We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
246
128
35
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
128
35
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest hotel diocletian's palace great location old city within the walls palace walls walking tour hotel entrance noisy at night waterfront promenade triple room air conditioning palace area hotel is modern two nights breakfast is served rooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and initially were disappointed in the original room as it was a twin room and too small. I immediately informed the reception that we had booked a double room but nothing could be done until the next day. I was very pleased that we did receive a bigger room with a king bed and a single ( not that we needed the single ). So my review is based on this room. The decor was modern and the hotel was clean. The reception was friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a good range and staff were friendly. A major plus with this hotel is that you are in the centre of the palace ruins. The peristyle is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. A great range of restaurants and bars are on the doorstep. The shopping strip 5 minutes walk and the port and marina across the road. Location excellent. We had a car the last day of our stay and although we thought that would be a hassle for parking we parked for free near a park 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roamers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile


s from our balcony.

Then at 6 AM the nearby belltower of the cathedral kicks in, with 100+ toll bell. That’s repeated at 7 AM, and for some bizarre reason 7:15 AM. So it’s a built-in alarm clock! Around that time the hand carts restocking the restaurants start being dragged over the alley pebbles adding to the general cacophony of the area. But the Slavij wouldn’t be the only hotel effected by this

As it is the oldest hotel in Split, I was expecting it to reflect that age. Instead it is almost like a boutique minimalist hotel. White walls, basic white furniture and bright red plastic chairs. The bathroom was adequate, but no more than that, limited space to put your bathroom things and a tiny shower in the corner. To be honest the towels would have been better used as bath mats than drying yourself.

The hotel is squeezed into the Diocletian Palace area, which is a mishmash of small buildings inside would have been the original Palace site, the remains of which I think are just part of the exterior walls and the Cathedral and belltower. You can see this from the attached photograph taken from the top of the bell tower with the hotel being the building with three solar panels on its roof.

Getting into the hotel is a bit of a challenge, as cars can’t get inside the palace grounds, so it’s a matter of finding its location through the back alleys over the cobbled alleys. Then there are the 20 steps up to the hotel door, see pictures. I am sure the hotel receptionist will help her bags up the stairs.

It’s location is fantastic. Close to all the attractions and hundreds of restaurants and bars. Also close to the sea front with all its restaurants and bars. Also walkable from the ferry port and bus station which are next to each other.

So overall it has lots of nice touches and some not so good. It gets it’s 4th star due the location to be honest.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it has great reviews and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is placed in the Old town with charming Roman "leftovers". Since the hotel is located in the palace, the rooms are smaller, but we didn't expect anything else in that location. Everything (especially the rooms) is clean, the room with balcony has a beautiful view, the restaurant (which is part of the hotel) has excellent food, and the staff is friendly, helpful and the best we've ever met.
We would definitely come back!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

I can't understand why this hotel has such good reviews. We booked on the basis of the reviews and were very disappointed. The room was small, dark, smelt badly of drains and the carpet was old and dirty. The staff and the breakfast were great, hence some stars but for the price (the most expensive of any we stayed at during our travels including Dubrovnik) it was just not worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't chose any rooms here!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caroline_n_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

This hotel has excellent service and a super excellent location and resturant. Its located inside the palace walls and you can walk to everything. The staff is excellent as well, they are so nice, and so helpful including being helpful before we got there giving us information about the area, and even more helpful when we got there. Melana is an all star!! She is so helpful and so sincere and made our stay better. The breakfast was also very good. Cooked to order eggs are included

The review only allows ratings in whole numbers. This place is excellent but not quite a 5 so I gave it a 3 but really more like 4.6

The only negative of the whole place is I wish they would’ve had room safes Which seemingly could be easily added. Otherwise, the rooms are totally up-to-date even though this is the very oldest hotel in Split.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rehley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews