3 nights while visiting Luang Prabang. Although the entire town is beautiful, the Mekong Riverview really takes things to the next level providing gorgeous accommodation with old world colonial touches and excellent service. If you are looking for a luxurious stay where you will feel pampered beyond belief, look no further!

Positioned right at the confluence of two rivers, the Mekong Riverview enjoys an excellent position, perfect for sightseeing... provided you can find the motivation to leave the property, which we found quite difficult to do because we loved our room so much. Spotlessly clean, a beautiful bathroom, minibar filled with complimentary sodas and a bed that was like sleeping on a marshmallow and felt like it had come straight from heaven, it was nearly impossible for us to get out of that bed! After nearly 2 years of traveling in Asia, I can safely say this bed was the best we have enjoyed on this side of the globe, possibly the best we have ever slept on. It's worth staying a night or two here just for the bed, I promise!

Second only to the beds is the incredible breakfast buffet that guest enjoy every morning. Dining right by the river, the views are impeccable and the food almost better. Wonderful croissants, cheeses, meats and jams are on offer, along with fresh juices, tea and coffee. You can order off the à la carte menu as well, where eggs are cooked to order and sausage, bacon and ham are offered as well. We really enjoyed the "special" breakfast option of grilled banana and pineapple soaked in honey; along with a pancake with vanilla sauce, it was like having dessert for breakfast and incredibly good. If you'd like to go local, there are also three Asian breakfast options that you can order, preferably the night before. I admit, we were too busy stuffing ourselves on the continental options to bother with the Asian bits. If you do the same, this would not be a mistake!

Outside of the bedroom & the breakfast, the Mekong Riverview offers many little touches that make your stay truly special. They offer free pickup and dropoff from the airport and also have several golfcarts that they will shuttle you around to destinations in town if you ask. You can also see the sights by the complimentary bicycles they provide. Free tea & coffee and cake are offered in the reception building in the afternoon. Staff are attentive and friendly and really make sure you are taken care of and feel at home.

The only thing missing from the property that I would expect in hotel of this caliber is a pool, but because it is located in the UNESCO heritage area, a pool is not permitted. Bad news on hot days, but the location does mean you are just a convenient 10 or 15-minute walk from all the major sites. Another small thing worth noting is that although we could access the wifi from our room, we found the connection was quite slow and unstable. Could just be a problem in Luang Prabang in general, but we were surprised connectivity wasn't a bit better (it was perfectly usable for emails and basic trip planning, but not for any intensive use).

All in all, an excellent dose of luxurious elegance in a town the overflows with upscale options. Mekong Riverview gets the big things right, but perhaps more importantly, also pays attention to the small details that make a good stay into a great stay. If you're looking for the best place to stay in Luang Prabang, this is it.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit extra to secure a room on one of the higher floors—we had a room on the ground floor, which was a bit dark and meant we did not always feel comfortable sitting in our outdoor patio area as it was right on the main road where all the tourists walk. If we were one floor up, this would not have been a problem at all.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harris39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is not situated in the heart of the city, but just a little beyond. That is what makes it perfect: everything is within easy walking distance, but it is also quiet. Our room was located on the first floor and our balcony overlooked the Mekong River. The perfect spot to sit, drink a complimentary Coke and read a book. Life is good! The room had a comfortable bed, which could be adjusted electronically (!), and the bathroom and toilet were separate. As usual, the bathroom had some inconveniences: in this case the taps of the sink were located in a way that they were very hard to operate. The room itself was not very large, but cosy. Standing on our balcony, we noticed that the neighboring bathhouse burnt wood to heat up the baths. Initially we wanted to move and the hotel was very willing to accommodate us, but in the end we preferred our first room and changed back. Again, no problem for the very helpful staff! Breakfast was a highlight: the terrace where breakfast was served is located on the other side of the road, overlooking the joining of the Nam Khan (river) with the Mekong River. The breakfast itself was good and the staff was ready to make for you whatever you wanted. A beautiful place to stay, although fairly pricey. And don't forget to enjoy terrific Laotian food at Tamarind!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaartenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This privately owned and operated hotel is truly an inspiration and a great example of what you can do if you take your personal experiences, true personal passion and apply it to your dream. Everything from hot coffee cups in the restaurant to individually adjusted beds are small examples of the extraordinary effort the owner has gone to realise his vision. After having tried the Aman hotel in town, I would still choose this hotel every time. Great location, good service and fantastic heart.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view ( not the ones behind) on the second floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKnive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews