We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The rooms are expensive but very nice, with super quality adjustable beds. What really makes this hotel stand out, though, is the fantastic level of service. When you pay for a room at the Mekong Riverview you also get a lot of stuff included in the price - not the least a fantastic breakfast. The staff is attentive and friendly. The hotel is run by westerners who have run hotels in Europe before, and they're happy to help you around Luang Prabang and participate in making your stay in the town the best possible. Make sure to book in time, especially if you travel there in the wintertime.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 555 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was a lovely little hotel with the best breakfast location looking over the river. The beds were very comfy, and they moved! The rooms have a Euro chalet feel, which gives a cosy feel. The best part are the staff who couldn't do enough to help. The wine reception and free flow coffee and cake were a winner too. Free bicycles, golf-cart drop offs and booking service are all lovely added extras.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have never left any hotel reviews until now but our stay at this hotel was so impressive that I had to leave one (for the first time). Like the previous reviews, this hotel does not just stop at ‘providing necessities’ to the customers but you can really sense that the hotel staff genuinely cares about the well-being of their guests. The impressiveness of this place comes from the small details which are meant to make the guest’s stay a pleasant one. What I was most impressed with was the hotel information booklet. It doesn’t just provide the operational facts such as check-in and breakfast hours, but they actually bothered to write down the descriptions and personal opinions (and tips) about the famous tourist spots and restaurants in Luang Prabang, and very honest ones as well. This is a must-read, especially for travellers who are not very familiar with this place. When we asked for a private van to go to Kuang Si waterfalls, not only did they professionally make an arrangement for us, but also prepared a bag of towels in case we were intending to swim in the waterfalls and water bottles as well (which we did not even ask for). In addition, I’m very particular about hygiene and cleanliness but I must say that the room was super clean. Even the bathroom floors were squeaky when we first came in. We had to check out at dawn and the day before, the receptionist asked whether we wanted a small meal prepared before departure (I’ve never seen any hotels doing this before). Since so many people have already left such rave reviews about this place I will not reiterate them anymore. There are, however, some minor improvements which could be made. I am not sure how much this applies to other rooms but we started to sense an unpleasant smell coming from the drainage/sewage in the bathroom in the evenings. It got stronger overnight and we had to deal with the foul smell when we entered the toilet every morning. We did give a feedback regarding this and the hotel staff promptly took care of the smell while cleaning the room but the smell still returned every evening regardless. That was one negative factor and it would be great if this problem could be solved. Another petty weakness I spotted was that they didn’t have cotton buds in the bathroom, although I’m sure they would’ve gotten them for us if we asked. In addition, the hairdryer they have is one of those no-brand types with only one air temperature – tepid – and my hair texture was getting rough after blow-drying. For those who are particular about this, you might want to pack your own hairdryer along. Lastly, I personally think that it would be better to replace the current curtains with those which are easier to draw and close such as blinds. There were three windows in our room which were facing our neighbour’s room and the road at the riverside and it took a bit of effort to securely cover the windows to ensure complete privacy.

Regardless, this is still one of the best hotels I’ve stayed in with one of the best service standards. Although the rates are on the pricey range compared to other accommodations in Luang Prabang, it is really worth the money spent. Their service not only makes your stay a comfortable one, but even makes your whole travel experience in Luang Prabang pleasant as well. We’ll definitely return to this hotel when we visit this place again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here, a family of 3 adults, in two gorgeous rooms for 9 nights from 21st December, 2011. We arrived a night early, were greeted by the charming owner Urban who was hosting a drinks party in the lobby and immediately invited us to join. What a welcome!
The hotel's location is the best in Luang Prabang and the complimentary golf buggy transport service for local trips a boon - although everything is within walking distance. Breakfasts are fantastic and are taken on a newly opened pavillion on the banks of the Mekong. Great room service for drinks on your balcony or veranda, first class (and ecconomical) same day laundry service, helpful and professional staff, high standard of finish in rooms and bathrooms fresh flowers in rooms is a nice touch, and the Swedish remote control beds are to die for!
If you are planning a trip to Luang Prabang, don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaireadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great location, friendly owner and staff. Would love to go back and of course stay here again. The beds are sooooo comfy! I traveled with my 3 sisters we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 km away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
730 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
806 reviews
2.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.3 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
487 reviews
2.1 km away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $167 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing