We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy we stayed here over 3 Nagas, wonderful service, only downside was the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Booked for the cheapest room and were pleasantly suprised when we got a pretty large room on 1st floor facing the pool - it was great. Yes the bathroom was a bit small and dark but we weren't bothered - there was enough room to wash and shower!
The service around the pool was amazing, they have slightly dodgy lounger cushions that have a tendancy to fall apart but there is always someone to assist and whenever I wanted a drink there was someone there! The location is great if you don't mind a short walk into town - its worth it for the peace and quiet. We only ate breakfast once and it was a little dissapointing, no egg station and most things were stale or cold - don't get me wrong it's fine and adequate but we stayed in 7 hotels in 2 weeks and this was the most dissapointing...
We tried the spa and had massages - they were just okay, the Laos massage is not as relaxing as some of the others you get in Asia we found it a little slappy!
This hotel was our second choice but we are very pleased we were here over 3 nagas - lots of hotels don't have a pool so this was a real bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maniacnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 545 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We spent 3 nights at Villa Maly in January before starting a tour in Vietnam. Villa Maly was delightful; everything that we expected after getting a recommendation from friends who stayed there in December. The hotel is in a pleasant quiet neighborhood. We were able to easily walk into the heart ot town 2 evenings and took advantage of their complimentary shuttle the third. The room was very pleasant and each afternoon we took advantage of their lovely swimming pool with ample pool-side lounges. it was a great way to start our trip.

Room Tip: Get a room pool-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Villa Maly is a stylish hotel, 10 minutes walk from the town centre, set in the old colonial quarter. Rooms are set round a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing area. There is a small bar with the inevitable TV showing wall to wall sport but the sound is turned down, and a pleasant lounge area by reception to sit when it rains. The bedroom was delightfully decorated and the bed very comfortable with lots of pillows and a mosquito net. Unfortunately our shower room was small, dark and the only mirror in the whole room back-lit. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, served in a covered area between two accommodation blocks. The staff are pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a decent sized bathroom on the 1st floor level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

An easy 5 minute stroll from Luang Prabang's enchanting old centre, Villa Maly is located in an area of grand colonial residences. Our room was large, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was stylish but rather impractical, with a hammered bronze basin but negligible counter space. The immaculate pool area was a restful retreat from the heat and humidity. Not cheap in a town with plentiful accommodation options, but the space and pool area make it worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLP74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent three nights at Villa Maly over New Years and were quite pleased with the overall experience. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town but on a quiet street and enclosed environment. The hotel was busy but the ambience was subdued and very pleasant. The massages at the spa were great after the drive from Vang Vien! Marie, the hotel manager, and her staff were most accomodating.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
783 reviews
1.9 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
1.4 km away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 68 in Luang Prabang
660 reviews
0.9 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maly Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maly Boutique Hotel

Address: 75 Oupalath Khamboua Road | Ban That Luang Village, Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $136 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maly Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Lao royalty, today Villa Maly is an exquisite boutique hotel, surrounded by luscious tropical gardens. Its rooms evoke the subdued elegance and creative touches of a bygone time. The hotel's 33 guest rooms are each subtly created to incorporate time-honored Laotian architecture with an essence of the Colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Maly Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maly Hotel Luang Prabang
Maly Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing