We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,477)
Filter reviews
2,477 results
Traveller rating
1,242
942
222
51
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,242
942
222
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel the bus new marina old town yacht club glass door side sea view gruz harbour turn left out of the hotel ships dock small balcony pool area half board superior room turn right evening buffet bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 2,477 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We stayed at this hotel in May for our 40th wedding anniversary. The hotel is really comfortable and very clean and the staff were friendly and attentive. We were booked in for full board as the price for full board was very reasonable, but we did dine outside of the hotel on three of the seven nights, as we do like to try other local restaurants. The breakfasts were lovely with plenty of choice. The evening buffet was a typical hotel buffet, and there was plenty of choice and couldn't complain as it was very well priced for full board. The staff were very friendly and also were very attentive. I had a broken toe and one barman in particular in the bar was very kind to me and supplied me with bags of crushed ice to help ease the pain and swelling in my foot which was much appreciated. His name was Zjelko, he was very friendly as were all of the staff. The pool area was good with plenty of sun beds for everyone, there was also a seperate terrace with more sun loungers which was very picturesque. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank butterfly186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your excellent feedback.
It was a huge pleasure to read your impressions and we are so happy you were satisfied with your holiday in our hotel.
Most significant acknowledgment to our service are clients such as youself, who found our hotel to be so great you would want to return again.
Those sort of recognition are huge boost to the confidence of our entire staff, making them even more enthusiastic because their passion for work and dedication pays off.

Best regards on behalf of entire Lapad staff.
Kristina Filippi
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Not sure if we are just unlucky but we never seem to get a room with a view, the Lapad didn't let us down though I suspect that views are at a premium from this hotel.
Booked this hotel as it was well placed between the Old Town and the new area.
We ended up in room 414 on a shared terrace/balcony with 3 other rooms with no view.
Check in was very quick ie here is your room, thanks.
Went to the Thompson reps welcome meeting (Becca) and was actually very helpful, thanks.
As mentioned previously the rooms are a bit small, you tend to bang your knee on the bed when passing between the bed and the dressing table also as this is a twin room why is there only one soft chair in the room?
The room was kept clean and tidy, all staff we very friendly.
No complaints about the meals and as mentioned previously drinks/water is expensive.
Maybe the time of year but no entertainment provided bar a DJ on Saturday night.
Ignore catching the bus outside the hotel as tis will just take you to the bus stance and you will have to sit for 15 mins until it takes off again, best idea is to walk to the roundabout or bus stop at the end of the harbour.
Used Ecotuk for an excursion, well recommended.
Overall Hotel Lapad was fine but could do better.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Brian,

many thanks for your comment and ideas.
All direct impressions from our clients are extremely important to us as they are showing us how service was delivered and what needs special addressing.
We are sorry to hear that the views were not what you expected and hopefully other parts of service we provide managed to replace that.
It was our pleasure having you as our clients.

Best regards on behalf of entire Lapad staff.
Kristina Filippi
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Check in was quick, told were our rooms were offered no bell boy but I am sure if we had asked they would have taken our cases for us.
Room was 705 in the new block with a balcony and marina view to the side, it is compact with two single beds quite comfortable, bathroom was modern with a bath over the bath rainfall shower toilet and glass sink.
The room narrows towards the balcony door and the dressing table is very close to the bed which has a hardwood surround, we kept banging our knees on this that’s the only negative we have with the room.
We had half board on our holiday and we were to use the evening meal as a fall back in case we did not want to go out to other restaurants.
The breakfast had plenty of options and I from cooked to continental, we ended up having all our evening meals here as well partly because we were out all day and got back late and partly because the meals were so good, always plenty of choice and excellent quality as well, I would say they tend not to replenish the dishes at the end of the night so they tend to run out of the popular dishes.
The staff can come across as a bit stern but when we got to know them they were great we had no problems with the front desk they were always helpful.
The pool was freezing enough said.
The hotel had some entertainment on most evening.
If you want to walk round the marina it takes around 20 minutes to get to the other side, and about a 40 mins to an hour to walk into the old town, or get the number 6 bus which stops outside the hotel.
We used to pop out to a bar called Wins for a couple of drinks go out of the hotel turn left its about 5 mins walk.
I would go back to this hotel it has a good location they just need to get the pool a bit warmer.

Room Tip: balcony with a view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maltby-tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing such detailed and positive comment with description of your holiday.
So happy to know you enjoyed your stay and liked what we offer.
We highly appreciate receiving direct feedback from clients as that is the best way we can see how our service was delivered and experienced through the eyes of a client.
Information consisted in your feedback will be of huge help to anyone who takes into consideration trip advisor advises when deciding on the place of their holiday.

Best regards on behalf of entire Lapad staff.
Kristina Filippi
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The rooms in this hotel are adequate but the staff really turned us off. No greetings when we arrived, - we waited twenty minutes for service in the hotel bar, the front desk barely met your eyes when asking them questions. All were in sour moods and hardly lifted a finger to be of service. It is a bit far from the old city so you need to take bus.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Daniel

thank you for sharing your experience.
Negative insights are also welcome as they are telling us straight from guests what part of services need intervention.
Unfortunately, as much as we do our best and invest into spotless way of treating our customers, mistakes such as these sometimes are inevitable.
We apologize for this and can assure you all actions will be taken into making sure this does not happen again. All departments have been informed about your comment.

Best regards on behalf of entire Lapad staff.
Kristina Filippi
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed at the Lapad for a week at the beginning of September. The staff are exceptional - friendly, polite and efficient. We stayed half board which we feel was a mistake as there are lots of nice restaurants in the area we would have liked to have tried with far more atmosphere than the large, extremely brightly lit dining room. Why not dim the lights at night, put a few candles on the tables for a bit of atmosphere? Also a buffet gets a bit monotonous each evening even though of course there are different choices each night.

If you book half board, you can swap dinner for lunch if you request this the day before. However, you can only have lunch in the large dining room and we did this one day and were the only people in there - not much atmosphere! We asked if instead of eating lunch in the dining room, if we decided to swap on another occasion, we could instead eat at the outdoor terrace area but we were told this was not allowed. We wonder why as had we done this, what we had chosen (a snack or sandwich) would probably have been much less costly than the 150 kuna per head lunch! I think this is something that needs to be addressed. The buffet breakfast was very good though with lots of choice.

The rooms are quite small and a bit dated but cleanliness was brilliant - we had a lovely friendly cleaner. Bathrooms too need a bit of updating and are small. I knocked the telephone off the wall in the bathroom 3 times while there as the space is tight! The glass sink in our room (421) had two very large chips in it and should have been replaced - I hope this will be replaced soon.

Someone in an earlier review said that the outdoor pool is heated - it certainly is not! To get in it in early September takes your breath away. During the week we were there, hardly anyone used the pool (unless they were a hardy swimmer!)

The location is nice and once the marina works have been completed I am sure it will be lovely. As others have said, its about 30 minutes walk into the Old City (which gets very busy) or number 6 bus or taxi. We went into the Old City three times during our week there and can recommend doing the cable car, walking the city walls and also the 50 minute boat trip from the Old City for 10 euros which shows you the old city from the sea. The coastline is beautiful.

Do also go to the Skar winery which is less than 2 minutes walk from the hotel (turn right outside the hotel entrance). The young couple who run it are lovely and the wine is fantastic.

I think the hotel is best suited to older people (we are also older but like places with a bit more atmosphere) who like a buffet because they like to see what they are going to eat rather than choose from a menu, not perhaps knowing what the food will be like.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spider49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Guest

thank you so much for this detailed and informative comment.
There is no better way of knowing if the service provided was delivered spotlessly other than to receive direct messages from our guests.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and all your propositions have been forwarded to other departments.

It was our pleasure to have you as our clients.

Best regards on behalf of entire Lapad staff.
Kristina Filippi
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews