We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast view in Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Being invited by the hotel owner for a glass or 2 of wine with fellow guests sums up the welcome at this well positioned hotel. Best breakfast view, quiet location within walking distance of the centre of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissBabs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 537 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

A fantastic and beautifully understated property with immense style. The rooms are perfectly presented with spacious well-appointed bathrooms and electric tilting beds for the ailing traveller or nocturnal reader!
The reception staff were extremely professional and helpful suggesting places to visit and to eat. Two of their dining recommendations tried were excellent. They also arranged a private boat trip up the Mekong to the weaving area and a small village riverside.
A real highlight is breakfast; not only for the quality but for the location perched directly above the languid Mekong!

Room Tip: Booking a Mekong-facing room is a good idea not only for the view but also for the private sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

An excellent hotel in a fabulous location in a wonderful town. The rooms are first class, there are free bicycles and the Lao staff are particularly good. We had the room with the smelly toilet for one night - this problem needs to be sorted out. It is expensive by Lao standards but still very good.

Room Tip: Avoid room 29 until the toilet smell is rectified
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJB1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

It has been a bit since I stayed at the Mekong Riverview Hotel... However, I loved my stay there so much that I always recommend it to fellow travelers! Why did I love it? It is a quality, quaint hotel with lovely staff. The rooms fully done in gorgeous wood with wonderful quality beds for a great night sleep. The beds are the adjustable kind so it makes for extra comfort as i wrote in my journal before bed. Sitting on the balcony after our long days with candles burning and chatting about our adventures was lovely! Daniel and his staff go out of there to make sure you have a wonderful time there... Again, I can't say enough!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnteach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Super location, outstanding service and staff, wonderful views over the Mekong from the breakfast area, probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in at any hotel (amazing Swedish beds), wish we had stayed for a whole week - 4 days was not enough!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Mekong are definitely worth paying a bit extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatyP81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 km away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
730 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
2.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.3 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
486 reviews
2.1 km away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $170 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing