We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite restaurant / bar in Brasov” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Festival '39

Festival '39
Ranked #11 of 250 Restaurants in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Central European, Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant / bar in Brasov”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

If you want to meet some friends, take dinner or just drink something, this is the perfect place!!!
Very nice atmosphere!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ralluk_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    233
    72
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reeuwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Service here was great, very kind and quick. Great choice on the menu, enough but not overwhelming. I had a gipsy pork pot which was great. Food is well priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RvandeGein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Breakfast menu here is 25 RON and there are a variety of options. The surroundings are beautiful, evoking a real 1920's feel - and the rather racy decor in the restrooms really has to be seen!

The food is great, coffee excellent and service prompt. Be aware that it is very busy during breakfast periods and in the evenings, but it really is a beautiful place to relax over a coffee or beer.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I recommend it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great place for a snack, during any season. The food is very good and the desserts even better.
It's highly accessible because of its location, in the heart of the town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Prices, Good Food, Wonderful Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Festival '39 restaurant. We returned for food three times in our week-long visit, once for breakfast and twice for dinner. For dinner the first time, we ordered the Festival '39 salad with beef, and the spinach stuffed turkey with risotto. The salad was really good, it was very fresh and the beef was flavourful and tender. The turkey wasn't as enjoyable as it was clearly made from frozen rolls and was very salty and the outer later of breading on the turkey was mushy. The rice on the turkey dish was lovely, but the turkey was disappointing. The salad was so good that we both ordered the same salad on our second visit to this restaurant for dinner. As for breakfast, I ordered the two fried eggs with sausage, while my husband ordered the English breakfast - and while all dishes are perfectly photographed on the menu (and tend to look very similar to the photos), mu husband was a little sad to see that the bed of roasted potatoes and carrots of his breakfast dish was mainly chopped up carrot…he wanted more potatoes. BUT, the fresh orange juice and rolls with butter and jam were nice, it made for a complete, big breakfast. Both times for dinner we had glasses of the house red wine and it was nice. The service was attentive on all visits and we kept going back despite the smokey room (which is par for the course in Brasov), the cool 1930s-1940s decor and dim lighting made for a very enjoyable space to hang out in. I recommend at least one visit to this restaurant if you're on a date, or, if you come with a group of friends, too. Everyone who was sitting around us was enjoying nice coffee drinks, but I don't drink coffee so I never tried one…but they did look impressive with lots of whipped cream, beautiful shades of coffee and a nice glass.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Festival '39 also viewed

Brasov, Brasov County
Brasov, Brasov County
 
Brasov, Brasov County
 
Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Festival '39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing