We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic art deco hotel”
Review of Villa Maly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Maly
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic art deco hotel”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A bidden gem in Luan Prabang. We stayed here during our Laos Cambodia tour. This hotel is well furnished. It's à small villa in à quiet location near The center of The city. A Nice swimmingpool complete The hotel. À real boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louwrens65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    230
    45
    22
    2
See reviews for
133
347
71
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed for a week in January and found it a very nice hotel. Staff all very friendly, excellent large bedroom - bathroom fine but slightly quirky design. Delightful pool of swimmable size which I think is rare in the more central parts of Luang Prabang. Convenient quiet location about 300m from the Mekong and 7-8 minutes walk to bars, shops, restaurants and the wonderful night market. Breakfasts fine and good food at lunch around the pool - but dinner best taken in one of the many excellent restaurants in LP. They also provide free golf buggy transport to any points in the city, if you are feeling lazy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Booked for the cheapest room and were pleasantly suprised when we got a pretty large room on 1st floor facing the pool - it was great. Yes the bathroom was a bit small and dark but we weren't bothered - there was enough room to wash and shower!
The service around the pool was amazing, they have slightly dodgy lounger cushions that have a tendancy to fall apart but there is always someone to assist and whenever I wanted a drink there was someone there! The location is great if you don't mind a short walk into town - its worth it for the peace and quiet. We only ate breakfast once and it was a little dissapointing, no egg station and most things were stale or cold - don't get me wrong it's fine and adequate but we stayed in 7 hotels in 2 weeks and this was the most dissapointing...
We tried the spa and had massages - they were just okay, the Laos massage is not as relaxing as some of the others you get in Asia we found it a little slappy!
This hotel was our second choice but we are very pleased we were here over 3 nagas - lots of hotels don't have a pool so this was a real bonus.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maniacnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethesda
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We spent 3 nights at Villa Maly in January before starting a tour in Vietnam. Villa Maly was delightful; everything that we expected after getting a recommendation from friends who stayed there in December. The hotel is in a pleasant quiet neighborhood. We were able to easily walk into the heart ot town 2 evenings and took advantage of their complimentary shuttle the third. The room was very pleasant and each afternoon we took advantage of their lovely swimming pool with ample pool-side lounges. it was a great way to start our trip.

Room Tip: Get a room pool-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Villa Maly is a stylish hotel, 10 minutes walk from the town centre, set in the old colonial quarter. Rooms are set round a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing area. There is a small bar with the inevitable TV showing wall to wall sport but the sound is turned down, and a pleasant lounge area by reception to sit when it rains. The bedroom was delightfully decorated and the bed very comfortable with lots of pillows and a mosquito net. Unfortunately our shower room was small, dark and the only mirror in the whole room back-lit. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, served in a covered area between two accommodation blocks. The staff are pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a decent sized bathroom on the 1st floor level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 km away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
782 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
756 reviews
1.4 km away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
1.4 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
290 reviews
1.5 km away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maly

Property: Villa Maly
Address: 75 Oupalath Khamboua Road | Ban That Luang Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price range (per night): $108 - $300
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maly 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Lao royalty, today Villa Maly is an exquisite boutique hotel, surrounded by luscious tropical gardens. Its rooms evoke the subdued elegance and creative touches of a bygone time. The hotel's 33 guest rooms are each subtly created to incorporate time-honored Laotian architecture with an essence of the Colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Maly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maly Hotel Luang Prabang
Maly Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing