We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional atmosphere and cultural experience”
other travellers have booked this property
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania • Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
• Casa Nicu • refurbished Carpathian farmhouse  • Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Vale, village street - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Road to Vale - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Vale on the horizon - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Hiking trail for people - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Hiking trail for animals - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
In the mountain meadows - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
In the mountain meadows - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Mountain lake at Gura Raului - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
The vastness of the valley - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Cindrel Mountains - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Cindrel Mountains  - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Climbing Rocks at Cisnadioara - Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania
Sibiu, Central Square - Transylvania, Romania
Sibiu Council Tower XIII century, Transylvania, Romania
Sibiu, defense wall at the edge of the Old Town - Transylvania, Romania
Bran, castle of Count Tepes (Dracula) - Transylvania, Romania
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sibiu, Sibiu County, Central Romania, Transylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jo Lee E
Concord, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional atmosphere and cultural experience”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a quaint, cozy cottage perfectly sized for two. We celebrated our anniversary with a trip to Romania and Casa Vale is the perfect base. Whether interested in culture, handicrafts, rural living, history or hiking everything is within reach. Even in the middle of winter we found plenty to see and enjoy, from inexpensive local food to quaint villages and bustling, though charming, cities (Sibiu, even Sighisoara is within reach).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
Thanks Lee, for your warm words. When it pulls you once again to Transylvania you're always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Getaway80...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in Casa Nicu for a week - and had a great time. The apartment is perfect for 2 people and there's real attention to detail which we were constantly struck by - condiments, washing detergent etc. It's a great base for the Transalpina which we drove a couple of times as well as lots of other villages, lakes etc. We ate food cooked by a local lady for a couple of dinners which were delicious hearty Romanian food. Werner was a great host with lots of tips - he was really helpful when I was planning the trip and then when we were there. It's worth noting that the table outside is for the priority use of Casa Nicu but because it's the only place to sit, it's likely that you will be sharing it with your neighbours. Highly recommended - which we have been to friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thanks Kate, for the great review and praise. I'm glad that you've enjoyed your holiday with us.
Only one thing I would like to correct: the neighbors of Casa Pelu have their own terrace with seating, directly accessible from their rooms, and they know that the terrace in the courtyard belongs to Casa Nicu. They might use it if you're out, but should leave in your presence. Until now we had no problem with the allocation, because our guests are mostly friendly and respectful and communicate with each other.
All the best for you - and if it pulls you back to Transylvania you're always welcome.
Werner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred_Stut...
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“It was fantastic, cozy and we had a great time in Transylvania”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We found a very clean and nice house with a modern kitchen and all the things you need in a usual household. The landlord was very friendly, helped a lot with some things and we got very quickly through with any question.
It is a great spot to start some nice hikes. Around are lots of medieval castles and beautiful 'saxon' villages. We had a great time there and we will come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood fired oven and sitting in the vine tendrils
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Thanks Fred, and great that you enjoyed the stay in our Methuselah. You are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRP100
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great getaway to countryside”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Casa Nicu is a cozy upper-story cottage with everything we needed available. The village is set at the base of the mountains, and we were able to hike up the valley to the sculpture park, as well as walk to neighboring villages. Nicu is very hospitable and made us feel at home. Werner picked us up at our hotel and delivered us to the train station in Sibiu right on time. We enjoyed the delicious home cooked dinners that we ordered and they were delivered on time and hot each night. The cottage had beautiful woodwork throughout. The lovely garden was draped with honeysuckle vines and had a sheltered picnic table. We are on a five month trip and after seeing the sights of the cities for six weeks Casa Nicu was a good place to relax away from the city. Although we enjoy walking, with a car you could explore more of the surrounding villages as well as Sibiu. We met some very nice people and had a wonderful time in the countryside. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, rural, tranquil and great hosts”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful time at Casa Nicu. It's an old farmhouse which has a kitchen/lounge, bedroom and bathroom.
We were well looked after by the hosts during our stay and there's the option to purchase some yummy home cooked Romanian food.
The village is very quiet and like stepping back in time - you may see the odd horse go past the window. Hire car is essential, Sibiu isn't too far away and there's a motorway now nearby. Restaurants are a couple of miles away, but they are good and cheap. Ask for recommendations. Allow plenty of time if you're coming from Bucharest as Google's estimates are too short for the time to allow if you're not on motorway. Also bring a torch if you're walking round the village at night as it gets properly dark (good stargazing)!
Wifi was present, but not that strong - we just about managed to get by.
There are a few properties all bordering the same secure courtyard, so it would be great for extended families booking multiple properties.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location, great hosts and property
Liked least: WiFi a bit shakey
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thanks Mark. I should announce from the stars and the moon that you don't need a torch tonight. You're always welcome, Werner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing