We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,484)
Filter reviews
2,484 results
Traveller rating
1,246
945
222
51
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,246
945
222
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel the bus new marina old town yacht club glass door side sea view gruz harbour ships dock turn left out of the hotel small balcony pool area half board superior room turn right evening buffet bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
2,074 - 2,079 of 2,484 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Hotel Lapad is a modern, quite elegant hotel, recently updated, in a very good location in Dubrovnik. About 40 minutes walk in super scenery to the Old Town. Close to the hotel are small, very good restaurants and a picturesque harbour. I would rate it between Very Good and Excellent - the only drawback being that the rooms, although very clean and very modern, are a bit on the small side. The staff are friendly and helpful, but I think they might have helped me to make a reservation on the bus to Sarajevo!
All in all, my obvious choise if in Dubrovnik and wanting a hotel room.

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SigridAlvestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

The hotel is in a great location - on the Lapad peninsula and just a bus ride away from the Old Town

The hotel was very clean and had obviously been updated r ecently.
Excellent Buffet breakfast and evening meal - never 2 days the same. Watch out for the expensive wine though!

Pool area very quiet and perfect for unwinding.

Overall an excellent hotel

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WidnesWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

We have just returned from a lovely May Bank Holiday weekend at the Hotel Lapad to celebrate my Dad’s 60th birthday and had a wonderful time. Would highly recommend the Hotel Lapad for the rooms, the staff and the location. Very modern.

All three of our rooms were clean and quiet with a modern bathroom and little balcony. Not quite enough room to fit two people on, but it wasn’t that warm so didn’t bother us! You can sit down by the pool also, or in the hotel bar which has a terrace overlooking the pool.

The staff were excellent; very friendly and helpful, and phoned the taxi company for us straight away when we realised that we had left one of our bags in the cab (taxi came straight back fortunately, as passports in there!). And they didn’t charge us for the phone call! The hotel has a bar, but it appeared to vary in its opening times.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you into the old town of Dubrovnik in about 10 minutes, or you can walk it in 40 mins. Quite a pleasant walk, but if you want to be lazy at the end of the day its nice to sit down! Buses run until midnight and drop off right outside the city walls. There are few hotels in the old town, and we only actually saw the Hilton Imperial anywhere near the old town, so staying in this location is fine. The hotel overlooks the harbour too, which is lovely.

Pool looked nice and clean although we didn’t use it as cold in early May! I would recommend taking your own beach towels if you are planning on spending a lot of time on the loungers - they were quite hard. It was a nice quiet pool area, with no kids running around screaming, so nice if you want to sit and read a book or have a nap in the evenings.....

There are two restaurants a 2 minute walk from the hotel, go out the front and turn right, which were both quite nice. Food generally in Dubrovnik wasn’t great quality, but OK. There is a supermarket about a 10 min walk from the hotel if you want to get some snacks and beers / wines as we did. Out of the hotel, turn left along the road, past the Wind Bar, left up the hill, then it is on the left just past a restaurant. Well stocked. There was another restaurant we would recommend a bit further on from the supermarket – carry on up the road, then when you reach the junction turn right then immediately left up the hill. The service was a bit miserable, but the food better than most other places we ate at. Food in the old town was over-priced we thought.

The hotel appeared to have a car park if you are hiring a car. We got a taxi from the airport, this cost about £25, but we couldn’t find any buses there that went to Lapad, so it was necessary.

The breakfast was plentiful, again some things weren’t great quality, but we just ate more of the things we liked. Cooked and cold food, cereal, fruit, nice coffee, yoghurts, cakes and breads and the full fry up too (this was a bit lukewarm). Plenty of it, and you could fill up for the day.

All in all, we would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Lapad to anyone. It was good value and in a good location. Possibly not that suited to families with children as it isn’t close to a beach, and it’s a bus ride into town or a long walk, but then Dubrovnik itself isn’t really a beachy / family holiday. More of a city break for couples / older people as not too much for kids to do – we did lots of walking round the old town, along the city walls (this cost £5 and was well worth it for the views – lots of steps!), walked up to the old fort, sat in bars and cafes watching the world go by and the cruise ships empty out, and looked round the museums and church. Also would recommend the boat trip we did from the pier in the old town, £20 for the day including a lovely lunch (the best meal we had all holiday in fact!) and visiting three islands.

Please feel free to email me if you have any questions.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This hotel is outstanding in every way. It is in a great location overlooking the marina and just a short (and frequent) bus ride from the Old City. Also, if you turn left out of the hotel - just ten minutes walk away a great pedestrianised street with bars, cafes and entertainment for the kids.
If you have never been to Dubrovnik you might be forgiven for thinking its a big place... but it really isnt. The walled city is tiny - which means everything is easy to find and its just 5 minutes walk from one side to the other.
You can get a boat over to Cavtat which is about 50 minutes away (although they will tell you its just 40 minutes!!!) - its well worth a visit as its spectatularly pretty and very relaxed.
If you have kids get a hotel by the Lapad Bay - the Kompass looks good and right by the beach. Dont worry about the location of any of the hotels to the west of the Old Town - it is a very small place and all of them are a short bus ride away. Taxis are cheap too... we got a cab back from the city at 3am to our hotel for just 60kn - which is about £7...
Visit Dubrovnik for a long weekend - you will not be disappointed - definately visit Hotel Lapad - you will love it. (BTW: Don't bother with the 20EUR dinner option - there are a couple of places nearby to eat - if you don't want to venture out at night).

There are so many bars to choose from and with the old town being so small all are very easy to find. Prices vary considerably - based on percieved location. The "jazz club" in the square is twice the price for a beer that another bar literally on the other side of the small square... (However - the most you will pay for a beer is £4 (it's not Paris!)

There seem to be three decent clubs open at this time of year: Fuego (saturday night very busy - Friday - only 6 people in there at 1am). The Factory - didn't go there. "Extreme" - this was down at the new Casino. Was very busy on Saturday night - but not much character...

Finally: The Arsenal - it is a night club (and also a restaurant...) The restaurant is expensive, the service rubbish and the food very mediocre... good luck!

(Taxi from the airport takes about 35 minutes - and costs 230 kn (about £30) - to anywhere in the old city / lapad district and probably uptowards babinkuk - you can agree the price beforehand. The airport is very small - and is being refurbished so there is no hot food only rubbery ham/cheese sandwiches - so eat before you go to the airport..!

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris197663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Enjoyed our first trip to Croatia,people very friendly,Dubrovnik lovely place to relax and watch the world go by, Hotel Lapad a perfect location, decor,cleanliness and choice of breakfast first class. Only disappointment was our evening meal,though good restaurants in the vicinty. You don't want to leave!

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0yramcsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews