We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thunderstorm cut off wifi - but a lovely stay...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of sun hill mlini

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Serbian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Amy D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely host, nice apartment, location not so fab!”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The apartment itself is lovely - light, airy, nicely decorated and fully equipped with everything you could need for a short stay. The shower had fantastic water pressure - perfect after a day on the beach. The lounge is lovely and sunny with a big comfy sofa (that turns into a sofa bed). Nice partial sea view - perfect view from the sofa in the lounge area. The only issue we had in the apartment was that the bed was extremely squeaky and kind of sagged on one side - maybe a previous guest had jumped on it or was very heavy and has damaged it. Unfortunately this meant whenever my husband moved it made loud squeaks so he ended up sleeping on the sofa bed.

Martina the host is also very very sweet - giving us restaurant suggestions, pointing out the short cut to the bay and even running us into Dubrovnik on our last day which was very kind!

Location wise we were not so keen on - the house directly in front of the apartment is essentially a building site and the owners smokes on the back stairs which look directly into the apartment - bit off putting! I hope that the building work is completed soon for Martina's sake as her apartments are lovely and nicely presented. You would also definitely need a car staying here when the weather is hot as its a steep climb up a big hill from the bay or bus stop. We had a hire car on the first day but dropped it back on the second day as we mainly wanted to see Dubrovnik and you can't easily drive/park there. There are no pavements on most of the walk back from the bay making the walk a bit scary when it's dark as they drive fast!

We took the boat from Dubrovnik back to Mlini bay - with a company called Adriana - this was a lovely and very convenient way to get back from town - also got a great view of old town as the boat pulled away.

All in all - lovely apartment and brilliant host just be prepared to hike up a hill if you don't bring a car!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
littletri...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely spacious modern apartment”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for 4 nights for our honeymoon and Luka (before arriving) and Martina (whilst there) were both very helpful and easy to contact. The apartment is very spacious and stylishly decorated. We ate in for 3 of the 4 nights, as we were tired from busy days out exploring. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything we needed (with the one exception of a potato peeler! :)). Lovely big bed and thankfully aircon! We had a hire car so it was nice to be able to leave it in the garage, as we used the local bus (no. 10) most days, as taking a car anywhere near the old town is not recommended. The apartment is at the top of a very steep hill but as we were on a walking holiday we didn't mind. There are beaches at the bottom of the hill where we enjoyed swimming in the crystal clear sea :)
The apartment is only a short (and easy) drive from the airport but far enough that you don't hear the noise of overhead planes.
Overall a great base for exploring Dubrovnik, Cavtat and Mlini. Thanks for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and stylish
Liked least: It is a shame a house is being built in front which is blocking part of the view. There is still a view of the sea and Cavtat though.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali B
1 review
“Had a fantastic time!”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I'll try to keep this review short since most of the information is already provided.

We visited Mlini in late August and rented the apartment for eight days. The place was spotless and some of the basics were already kindly provided. The people who own the property are extremely sweet and were glad to help us with finding places to go, shopping and other things. For this I'm extremely grateful!

I thought the location was amazing. Mlini is a good distance (15 minutes by bus) between the two most popular places in the area, Cavtat and Old town. The apartment is located in between both!

There is a steep 7 minute walk down to the main road from the apartment where you'll find a bakery, a market and bus stops. The beach is another 5 minutes from there. I was also told a mall would be opening in close proximity to the apartment and It was in its last stages before we left. I can understand why some people might find the walk back up difficult, but I personally thought it was fine and often quite relaxing since it's very peaceful.

The view from the apartment is mesmerising and I found my self staring at it for hours at a time. It is partially blocked by the house infront, but I saw no problem with it since it still looked amazing.

The apartment is almost exactly as it looks in the pictures. The furniture is modern and the design is elegant.

There are plenty of things to do in Mlini. Boat rentals, Island tours, scuba diving, restaurants and a few bars are just some examples. All these can be found by the beach, which is around a 15 minute walk from the apartment.

All in all, the apartment is brilliant! In fact I had so much fun in Dubrovnik that I've already started looking for a time to head back, and I would without a doubt be renting here again if I could!

Lastly, I'd like to once again thank Martina and her family for their hospitality!

(The pictures below are of the walk down from the apartment, the view from the roof and a place 2 minutes from the apartment, which looked beauitful when the sun set!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff L
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent modern well equipped apartment”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

For a one bedroomed apartment we found it very spacious with a good size double sofa bed to accommodate our two large teenagers. The apartment is very modern, clean and well equipped and the owners very relaxed, helpful and friendly. We were thankful for the use of a car as the temperature was averagely 37 but when the temperature dropped the walk up the hill was easily manageable.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing