We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
camerong1984
Ordinary at best
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jan 2013
I booked the room over the phone and the man from the hotel asked if I wanted a motorbike from the bus stop and quoted me a price. I said that I didn't want one. When I got to the bus station there was someone waiting there for me with a sign and he was quoting me a greater price than what was said on the phone!
The room was clean, bed comfortable enough and hot water worked. Air conditioning worked sometimes but other times didn't work.
We got washing done and they handed it back to us with most of it wet.
For Myanmar standards the service was quite average.
Not a terrible place to stay but certainly not a great one
Date of stay: January 2013
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$38
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
1.0 km from Rich Queen Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
AU$52
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Rich Queen Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$61
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.4 km from Rich Queen Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
AU$46
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Rich Queen Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$51
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Rich Queen Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$77
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.6 km from Rich Queen Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$123
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Rich Queen Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.7 km from Rich Queen Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
  • eDreams
3.9 km from Rich Queen Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$183
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$183
4.7 km from Rich Queen Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mandalay
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
21
64
27
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
64
27
8
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We followed the LP and went to AD1Hotel and were disgusted and walked out - two blocks up we found the Rich Queen and were very surprised - very basic but has all you need! Rooms are new and clean, and few rooms (14) means that the staff were very attentive - very helpful.
PhoSe was especially so, he took it upon himself to take us around the city and further for two days giving us a personal tour of things we never thought of seeing. Our wonderful stay in Mandalay was mainly due to PhoSe and the Rich Queen - !

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoNo_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Two words spring to mind when trying to describe this hotel, although given Tripadvisor's profanity guidelines, I'm not sure I'm allowed to write them!

This hotel offered the WORST experience I have ever had with accommodation while travelling!

I arrived on the bus at about 4am, so went through about four or five places (all full) before settling on this one - (after minimal sleep and an hour of hopping around to different guesthouses in a taxi, I clearly wasn't thinking right).

Problem(s):
- No running water in my room, despite hotel management informing me it was a new hotel that had all the mod-cons.
- After asking about the water FOUR TIMES, having to still wait an hour for someone to come up and try to fix it.
- When realising the water wasn't going to work, being sent to another room to use the shower, only to find there was no hot water.
- No working air-conditioner.
- Generally bad experience!

If you are desperate for a room late at night, you might want to consider sleeping in the gutter, because it would be better than booking a room at the Rich Queen Guesthouse.

Room tip: No tip to choose a good room - you'd be better sleeping in the street!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theshineline
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2012

They told me they have room available when I phoned them. When I arrived, they gave me a room with a TV, but no outlet to plug it in. The toilet didn't not flush - the knob of the flushing mechanism fell off when you touch it. Also, the spraying tube was leaking and cannot be turned off. The rate for this room was $25. When I told them of the problems with the toilet, they told me to wait for tomorrow to change to another room. I did not wait, I went somewhere else real fast. They look like nice people, but limited English was understood. Their response was always 'I don't understand'. It would had been a nice room if things work better. There's plenty of room for improvement.

Room tip: go some place else
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_Burma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Great new building, new beds, hot water, AC, TV, and amazing WIFI connection . Super clean , well located, and friendly young kids staff, little English but very helpfull. Call ahead often full. Great price 20$ for two, or 15$ single. All worth it.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giannakosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2012

very nice and reasonable hotel ,you can also look in the richqueen52.blogspot.com.i have also rent the car from this hotel to Pin U Lawin or Maymaew the British Kureort in the past.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim353
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews