We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm welcome to Croatia”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Solo and Bacina lakes behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Solo and Bacina lakes behind
VILLA SOLO balcony the the pool and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Villa Solo and Bacina lakes behind
VILLA SOLO
balcony the the pool and garden
living room
kitchen
bedroom 2
bedroom 2
bedroom 1
bathroom
bathroom
welcome to main terrace
our favorite Adriatic beach
pebble beach
popular kite surf destination is on 3 miles
SUP school is near
Sandy beach is on 3 miles
Enjoy sunset
pool
garden with sunchairs
tennis court is near
we have Canoes
...and bikes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Joanna H
1 review
“A warm welcome to Croatia”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely introduction to Croatia-couldn’t have been made to feel more welcome by the whole of Pero’s family-good accommodation and lovely pool and garden-we used Villa Solo as a base to explore the stunning Dalmatian coast and cities of Split and Dubrovnik-would definitely visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystar
Home Counties
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem which seemingly exceeds everyones expectations!”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Solo is a fantastic place to base your holiday in Croatia and the photos and reviews just can't do it justice. Even when we booked, we were a little unsure whether it would be right for us and our two children aged 4 and 8. Any doubts were soon dispelled. Pero and his parents are just the most genuine warm and friendly people you could hope to meet. Never intrusive, but always around to give spot on help and tourism advice for anywhere you might want to explore in the whole country and intimate info on where to find hidden local spots. And always brightening your day with an endless stream of surprise gifts - a carafe of wine; a slice of watermelon by the pool; a piece of homebaked cake; a couple of mojitos on a hot day; a punnet of fresh figs, grown on site . . . all very kind and just out of the blue as you are relaxing. The highlight is the barbecue/dinner night which the hosts cook for all the guests once per week - a great social occasion, great food and plenty of wine too! They have a couple of kayaks you can use for free to explore the lakes which are just a short walk away, and Pero can even tell you the interesting things to find there too. There is a great 10km running circuit around the lakes if you like to keep fit. Villa Solo itself is very clean and newly refurbished, though you won't spend much time in your apartment. Most likely you will eat outside in a communal area with the other guests and enjoy the great views and relaxing environment whilst the kids all play together in a safe environment. It was fortunate for us that the three other families there at the same time as us were all British with kids of similar age as it worked really well, but I think it would still have been fine with mixed nationalities. The grounds immediately around the villa have fig, pomegranate, orange, kiwi and olive trees and are very peaceful. Beaches of the Makarska Riviera are within easy reach (just 15 mins), as is Dubrovnik (easy 2 hour drive). You may think the location is slightly out of the way, but it really isn't, plus the great environment and your friendly hosts far outbalance being on the coast. If you are wondering whether or not Villa Solo is for you, seriously, take the chance and book it - you won't regret it and I'm pretty convinced that you too will only have good things to say about the place when you return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Oustanding hospitality”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 5 nights with my two Sons. Pero and family went out their way to enhance a very memorable stay. The Villa is large and has the feel of a small hotel with all rooms having their own veranda or private terraces.This is complemented with a spacious pool area and garden with numerous common areas all around the property to sit, eat and chill.

The location is rural but only a few miles from some quiet Croatian beach resorts and the main port. It is an area of outstanding beauty surrounded by fig, kiwi and vine fruit -Pero claims he has the best figs in Croatia-and of course the lakes.
It is popular with both travellers staying overnight on their way/back to the holiday islands of Dalmatia as well as others like us using it as a base to visit Mostar, Dubrovnik and Kotor.
We had a two bedroom room with private terrace.The family frequently asked if we had everything we needed and cooked for all one night as a treat,and as the Villa was full it was simple way of pulling everyone together for one night as people are coming and going -the local produced cherry brandy also helped.

I can't remember in nearly 30 years of travelling hospitality as warm and genuine as this experience-only sorry my wife missed this stay.So when returning to Croatia we will only be going to one place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you Kevin for wonderfully review. Hope the European tour finish well :)
All the best to kids and hope to meet your wife next time :)
regards
Pero
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexia w
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Its taken me a while to mull over this review because I cant quite decide how to do it justice. My husband and I decided to book Villa Solo on recommendation and as this was our first holiday abroad with our baby, we wanted to be somewhere we knew would be good. From start to finish our experience was brilliant! Firstly, on arrival, you need to take a step back and appreciate the 30 years of work Mladen has spent building this beautiful villa. Then there is the hospitality you receive from him and his wife Jasna, joining them for drinks and fruit (which they grow on their beautiful land). Then their is their son Pero and his wife who provided so much help and advise on places to visit, directions and hoovers (don't ask!) The villa location is half way between Split and Dubrovnik giving you the ability to visit both amongst lots of other great places. Our apartment was clean, spacious and had beautiful views from all sides. For us though, the kindness and friendliness we received from the whole family at Villa Solo is something you cant buy. It made our first holiday abroad with our daughter practically perfect in every way. Thank you!

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivantomas...
Ploce, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly staff especially contact person”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Beutiful and friendly family guest house with nice view on pictorescu landscape.
Food delicious, lot of parking place, beautiful lake view balcony side, fruit and vegetable
on every corner, owner very friendly and marvelous with touch for sensuality

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing