We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“9 days at Hotel Rustica”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Rustica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Rustica
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“9 days at Hotel Rustica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Hotel Rustica downtown Antigua has everything a traveller needs. I learned that the owners also have furnished apartments for rent a few blocks away on the 6th Avenida North. I stayed at these apartments last April to 'test" if it was worthy of a longer stay (a few months in Antigua this coming winter). It's very quiet, clean, safe and modern. Yes, I'm going back to stay there this winter as a home away from home. Maybe I shouldn't tell you this, there may not be any vacancy for my stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trebla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    81
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
29
83
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Casa Rustica for two nights, although it was one night with a two week break, then back again for another night. I booked a single room with private bathroom. I also used the shuttle service booked through the hotel, to go to Copan Ruinas (the first time) then to Panajachel the second time. The first time I checked in was during the afternoon. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I found my room to be clean and the hotel had all amenities I could need (T.V., Wifi, cold beer for purchase in the lobby). There were also laundry facilities which I did not use. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the main square which offers a large choice of restaurants and bars. The second time I checked in was after the hotel "closes" at 8pm. The night watchman was expecting me and checked me in with no issues and was also very pleasant. I had the same rooom and again found it to be clean and welcoming. There were a lot of reviews that I read that mentioned the noise from a nearby bar and a cockeral. Both nights that I stayed was a Friday night. The first Friday, I was so tierd from my travels that while I could certainly hear the music it did not keep me from falling asleep. I noticed the noise more on my second stay. While I would say that it is loud, I had no issues falling asleep. I guess this would be a personal thing as to wether it would bother you or not. The cockeral, while I could hear it slightly, was a non issue for me.

I founf the hotel to be well located, clean, with warm and friendly staff. I would definately stay there again should my travels takes me to Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsUKToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel is super friendly and clean. I was here with my 4 year old and we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel is not as expensive as many of a similar quality and has good communal areas so if you're travelling on your own you can get to know the staff and other guests. It's very handy to have a communal kitchen so that breakfasts, late snacks etc are easy to manage and you don't always have to eat out. The staff keep the place spotlessly clean! Jorge, who works nights was particularly helpful out of hours when I found that my planned travel arrangements had fallen through. He also woke us at 4am when we needed to get to the airport early. I'd recommend this place as safe, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Antigua is a very special place to visit.
This hotel is just around the corner of down town Antigua.
Lots of restaurants within a 10 minute walk.
Friendly staff.
You can book all your tours with them with no additional cost.
Clean rooms; some of them with own bathroom.
Firm mattresses but some are a bit noisy and smaller than a queen size.
Cable TV in the room but don't expect a good quality.
Wi-Fi in the room.
You have to like dogs, they have three very friendly dogs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurucostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playas del Coco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The location is perfect. everything is in walking distance. They do write have a note of apology in the room for the noise in the weekend, so you are warned, but it was blues music and it made us sleep very easily. Very friendly people and super great dogs.
The first thing I noticed was the cleanliness. Super! Wifi and hot water !!! We had a private room with bathroom in the room and for a 4 night we received a good discount even when we broke them up, 2 in the beginning of the trip and 2 at the end! I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
23.3 km away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 82 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#47 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#30 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.5 km away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#23 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rustica

Property: Hotel Casa Rustica
Address: 6th Ave Norte # 8 | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
Price range (per night): $44 - $71
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Rustica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Block from central park, close to the most important sites of our beautiful city. This also gives you a safe, short walk back home every night. All private rooms with private or shared bathrooms, 24hr hot water, lots of natural light, 3 terraces w/beautiful volcano views, gardens w/fountain, beautiful flowers, sitting areas, hammocks, bright Guatemalan colors, use of a shared kitchen, free fast Wi-Fi, Internet computers, cable TV, pool table, laundry, travel services, cafe & espresso offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa Rustica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rustica Hotel
Casa Rustica Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing