We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
442
263
53
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
263
53
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass wall diocletian's palace great view of the harbor great location sauna and jacuzzi old town funky hotel small gym wellness centre ferry port highly recommend this hotel two nights the bus modern decor comfortable hotel five minute walk nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed there for 4 days in August. It's really the best choice if you want to live in the center of the city not far from sightseeing attactions and a lot of places to eat. The hotel stands out by its design and service.

"+" location, design, wonderful staff (very friendly, ready to help), free wi-fi in rooms (they give you a password when you check-in), free parking (parking in Croatia is a nightmare and it could be pricy in the citycenter - around 1,3 euro per hour); good breakfast

"-" fungus in the corners around our bathtub (room 403) (it's disgusting for the hotel of this class and price); although we put a 'DO NOT Disturb' sign on the door before going out for a day (we didn't finish unpacking and there were our belongings all over the room) the hotel staff entered the room to check the mini-bar; a small window in the corner of the room (we had a stanard room with a sea view, but sea view was limited because of the elevator cabin); unpleasant smell of burned oil and fried fish coming from a nearby pizzeria (you won't have a chance to enjoy fresh sea breeze coming into you room at night).

But all the advantages of this hotel make over for some minor problems (except fungus, probably it was just in our room). We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view without balcony is limited, if possible book a sea view with a balcony room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at Hotel Luxe. The location is excellent, a stone's throw from the port and the old town. Unlike accommodations within the pedestrian-only old town, the Luxe can be reached by taxi so you won't have to carry your luggage any distance. The hotel is in a renovated building but is contemporary "boutique hotel" in style. All the rooms and public spaces have a modern, gleaming white finish, accented here and there with a touch of purple. The rooms are small but functional and beautifully designed, with comfortable beds and well equipped bathrooms. Higher floors have better views over the port and parts of the city. There is free wi fi in the rooms. A good continental breakfast is included. A special feature of the hotel is the excellent service from the staff. At the reception desk, Ana is a marvel of courtesy and efficiency.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hotel Luxe is a bit pricy, but definetely worth of the value. I was a bit sceptical beforehand about Luxe, due to all praising reviews. Thankfully hotel apperared to be excellent.

We stayed in this hotel five nights in August 2012. We had a "Superiour room with a sea view" on the third floor.

We found the staff very helpful. Also the rooms were very modern. Our room had a balcony towards the harbour, and the view was stunning. Location was also perfect: hotel is nearby the Old town, harbour and train/bus-station. Thankfully it is not too close, so you wont hear the noise.

Altogether Luxe is still quite small. Once you walk out of the front door you´re in the middle of crowded street. Hotel is a perfect choice for a couples, but families with active children should probably consider another place.

Pros:
+ Location. Nearby all the action, but not too close.
+ Modern and clean.
+ Very helpful staff.
+ Silent, although the Old town is nearby.

Cons:
- Breakfast area is rather small and crowded.
- Our room had a shower window towards the bed and the windows of nearby private house were towards our balcony. More demanding and conservative guests may find these solutions annoying. This was´nt a problem to us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mualimanmatkaajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Wonderful location; close to Diocletian's Palace and close to inner city beaches. Wonderful view of water at the port. Well laid out large room with modern colorful design elements and a decent balcony. Good bathroom with sparkly pebbly wall and good bath products. Flat screen TV; wonderful for watching the Olympics. Soft purple blankets; my son went nuts (they should sell these!) Best breakfast of our entire Hungarian/Croatian/Montenegrin tour. Wonderful croissants and crusty breads and rolls. Good cheeses and proscuitto and salami. Fruits and grilled veggies and anchovies. Great capuccino and hot chocolate machine. Very helpful reception staff especially Maja who recommended restaurants and planned our drive from Split to Korcula beautifully.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonLarkspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We couldn't fault our stay at Hotel Luxe in Split. When we arrived at the airport we were picked up by the hotel transfer which cost us about $45 Euro's. We had no idea but Split is a very busy town with a lot going on...

The great thing about Hotel Luxe is it's location, it is only 5 mins walk away from the "Old Town" where all the action is, I personally think that if you were to stay right in the old town it would be very noisy and too hectic.

The facilities at Hotel Luxe are also brilliant, I heard one person say as they were walking past that "This hotel looks like and ipod" and I couldn't think of a better way to describe it. Everything about it is modern, white and very futuristic. They have done a good job to make it look different from other hotels and we found it to be really fun.

There is a beautiful "wellness" centre which has a gym (that looks a bit like a nightclub), sauna, massage room and a huge spa that looks like it is from space! I had a 1 hour full body massage and it was amazing, I would highly recommend to anyone that it was a good $35 Euro's spent.

Breakfast was included with our room and we found this to be a great way to start the day, they had a little bit of everything so we were very happy with the choice.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful, as it turned out we hired a car to drive to our next destination of Dubrovnik and as Split is all "one way" with traffic the lady on reception told us that it would be at least a one hour exercise just to pick up the car from the other side of the old town. She then got on the phone to the place we hired our car and asked them "very sternly" to bring the car to us, which is exactly what happened. It saved us an hour of trying to navigate the streets of Split so we were very happy.

Something that I would like to mention is that when you get to Split (or Croatia in general) it would be a good idea to have some Croatian Kuna, we didn't know that Croatia doesn't really use Euro's as they have their own currency and if you do find somewhere that does accept Euro's they will just do a very basic calculation and round up the price to the approximate cost in Euro's. An easy way to work out the exchange rate from Kuna to Euro is to divide the Kuna by 7.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Luxe and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a nice hotel while they are staying in Split.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussiesHavingFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews