We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Lviv, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premier Hotel Dnister
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Lviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed in this hotel while on business trip to Lviv. Rated 4 star but probably closer to an average 3 star in western Europe. However, good location and good size, clean rooms. 10 minutes walk to Lviv city centre ans some very good quality, reasonably priced restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

I travelled here by train overnight on Ukraine Christmas day, I arrived at the beautiful station decked out in a real spirit of Christmas. The pre ordered taxi was waiting, having called me on the train to confirm my exact time of arrival, ten minutes later and we arrived at 0615. In most places people that have to work the big special holidays seem to show that this is not their choice for this day, however this was not the case at all in this hotel, I walked through the door and a staff member received my luggage, I went to check in to the warm welcome hallo happy Christmas Mr Finn, without me saying anything. I had a suite since i was travelling with my wife and daughter. Within about three minutes we were on the way to the room the porter was already there and while i went into switch on the lights he has already put the bags in the reception area and left us to settle in. The room was extremely elegant and comfortable with very handsome Italian furniture in the lounge and reception area, even the hotel had put the room in a Christmas tree lights and all, it was a special thought and was greatly appreciated by my wife and daughter especially. Our room was front facing so we had the city view with the park in between the delightful views. The main restaurant was bright and airy but did feel imposing but comfortable. The breakfast buffet had almost everything you could wish for, including freshly squeezed juices to order. I tried for the first but certainly not the last time the carrot and apple juice together, delicious combination. I ordered freshly fried eggs with soft centres and every day they were perfectly prepared. The staff are very smartly turned out and eager to serve in the most polite way, it’s easy to see that this hotel take great care in selection and staff training. If any member of staff didn’t fully understand what i has asked for he went and got someone who was quick on the scene to ask what I required. There is a very comfortable bar on the same 2nd floor as main restaurant, with a panoramic restaurant bar on the top floor with the best views of the city and the park below, which walking through this park is just 10 minutes’ walk to the city centre. I was particularly impressed with the hotel security you room key had to be inserted into the key tab in the lift to allow you to go to the residential floors and then to enter the hallway to your room there were doors where your room key had to be used to gain access, this all means that it was almost unlikely that any undesirables could get to the rooms.
Room service was very comprehensive and varied choices, again very polite and service to the room was quick as could be for food prepared to order but, certainly no lengthy delays at all.
I have to give the wonderful hotel my 100% approval, there was one minute fault and that was a lack of tissues in the amenities kit, but I am assured that this will be corrected very quickly.
Before arrival I received an email from the hotel asking what temperature I would like the room to be and, did I have any other preferences in the way of pillows, I can only remember such service at one other hotel that I have stayed in and that is Claridge's in London.
I first came to the Dniper Hotel in 1992 and since then the changes would have to be seen otherwise you could not believe the transformation of this ugly duckling into a really beautiful swan. Yes I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone. Please tell me if I'm not right

Room Tip: ask for the renovated rooms you will ppay a little extra but worth while and ask for front facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyfinnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnister_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Premier Hotel Dnister, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Mr. Finn,

Thank you for staying at Dnister Premier Hotel. It was an honor to have you and your family as our guests.

We are truly happy that our hotel made a positive impression on you and you enjoyed your room and the view from the window. The view is even more beautiful in summer when the park near hotel is green.

We are also glad to hear, that you liked the level of service and professionalism of our staff. We are happy you enjoyed your breakfast and the meal served to your room.

Thank you for the comment about the lack of tissues in the amenities kit. We discussed this with the Housekeeping Manager in order to maximize the comfort of our guests.

We would be very happy to welcome you back soon!

With best regards
Dnister Premier Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The personnel is very polite and caring. Perfect management and high client orientation. Here you will always have immediate feedback and flexible approach to your requests (regardless of whether you are a guest of the hotel or just a visitor of an event organized in this venue).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lyudmyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnister_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Premier Hotel Dnister, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dnister Premier Hotel. We are glad that our staff and service level made a positive impression on you. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Dnister Premier Hotel and we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

With best regards
Dnister Premier Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The Hotel Dnister is a big, blocky Soviet-era hotel that generally has been thoroughly renovated to Western standards. The guest rooms are very nice, with mini-bar fridges, a good selection of foreign-language TV channels, a safe and they are nicely decorated. The clean rooms offer good linens, a decent selection of towels, and acceptable amenities in the modern bathroom. Slippers and robes are supplied in the better rooms.

The hotel is centrally located and it’s an easy walk to the city center, parks and university. The Dnister (which claims 4-star status but falls short of meeting this level) is part of the Ukrainian Premier Hotels chain, which means it’s of a higher standard than many other hotels in the country.

There are downsides to this hotel, however: The bed is rock hard and covered by two twin bed sized duvets instead of a large double, for example, but the real disappointment isn’t the room. It’s the hotel’s food and beverage operation. The hotel advertises its ‘scenic’ 9th floor bar, which is a huge, cold, uninviting space with a small bar, several sparse tables and disinterested staff. Not a place you’d feel comfortable relaxing at day’s end. Even if you do decide to visit, the beer is bottled (not draught) and the bar menu is pretty limited. We were served an order of soggy, oil-drenched, unsalted French fries. They’re probably still on the table.

The dining room was no better. Reminiscent of the style found in many Soviet-era hotels, the Dnister’s second-floor restaurant hasn’t seen much renovation. High ceilings and tall windows, but sparsely furnished and few diners made it feel like eating alone in a ballroom. There is a reason not many people eat here, too: The menu is over-priced, the offerings are thin and unimaginative. (The English menu translations are atrocious as well: Ryb-i steak, anyone?).

If dinner was underwhelming, the free breakfast was a puzzle. It offered the usual compote, dinner rolls, cheese and cold cuts you’d find in a typical Russian hotel breakfast. There was also a large selection of dinner items: breaded chicken filets, fish filets in sauce, veggies, hot dogs, peeled banana chunks floating in water, and something that looked like runny scrambled eggs identified as “egg porridge”. Ugh. Most items were presented in steam trays, but there was no steam, so it was all cold to tepid.

Nothing cooked to order, nothing hot, and nothing remotely palatable. Dnister is definitely not a 4-star hotel on this basis alone.

Other hotels in L’viv (like Eurohotel) are just as nice, but offer decent food and beverage service.

Room Tip: The Premier-class rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnister_Manager, Manager at Premier Hotel Dnister, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback which we take seriously. Comments like this help us to evaluate our services and facilities in order to strive for the highest standards expected.
We are glad to hear you liked our Premier room. We keep renovating our facilities to maximize the comfort of our guests and meet international standards.

At this moment we completely modernized most of our rooms and will start working on redesigning Panorama bar.

We are sorry to hear you didn’t like the food in our restaurant. We get a lot of positive comments about quality and taste of dishes from our guests and will do everything possible to assure your bad experience was an exception. At the breakfasts food is usually served hot, although we apologize if your dishes were cold. We will make sure this will not happen again. We also thank you for the comment about mistake in the English version of the menu. It will be corrected.

We thank you for choosing the Dnister Premier Hotel while in Lviv and we hope very much to see you again. We will do our best to show that your negative experience was rather an exception and you can not only sleep in our hotel, but also eat here. Before your next visit please feel free to contact us directly at spmr@dnister.lviv.ua – we will make sure Dnister Premier Hotel meets your expectations and provides you with the highest quality service.

Best regards,
Dnister Premier Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, new reburbished room, nice but very hot had to open window as heating would not turn down, breakfast buffet type, but fo not expect something lovely very poor. Lviv itself a flashback to the 1960's

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vampira22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnister_Manager, Manager at Premier Hotel Dnister, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Dnister Premier Hotel. Your feedback is very valuable for us and it helps us to improve our service.
We are glad to hear you liked the room. Most of our rooms are completely modernized recently to make our guests feel more comfortable. All facilities are equipped with new air-conditioning which is supposed to work properly. However we apologize if you had any inconveniences with it and our Engineers will recheck the equipment to make sure such a problem never happens again.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Dnister Premier Hotel and we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Dnister Premier Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lviv hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Atlas Deluxe
Hotel Atlas Deluxe
#4 of 65 in Lviv
262 reviews
1 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#9 of 65 in Lviv
440 reviews
1.1 km away
Swiss Hotel
Swiss Hotel
#1 of 65 in Lviv
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Taurus Hotel & SPA
Taurus Hotel & SPA
#6 of 65 in Lviv
189 reviews
1 km away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#20 of 65 in Lviv
145 reviews
7.6 km away
Ramada Lviv
Ramada Lviv
#35 of 65 in Lviv
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Dnister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Dnister

Address: Mateyka St., 6, Lviv 79007, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Lviv Oblast > Lviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lviv
#8 Business Hotel in Lviv
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lviv
Price Range: $65 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel Dnister 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Hotel Dnister is situated in the historic centre of Lviv near the old park and architectural monument of XYIII century - St. Yura's Cathedral. The Hotel offers 166 comfortable rooms equipped with modern furniture, digital TV, international direct dial telephones and Wi-Fi. Comfortable rooms face the city center and the Vysokiy Zamok hill. Here You will plunge into the atmosphere of comfort and peace. At the free hotel parking there has been installed Autoenterprise, a charging device and while your electric car is being charged You can admire a wonderful panoramic historic city view and regale oneself with the aromatic coffee in one of our restaurants. Our team is available at all times to assist you with anything You may require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Hotel Dnister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dnister Hotel Lviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing