We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Stayed at this hotel from May 16-23, 2009. The hotel has been nicely renovated. The pool is nice and comfortable, except there weren't enough lounge chairs for everybody. It's on a nice quiet street overlooking the bay where the cruise ships dock. The bus going into Babin Kuk then to the old city are right across the street.

I stayed in a single room. It was a bit small, but nice decor, flat screen TV and very comfortable. The breakfast was nice and filling with a very good selection. I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrekker728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,905 - 1,909 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2009

Hotel Lapad is a modern, quite elegant hotel, recently updated, in a very good location in Dubrovnik. About 40 minutes walk in super scenery to the Old Town. Close to the hotel are small, very good restaurants and a picturesque harbour. I would rate it between Very Good and Excellent - the only drawback being that the rooms, although very clean and very modern, are a bit on the small side. The staff are friendly and helpful, but I think they might have helped me to make a reservation on the bus to Sarajevo!
All in all, my obvious choise if in Dubrovnik and wanting a hotel room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SigridAlvestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

The hotel is in a great location - on the Lapad peninsula and just a bus ride away from the Old Town

The hotel was very clean and had obviously been updated r ecently.
Excellent Buffet breakfast and evening meal - never 2 days the same. Watch out for the expensive wine though!

Pool area very quiet and perfect for unwinding.

Overall an excellent hotel

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WidnesWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

We have just returned from a lovely May Bank Holiday weekend at the Hotel Lapad to celebrate my Dad’s 60th birthday and had a wonderful time. Would highly recommend the Hotel Lapad for the rooms, the staff and the location. Very modern.

All three of our rooms were clean and quiet with a modern bathroom and little balcony. Not quite enough room to fit two people on, but it wasn’t that warm so didn’t bother us! You can sit down by the pool also, or in the hotel bar which has a terrace overlooking the pool.

The staff were excellent; very friendly and helpful, and phoned the taxi company for us straight away when we realised that we had left one of our bags in the cab (taxi came straight back fortunately, as passports in there!). And they didn’t charge us for the phone call! The hotel has a bar, but it appeared to vary in its opening times.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you into the old town of Dubrovnik in about 10 minutes, or you can walk it in 40 mins. Quite a pleasant walk, but if you want to be lazy at the end of the day its nice to sit down! Buses run until midnight and drop off right outside the city walls. There are few hotels in the old town, and we only actually saw the Hilton Imperial anywhere near the old town, so staying in this location is fine. The hotel overlooks the harbour too, which is lovely.

Pool looked nice and clean although we didn’t use it as cold in early May! I would recommend taking your own beach towels if you are planning on spending a lot of time on the loungers - they were quite hard. It was a nice quiet pool area, with no kids running around screaming, so nice if you want to sit and read a book or have a nap in the evenings.....

There are two restaurants a 2 minute walk from the hotel, go out the front and turn right, which were both quite nice. Food generally in Dubrovnik wasn’t great quality, but OK. There is a supermarket about a 10 min walk from the hotel if you want to get some snacks and beers / wines as we did. Out of the hotel, turn left along the road, past the Wind Bar, left up the hill, then it is on the left just past a restaurant. Well stocked. There was another restaurant we would recommend a bit further on from the supermarket – carry on up the road, then when you reach the junction turn right then immediately left up the hill. The service was a bit miserable, but the food better than most other places we ate at. Food in the old town was over-priced we thought.

The hotel appeared to have a car park if you are hiring a car. We got a taxi from the airport, this cost about £25, but we couldn’t find any buses there that went to Lapad, so it was necessary.

The breakfast was plentiful, again some things weren’t great quality, but we just ate more of the things we liked. Cooked and cold food, cereal, fruit, nice coffee, yoghurts, cakes and breads and the full fry up too (this was a bit lukewarm). Plenty of it, and you could fill up for the day.

All in all, we would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Lapad to anyone. It was good value and in a good location. Possibly not that suited to families with children as it isn’t close to a beach, and it’s a bus ride into town or a long walk, but then Dubrovnik itself isn’t really a beachy / family holiday. More of a city break for couples / older people as not too much for kids to do – we did lots of walking round the old town, along the city walls (this cost £5 and was well worth it for the views – lots of steps!), walked up to the old fort, sat in bars and cafes watching the world go by and the cruise ships empty out, and looked round the museums and church. Also would recommend the boat trip we did from the pier in the old town, £20 for the day including a lovely lunch (the best meal we had all holiday in fact!) and visiting three islands.

Please feel free to email me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This hotel is outstanding in every way. It is in a great location overlooking the marina and just a short (and frequent) bus ride from the Old City. Also, if you turn left out of the hotel - just ten minutes walk away a great pedestrianised street with bars, cafes and entertainment for the kids.
If you have never been to Dubrovnik you might be forgiven for thinking its a big place... but it really isnt. The walled city is tiny - which means everything is easy to find and its just 5 minutes walk from one side to the other.
You can get a boat over to Cavtat which is about 50 minutes away (although they will tell you its just 40 minutes!!!) - its well worth a visit as its spectatularly pretty and very relaxed.
If you have kids get a hotel by the Lapad Bay - the Kompass looks good and right by the beach. Dont worry about the location of any of the hotels to the west of the Old Town - it is a very small place and all of them are a short bus ride away. Taxis are cheap too... we got a cab back from the city at 3am to our hotel for just 60kn - which is about £7...
Visit Dubrovnik for a long weekend - you will not be disappointed - definately visit Hotel Lapad - you will love it. (BTW: Don't bother with the 20EUR dinner option - there are a couple of places nearby to eat - if you don't want to venture out at night).

There are so many bars to choose from and with the old town being so small all are very easy to find. Prices vary considerably - based on percieved location. The "jazz club" in the square is twice the price for a beer that another bar literally on the other side of the small square... (However - the most you will pay for a beer is £4 (it's not Paris!)

There seem to be three decent clubs open at this time of year: Fuego (saturday night very busy - Friday - only 6 people in there at 1am). The Factory - didn't go there. "Extreme" - this was down at the new Casino. Was very busy on Saturday night - but not much character...

Finally: The Arsenal - it is a night club (and also a restaurant...) The restaurant is expensive, the service rubbish and the food very mediocre... good luck!

(Taxi from the airport takes about 35 minutes - and costs 230 kn (about £30) - to anywhere in the old city / lapad district and probably uptowards babinkuk - you can agree the price beforehand. The airport is very small - and is being refurbished so there is no hot food only rubbery ham/cheese sandwiches - so eat before you go to the airport..!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris197663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
795 reviews
1.9 km away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
924 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Kazbek
Hotel Kazbek
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
395 reviews
1.7 km away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $119 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing