We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUAINT AND VISUALLY BEAUTIFUL HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kazbek
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Can I just start by saying this hotel is not withing walking distance of the Old Town, unless you are a professional walker, I would estimate a good hour to two hour walk! You can get a taxi for roughly £7.

The hotel is lovely as in the decor, the staff, and just the general ambience about the place. As the hotel is quite small there were few people around the pool, although we only had two days nice weather. The only thing I would recommend is they have a bell at the pool side bar to attract service as we had to get dressed and nip inside reception to ask for a sandwich and some drinks, but that would be my only criticism. If you are after a relaxing quiet place to stay this is just the job. Just in front of the hotel is the harbour where all the cruise liners dock, its a lovely view and a pleasant walk. I would highly recommend this hotel and definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2010

Dear JRey1974,

Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review on your experience while being our guest here at the Kazbek hotel.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that both the hotel and services contributed to your memorable experience. Thank you as well for your recommendation in regards to the service at the pool - we will definitely take it in consideration and do our best to improve it for the upcoming season.

Thank you again and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Dubrovnik.

Warm regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 329 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

Charming and very comfortable little hotel, very good service, nice facilities (pool, sauna), but not within walking distance to the Old town, which is not a problem by itself, but may force you to deal with greedy cab drivers on your way back to the hotel after visiting the town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrazilTraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2010

Dear BrazilTraveller2008,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice review on your recent stay with us here at The Kazbek hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Kazbek on your next visit to Dubrovnik.

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We spent a week here and the staff (particularly Deni on reception) could not have been more helpful. The rooms were elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean; the food and wine were both excellent. The hotel only has about 14 rooms so the pool area was never crowded, despite the hotel being fully occupied.

Although it is a short taxi journey (or long walk!) to the old city, the hotel is in a lovely suburb town overlooking the bay -perfect for drinks on the terrace watching the ships come into Gruz harbour. This is the first time we've wanted to review a place despite being globe-trotters but it really deserves a write-up.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Escoceses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

Dear Escoceses,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Kazbek hotel. It was a great pleasure to learn that we are the first place you have ever reviewed - THIS IS SUCH AN HONOR! We strive to provide quality service and accommodations to all of our guests and it is rewarding to know that we have achieved our goal with your stay.
I will certainly pass on your words to all of my colleagues and especially to Deni.

Warm regards from all of us at the Kazbek team,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Great hotel in a super location. Close enough to go visit the old town of Dubrovnik and then escape back again. Great pool located at the back of the hotel. Plenty of beds and towels. On the days were stayed there was no more that 6 people in the entire pool area.

The hotel building is beautiful with breakfast served on the patio area at the front. It is on the expensive side but we were there in peak season. Parking was also available - great if, like us, you were in a hire car.

We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening. We found a couple of good places nearby - one has an upstairs terrace that looks out over the harbour. Doesn't look much from the outside - but great food (just be careful not to over-order - the portions are huge). To find it turn right from the hotel and follow the harbour side for about 200 yards. Looks like a pizza place from the outside - but as well as great pizza the fish dishes are fantastic.

A special mention to the super helpful management / reception staff who gave some good advice on the rest of our stay in Croatia.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK-James72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

Dear UK-James72,

We were all delighted to read your review on your recent stay at our Kazbek hotel - thank you so much for posting it. We have passed on your lovely comments to our colleagues throughout the hotel.
We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Kazbek hotel soon.

Warm regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Before making a reservation I sent several emails to the Sales and Marketing Manager. All of the emails were answered promptly and were very thorough. I thought if I was receiving this kind of service without having a reservation then I should definitely stay at the Kazbek Hotel. The Kazbek Hotel was fantastic in every way. Our room was spacious and very clean. The setting was perfect with a very relaxing atmosphere. Every staff member was extremely courteous, and helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate us in every way (making restaurant reservations, setting up a private walking tour, excursions to the outer islands, etc.) Every morning we started off with a great breakfast on the entrance patio. It was a perfect start to the day.

My wife and I have traveled extensively around the world and I would give the Kazbek Hotel and staff my highest recommendation. We had a fantastic stay in Dubrovnik and the Kazbek Hotel staff significantly contributed to making this a trip of a lifetime. I would also highly recommend taking their high speed boat to the outer islands. In addition to the hotel restaurant, we enjoyed the following restaurants in Old Town: Sesame, Proto, and Gils.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thunder1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2010

Dear Thunder1210,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review on your recent stay with us here at the Kazbek hotel.

We were so delighted to read that you and your wife had a great stay and that the hotel and services contributed to making this trip to be "a trip of a lifetime".

It was our great pleasure serving you before and during your stay with us.
Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our Kazbek hotel if your travel plans bring you back to Dubrovnik.

Kind regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
4.4 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,570 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $175 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique setting with only 12 superior and deluxe bedrooms and 1 suite, the Kazbek Hotel is a 'home from home' for many discerning Dubrovnik visitors looking for a high degree of privacy and modern facilities in a historical ambience. The Kazbek is situated in Gruz bay only 10 min of drive from UNESCO protected Dubrovnik Old City. The former residence of 16th-century nobility now protected as a cultural monument is fully renovated to the highest standards and has regained its original beauty and function. Refined and graceful rooms all individually designed, perfectly combine classical style with 21st century amenities and comfort. You will love breakfasting on the beautiful courtyard terrace, sunbathing and relaxing at the private pool area. The rich and varied gastronomic cultures of Croatia can be tasted at the restaurant, where only the freshest and locally produced ingredients are used. The whole Kazbek area is a completely non smoking zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing