We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of APARTMENT IVANA

P1010025.JPG
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
P1010025.JPG
P1010006.JPG P1010004.JPG
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
P1010025.JPG
P1010006.JPG
P1010004.JPG
P1010008.JPG
P1010013.JPG
P1010007.JPG
P1010010.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
max29
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in apartment Ivana for 6 nights in September. Stayed the final night in apartment Ante at the same location. We had 6 & 1 because Ivana was booked for our final night but this arrangement also worked well as we could sample both apartments. The family live in the same complex of approximately 7 apartments 4 of which they rent out - they have a website detailing all of them apartments-ante.net The family are all very nice and speak English - we met Marinko, his brother and their parents. They keep out of your way so you only see them if you want advice or to borrow something and there is usually one of the family around so the place felt very secure and welcoming. The location is indeed up some steps and we found there were maybe 3 or 4 different ways from the old town to the apartments. Typically a walk down to the old town will take maybe under 10 minutes for anyone half way fit and approx 15-20 minutes back. You don’t need to be super fit, just be able to do some walking! We would usually go out at maybe midday and we wouldn't be back until late that evening so we only did the steps up and down once per day. We spent approx 3 days of our 7 days around Dubrovnik - the rest spent on day trips to other parts of Croatia or Montenegro which are equally fabulous.
Apartment Ivana is very new and in perfect condition and is perfect for 2 people. The view is fabulous and totally unobstructed and private. Lovely for both day and night. We would have breakfast on the balcony in the morning and some drinks in the evening. We didn’t sit out by day as it would probably be very hot. The supermarket is approx a 5 minute walk and has most if not all of what you need. Bed very comfy, air con very good and quiet in operation and everything else you would need. The rates are very reasonable and I will return here for another week at some stage. The rates of Dubrovnik hotels are outrageous – very little under €170 per night peak season so Ivana & Ante are a very good option. They also have 2 other apartments for rent. Parking is included which is great because if you don’t have parking you will find it impossible to get a space in Dubrovnik old town or anywhere nearby. There is also Wi-Fi here.
Apartment Ante is an older style apartment but still very comfortable. It has 2 tv’s and 2 air con units as it is bigger than Ivana. The main attraction of Ante is the huge private patio. The views are very good of the old town but not as good as Ivana as you are 2 floors lower but still very very nice. If you were intending staying in the apartment a bit Ante would be a good choice as its huge patio is covered by a leafy roof type patio so it’s nice and cool at all times with lovely views.
Dubrovnik is beautiful but think about what time to go. Summer can be hot and I think from November to Januarymost things are closed in the old town so it can make a big difference when you pick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraH198...
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent View, Balcony, Great Hospitality”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

First off, Marinko and his mother were great hosts. They were on hand all week if we needed anything, even gave us a lend of some beach towls!

The apartment itself is very new, clean and has evertything you need. The bathroom was nice a clean. Everything worked well, nice shower.

The apartment is up quite a lot of step from the old town. It take about 15-20 mins to walk up there from the entrance to one of the old town gates. We treated ourselves to a taxi on 2 occasions, which were about 7-8 euro's.

There is a mini market about 5 mins away where you can buy food. Fresh fruit, bread, meats, etc. Its a small supermarket. There is a cafe beside the mini market where you can buy coffees and beers. Does nice coffee.

All in all, I thought the apartment was great value for money, the owners couldnt have been more helpful. Marinko also helped organise 2 day trips for us as great prices.

I would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony was amazing
Liked least: Walking up all the steps, but the views are worth it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola123...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stunning views, fantastic hospitality”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in apartment Mia, which is similar to apartment Ivana but a little cheaper.

We were picked up from the airport, as arranged. This worked out well for us, and we were given some background information on Dubrovnik and some insider tips on the journey in. An alternative to getting the lift is to get the bus (cheaper at 5 euros). However there are a lot of steps to carry your suitcase up/down the stairs, which can prove tiring.

On arriving at the apartment we were offered either a large jug of juice (very sweet lemonade) or a beer. We took the lemonade and were also kindly given some sugared orange peel (a special delicacy of croatia). Both promptly disappeared!

The apartment is situated above the old town, with a balcony with views of the local peacock island called Lokrum and of the Old Town. Sometimes you could hear the orchestra playing in the old town from the balcony. The apartment is only a little below Mount Srd.

The apartment is well equipped - the air conditioning is the best I have ever had, the kitchen has almost everything you need (some oil and a pair of scissors would have been helpful), and there is a table both inside and outside. The room is well decorated and the bed is one bed (not twins like you often get abroad) and is about King Sized.

There are roughly 380 steps down to the old town. On reading reviews before, I felt that didn't sound a lot, but going up and down on two round trips each day really tired me out. You can follow the road instead, and only go up about 100 steps. This is what I opted for towards the end of the holiday.

The apartment was in a very good location as it was only 15 minutes down to the old town, and 5 minutes to a small supermarket to get juice, breakfast and anything else you might need.

In the height of summer there will be fireworks about twice a week (we saw two displays) at midnight. Bear this in mind as the first time I thought a shot had gone off - the sound rebounds off the old town. The fireworks are due to local cruise liners docking just off shore.

Tips for Dubrovnik:

- Visit the nearest island: Lokrum. This island has a small "dead sea", peacocks everywhere, forested woods and a small restaurant for ice cream/drinks/food. There are toilets on the island as well and the trip is only 60 kuna per person.
- Go segwaying! Quite expensive but well worth it. You can pick up a leaflet from the tourist office for more information. Gives you a tour of lapad [area of Dubrovnik) (which we hadn't visited), and is an interesting activity to have a go at.
- If you aren't as scared as me, go sea kayaking. I never went but it looks amazing and you go on a round trip around the old town and the island.
- Visit Mount Srd on the cable car and find out more about the war in the 90's and get a spectacular view
- Tour the city walls
- have an ice cream at Dolce Vita (Rock star icecream)
- Cheapest place to buy lunch is the bakery just outside the gates.
- If you can, try and visit Zagreb [stay there] and the Pvetic lakes - the most amazing sight of 100's of waterfalls....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Steps!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Fantastic view, fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in April and had a wonderful time. The pictures truly do not do the apartment or view justice! Marinko and his family were wonderful, the apartment was clean and the perfect size, and that amazing view bears repeating! We will recommend this apartment to all our friends. Hopefully we will be back someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh. Scotland
Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 75
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing