We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (924)
Filter reviews
924 results
Traveller rating
758
140
19
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
758
140
19
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswedish ownerurban paulssonswedish bedsmekong rivergolf buggyadjustable bedsin townremote controlkhan riversrivers meetdinner reservationshotel ownerjunior suiteother guestswell run hotelseparate toiletfree bicycles
Filter
Updating list...
600 - 605 of 924 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A fantastic and beautifully understated property with immense style. The rooms are perfectly presented with spacious well-appointed bathrooms and electric tilting beds for the ailing traveller or nocturnal reader!
The reception staff were extremely professional and helpful suggesting places to visit and to eat. Two of their dining recommendations tried were excellent. They also arranged a private boat trip up the Mekong to the weaving area and a small village riverside.
A real highlight is breakfast; not only for the quality but for the location perched directly above the languid Mekong!

Room Tip: Booking a Mekong-facing room is a good idea not only for the view but also for the private sitting area outside the room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

An excellent hotel in a fabulous location in a wonderful town. The rooms are first class, there are free bicycles and the Lao staff are particularly good. We had the room with the smelly toilet for one night - this problem needs to be sorted out. It is expensive by Lao standards but still very good.

Room Tip: Avoid room 29 until the toilet smell is rectified
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJB1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

It has been a bit since I stayed at the Mekong Riverview Hotel... However, I loved my stay there so much that I always recommend it to fellow travelers! Why did I love it? It is a quality, quaint hotel with lovely staff. The rooms fully done in gorgeous wood with wonderful quality beds for a great night sleep. The beds are the adjustable kind so it makes for extra comfort as i wrote in my journal before bed. Sitting on the balcony after our long days with candles burning and chatting about our adventures was lovely! Daniel and his staff go out of there to make sure you have a wonderful time there... Again, I can't say enough!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnteach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Super location, outstanding service and staff, wonderful views over the Mekong from the breakfast area, probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in at any hotel (amazing Swedish beds), wish we had stayed for a whole week - 4 days was not enough!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Mekong are definitely worth paying a bit extra for
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatyP81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Really pretty hotel in renovated building, so lots of atmosphere. Very quiet. Exceptional and accommodating staff. Breakfast was served overlooking the river which was stunning. I wish that they knew how to make a proper omelette and all would have been perfect. Room was comfortable, but toilet was in a separate room which was laughingly small. Our host had a wine reception for the guests and that was one of the highlights of our travels. I would definitely recommend this hotel, although, the rooms are expensive. There are many lovely places overlooking the rivers in Luang Prabang, so I can't speak to value. The location is a beautiful 15 minute walk from town, but the setting was amazing and the hotel offered free shuttles into town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aktraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews