We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are almost guaranteed a perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed 6 days in early May 2012 in a junior suite in a new building next to the check-in reception. Everything that should be said has already been said by the reviewers - the warmth of Mr Urban the owner, the friendly and helpful staff who arrange river cruises and assist in morning alms-giving if guests wish to participate, the complimentary golf buggy rides to the main street (ATM, nite market, morning market, etc), free bicycles, cakes in the drawing room, charming breakfast area overlooking the 2 rivers, wine reception with Mr Urban in the evening and insightful advice on restaurants and interesting places.

The only grouse I have is the construction activity next to our building, which seems to start every morning as early as 7:30am.

I wish also to add that this is perhaps the only hotel that has remote controlled bed which allows raising of different sections.. I find that I have a more comfortable sleep when I raise the head section slightly higher.

Room Tip: Room on higher floor is preferable. Our suite on the 2nd floor provides good view of the 2 rivers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 519 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

This has to be one of the best hotels around. Service, room and food and fantastic. Staff is friendly, flexible and helpful. Breakfast croissants were as good as in France. Location is ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is one of the best hotels, especially considering the price! They just added a marvelous outdoor breakfast area overlooking the river and it is terriffic. Fantastic service, the owner is great. This is one of my favorite hotels in the world! It even has free internet! Vastly better than hotels many times more expensive. You can go wrong here!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Gkrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

It's difficult to say something that hasn't already been said about this place...

We had two nights booked at the Mekong Riverview, and out biggest regret is not staying longer. Luang Prabang is beautiful and relaxing with an extremely friendly (not yet spoiled) attitude toward booming tourism.

Urban has designed a wonderful hotel. The rooms are clean and staff friendly. There were unexpected modern touches - clearly a reflection of his background in the Swedish hospitality industry.

Many small perks to the hotel are included in the price of the room - for example, the room fridge is stocked with complimentary sodas (as opposed to the standard mini bar). There is always coffee/tea/cake available in the reception. A golf cart is available to drop you off in town. Free bicycles for guests. The breakfast is delicious, and the view from the breakfast patio is unbeatable.

The staff is extremely knowledgeable about the area and provided well thought out advice tailored to meet our needs. A map given to us at check-in had essentially everything we could want to do labeled on it and circled with hand-written notes and suggestions. Additionally, suggestions were made on how to avoid massive crowds, and how to take part in traditions without offending the locals or getting in the way.

Lastly, I applaud their attention to advertising and encouraging involvement in local non-profit organizations. The hotel makes its mission to promote tourism in a manner that benefits the local community clear.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anokh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mekong Riverview in the spring of 2012 and it was a sublime experience. The staff is attentive and gives excellent advice about where to eat and what to do. The rooms are very spacious, beautifully furnished, and comfortable. I only wish I had a room on the second floor, so I could have left the blinds open - on the first floor, people walking by on the street can look in. The breakfast is to die for - both the setting, overlooking the two rivers and mountains, and the food. Plus, don't forget the bikes! All in all a very happy vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 km away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
730 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
806 reviews
2.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.3 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
487 reviews
2.1 km away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $167 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing