We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensiunea Zanzi

Pensiunea Zanzi
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensiunea Zanzi
Ranked #78 of 115 Sibiu B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Nice, cozy and pretty cheap. It s a family business so they are pleased to please you.downstayrs they have a nice pub and also restaurant with home cooked traditional dishes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catterin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sighisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

As well as comfortable clean beds and always hot showers, Eleanor and Christina, our hosts, both with excellent English went out of the way to make our stay memorable, with lots of advice and infomation. No question was too difficult for them, ensuring that we enjoyed all of the unparalleled charms of Sibiu. Access to the kitchen was an optional benefit, Eleanor even offering us a taste of her delicious home made blackberry jam. Christina even went to the trouble of helping us to book our next stay, in a Gite in a typical Rumanian village. The hotel is complemented by the Zanzibar, where we had cold beers in the sunny courtyard and many conversations with several guests and English speaking Rumanians, such as Alex the computer Programmer and Kick Boxing entrepreneur. We unreservedly recommend the chareming Hotel Zanzi

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mylesoswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Booked through Hostelworld 6 weeks ago and paid 10% deposit to decure booking. Upon arrival they claimed that they no longer had a contract with hostelworld and that my booking was void unless I paid the rack rate - some 80% more than agreed. I showed them my print out of my booking and even then they would still not honour it. They then blamed a previous owner/worker and even claimed it was hostelworlds fault for putting them on their website (total load of rubbish). It was a case of take it or leave it, so we decided to leave on principal only for them coming back a few minutes later saying they felt terrible about the problem and offered the room at a 38% premium to what was agreed. We reluctantly accepted. I suspect they only did this as it became apparant we were actually not going to be held hostage.

Anyone booking here needs to be aware that your booking is worth little with this hotel.

As to the rooms they are generally ok but rough round the edges - for instane the lighting in the living area wasnt working - all five bulbs blown. Unfortunately our whole stay and view of Sibiu was tarnished by what happened upon arrival.

Avoid.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sibiu hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

It seemed rather difficult to find a good place to stay in Sibiu. We tried booking at one of the hostels that had private rooms (they had wonderful reviews) but all were full. So Pensiunea Zanzi was the choice. We stay at the hotel for two nights and the room was average at best. When we first checked in we noticed that the shower door was broken. The hotel agent tried to fix it, but with no luck so we checked into another room that had a working shower door.

This room had stains on the carpet and the windows opened up to the very busy and very loud street below. The room was basic in décor but did have good quality windows that kept the noise out. I found the distance to the main square a little far to walk, especially at night with the busy streets. The breakfasts in the morning were kind of mismanaged. There seemed to be no one in charge of keeping things flowing smoothly so at times I had to serve myself milk from the fridge, after waiting quite a while for the staff to realize people were at the restaurant for breakfast.

We did however find a great restaurant close by with delicious food called the Grand Plaza. Excellent service and the food is not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
5.0 km away
Hilton Sibiu
Hilton Sibiu
#1 of 30 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#5 of 30 in Sibiu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 30 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Continental Forum Sibiu
3.5 km away
Pensiunea Rubin
Pensiunea Rubin
#18 of 30 in Sibiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Silva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensiunea Zanzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiunea Zanzi

Property: Pensiunea Zanzi
Address: Strada Constitutiei nr. 1, Sibiu 550253, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Sibiu
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Guesthouse opened in 2008 in the historic center of Sibiu. It lies just 1’ walk away from the Railway station and 3’ walk away from the city’s Main Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pensiunea Zanzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing