We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”
Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kazbek
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in June and were very satisfied with our stay. I'd stay here again. It's an intimate, chic hotel. Great choice for relaxing away from the bustle of Dubrovnik Old Town by the small pool at the back but also handy for site-seeing around Dubrovnik.

We selected this hotel as it's opposite the main bus station / port at Gruz. We jumped in a taxi and were there in 5 mins. Cheap and easy!

We arrived early and were allowed to relaxed by the pool while our room was made up. The lady who checked us in was excellent. Very efficient and friendly.

We stayed in room 15, which was beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfortable.

The hotel location is in Lapad peninsula about 3km from Old Town. It's only a short hop on the number 6 bus which goes every 10 mins and runs until about 2am. The front desk staff will point you in the right direction and explain where to go.

Breakfast was delicious. No menu though, staff talk you through the choices. You can order as much or as little as you wish. Fresh fruit, home-made bread with jams, cold cuts and cheese, eggs any way you want.

There were a few minor niggles. Our coffee cups were removed and not replaced. We had trouble tracking down a waiter at the pool (buzzers provided failed to work). During breakfast we were presented with the wrong order and had to ask 3 times for water.

All round, Kazbek is a little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roaminginthegloaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear roaminginthegloaming,

I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay at the Kazbek hotel in June and thank you so much for your great review.
I would also like to deeply apologize for a few minor niggles. We are grateful you mentioned them so that we can act on them and serve our guests better.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to see you again at the Kazbek hotel.

Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kazbek
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 268 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just returned from Croatia, we were lucky enough to stay at hotel kazbek. Situated by a lovely harbour where all the day trips go from so very handy! The room was lovely,food was lovely staff were so helpful, breakfast was lovely a very peaceful place and I hope they keep it that way. A very good place to be based for a short break in Dubrovnik. Nothing to fault the hotel,staff or location on!

Room Tip: All rooms are peaceful I don't think it matters what room you are given
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capewena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear capewena,

Wow! What a lovely review; you captured exactly what we want our guests to experience. Thank you very, very much for it!
I ensure you that the whole team is doing our best to keep it this way or even better.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kazbek hotel.

Kind regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I traveled to Montenegro, Croatia and Bosnia this summer for a two-week holiday. We stayed at the Hotel Kazbek at the end of the journey from June 19 - 21. We found the hotel was ideally located for a romantic visit to Dubrovnik. The food was excellent and our room was beautiful. The location on the harbor was also extremely convenient for trips outside the city to Cavtat and the islands. The renovation is impeccable and wonderfully authentic. The pool especially was a nice retreat from the heat and the proximity to the beach and restaurants was perfect. However, our stay was did not start out as well as it finished. When we arrived, the room we were given was extremely small. Also, the shower was not draining properly. We had been traveling from Bosnia in 100 degree heat and were so looking forward to splurging as a special treat on a 5-star luxury hotel for the end of our trip. The small room and flooding shower were a huge disappointment. But the manager moved us to a larger room when we returned from dinner. The state of the art electronics in the room are quite impressive however the loud air conditioner and fan for the bathroom were not conducive to a peaceful sleep. We had just come from the Muslibegovic House Hotel in Mostar which had the quietest AC I have ever experienced and was an extrodinarilly beautiful hotel with only a 3-star rating. It was hard not to compare these amenities. We were fully expecting the Kazbek to be the next tier up from the other hotels we had stayed in. In the morning we found the breakfast was superb with every possible choice of eggs, meats, cheeses, fruit and pastries. The outdoor dining area where breakfast is served is pleasant however, it felt somewhat exposed. It would be nice to have some foliage or something to shield the area a little more from view so that it feels a little more private and romantic. The same dining area is also quite a distance from the restaurant so the wait staff are not easily contacted for coffee refils, additional orders, etc. We found we had to get up and go inside to adjust our order or ask for more coffee. We thought it would be an improvement if a manager or head waiter were to stay in the vicinity, available for requests. These are small details but not minor when you're paying for a 5 star hotel. It would be our suggestion that the Kazbek try and upgrade the training and management in order to bring the overall rating of the Hotel in line with other 5 star establishments. Overall, we stayed in 3 hotels during our stay in Kotor, Mostar and Dubrovnik. The Kazbek was beautiful but not as intimate and romantic as the Palazzo Radomiri in Kotor where we had spent 6 nights previously.

The room service and wait staff at the Kazbek were not what we would consider to be a 5 star level. It seems they did not have a daily routine which was consistant. The fruit was left as it was on our first day of arrival. It would have been nice to either replace it or take it away. Our used water glasses were left on the bedside tables. And, given that the weather was extremely hot, our water was not replaced each day. Instead we had to repeatedly ask for more. Also, we did not receive help with our luggage at checkout. It would have been a nice touch if someone from the desk had inquired when we returned from breakfast. Also, it was extremely disappoint to find out about the promenade and close proximity to the beach late on the 2nd day of our stay. A thorough orientation when we checked in would have been a huge asset. We went to Cavtat in search of a beach when we had a beach within walking distance! These "extra" touches were missing overall with our experience at the Kazbek. However, overall the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful when we did ask about anything specific. We only mention the things listed here as suggestions which may help to improve the experience as the Hotel becomes more established. We would recommend this hotel to friends who plan to visit. It was an extremely pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a larger room. Small rooms are much too small.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank conken7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Conken7,

A sincere thank you for your kind and overall a very positive review of our Kazbek hotel.
We very much appreciate your constructive suggestions on how to improve our service and rest assured that we take them very seriously.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience with other Tipadvisor members and I do hope we will have the opportunity to see you again at the Kazbek hotel.

Best wishes,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Great hotel. Fantastic pool area although the jacquzzi wasn't always working. Good room with a spacious ensuite bathroom. Limited rooms resulted in plenty of choice regarding the sunbeds, although sometimes we had to "track down" a waiter.Breakfast very good - order individually - not buffet. Evening meals - excellent menu and food as good as anything we sampled locally. Outside the old city walls - thank goodness! but a very good location, on the quiet side of the harbour. Thoroughly enjoyed our time and would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Richard B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and I am delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed a week in June at our Kazbek hotel.

Please be sure that should you decide to come back to stay with us again we will aim to make your stay even a better one.

Thank you once again.

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The Kazbek hotel, staff & location were all we had hoped they would be... and more! The old town is an approx 35 min scenic walk or 15 mins by taxi/bus and It's a great place to visit. However, it's even better to be able to return to the serenity & intimacy of the Kazbek. The staff are great, they aren't intrusive in any way but are always available to help when required. A special thank you goes to Jenny (apologies, I know this isn't how you spell your name but your english surpasses my Croatian!) for keeping my anniversary surprises a secret and for recommending the wonderful trip to Cavtat. I'm confident that anyone choosing the Kazbek as a place to stay, will not be disappointed and will leave with a warm smile and special memories. Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a wonderful view of Port Gruz
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRM_3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear PRM_3London,

Thank you very much for choosing our Kazbek hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary.
It makes us very happy to hear we fulfilled your expectations and we very much appreciate you shared your experience with Tripadvisor users.
I will certainly pass on your kind words to all of our colleagues in Kazbek, especially to Jenny.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
4.4 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
827 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,069 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
973 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
735 reviews
1.8 km away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $168 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique setting with only 12 superior and deluxe bedrooms and 1 suite, the Kazbek Hotel is a 'home from home' for many discerning Dubrovnik visitors looking for a high degree of privacy and modern facilities in a historical ambience. The Kazbek is situated in Gruz bay only 10 min of drive from UNESCO protected Dubrovnik Old City. The former residence of 16th-century nobility now protected as a cultural monument is fully renovated to the highest standards and has regained its original beauty and function. Refined and graceful rooms all individually designed, perfectly combine classical style with 21st century amenities and comfort. You will love breakfasting on the beautiful courtyard terrace, sunbathing and relaxing at the private pool area. The rich and varied gastronomic cultures of Croatia can be tasted at the restaurant, where only the freshest and locally produced ingredients are used. The whole Kazbek area is a completely non smoking zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing