We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
53
87
65
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
87
65
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square old town fresh paint indoor heated pool small elevator odd layout fried potatoes pedestrian mall seen better days central hotel dining room is there is no air conditioning bedroom area split level historical place public areas brukenthal museum
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in the center of Sibiu.The staff was good and friendly they can speak Italian very well
The room was good as there were 2 bathroom. The breakfast was good plenty of choices.The spa was working properly only the floor was very sleeper in.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Ok, its an old hotel. A really old hotel. And its last modernization was quite a while ago, But it has character. We had the room with the balcony. It was right above the street and there was some sort of festival going on. The good news is that we had a great view. The bad news was that we could hear them most of the night. The room itself was on two levels. The entry, sitting area and bathroom were on the level you entered. The bed was up one level. It was kind of regal. Except when you had to go to the toilet at night. We stayed two nights. Breakfast was good. We ate dinner out at one of the places on the square.

It really was an experience.

Room Tip: try to get the room with the balcony. There only appears to be one from the outside.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Spend 4 days in the hotel, 2 adults and 2 kids. The rooms are not well renovated and not clean. Breakfast is poor, food in general not of good quality. We were not impressed with the hotel. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

I also checked out the fire exits. Chairs left in stair wells and an apparent lack of working lighting inside the lower stair wells, would still leave a question in my mind re Romanian fire safety standards.
The hotel has lots of old world charm but some of the edges are a little rough eg a small double bed with a lumpy older style mattress. Rare to see any staff with a smiling / happy face too. Our room was large and clean and we could open the window (as we had to because the centrally managed central heating is set way too hot) but the olden world tiny bathroom with a shower over the bath but no shower curtain shows too much old world functionality. No in room safe and w-fi only works in the foyer. The foyer ceiling and the ambience of the dining room are very photogenic. Breakfast was ok with the hot food again not kept at a hygienic 60+ C.
The hotel has a perfect location to the old town square.
The Christmas markets there were nicely lit and leave Brasov's efforts greatly lagging.
Yes it is not a Holiday Inn but smiling staff, thicker towels and making the actual fire safety an A+ reality would give it a 5 rating.

Room Tip: Ask if any of the rooms have a more modern bathroom
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Suffolk, Virginia
11
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Just got back from Romania with two nights in Sibiu for the Christmas market, old villages of Margineinea and the medieval flair of the Old Town. The market is lovely and easily rivals the similar in places like Munich and Frankfurt.

I must admit we were somewhat worried after having read the previous review regarding the fire safety precautions at this hotel. Once there we asked the front desk manager to show the exit procedure in case of fire so for the next 25 minutes we investigated the escape routes of both second and third floors. We noticed each room had the fire escape route shown on the inside of the door and all exits were functional. The manager also presented us with the general, officially approved fire escape planning, in good standing.

For the ones willing to change from clinically septic / zero-identity ramadas and the alike, this hotel offers one of the best opportunities. Will leave aside its super location right off the main square and just mention the elegance, style and above all, charm. While not a deluxe facility, it has the means and the power to take you back in time. I would call it a bit more than a simple hotel stay.

Room Tip: Hotel is safe and in good standing as far as fire exits are required.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews