We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
226
25
11
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
25
11
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel sister hotel manager miguel clear skies turn down service jetted tub walk in shower upstairs terrace volcan de agua safe hotel large shower great attention spacious room the entire staff special hotel few minutes walk welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel in Antigua this is a great choice. Very quiet and a short walk from the city center. The breakfast is the best I’ve had at any hotel (even in the states!) Rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Service is top notch. The manager, Miguel, is amazing and will care for your every need. Spa and pool are available at the sister hotel, which they will provide you a ride to in the golf cart and is only a few blocks away. The spa is top notch and better than many I’ve visited in the US. Highly recommend. Please go visit and tell Miguel “Buenas” from me!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AmyLFri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Amy,

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. You and Mr. Frier where lovely guests. I am glad that we got to be part of your family visit in Guatemala. We hope to have you next year!

It is a true pleasure serving you and making you vacation something special.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My friends and I stayed in this lovely boutique hotel in Antiqua, Guatemala for three days. On the first day, the manager Miguel showed us around the hotel and told us the history of this heritage hotel. He also recommended us on how to enjoy Antiqua to the fullest, including Semana Santa (Easter processions), volcano trekking and wine & dine options. Even the hotel plants are lovely and Miguel showed us the sweet nectar of orchids. We can also use the facilities of the nearby hotel, including gym and swimming pool. I just had my sunny breakfast in an open air restaurant (they do have inside seating options) and enjoyed it too much that I don't want to go out. Thanks Miguel and other PHH staff. We had a pleasant stay here.
#HighlyRecommended
#ValueForMoney

Room tip: President's suite is Room 3. My friends stayed in this room with jacuzzi! :)
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antarcticaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Antarcticaholic,
Thanks for sharing such glowing review about your most recent stay at Pensativo House Hotel!
Making your stay so comfortable and pleasant is our main purpose, and we are really proud to know your expectations were exceeded.
Hope that you come to visit us again in a near future, we'll always be happy to be your hosts in this Magical City.
Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This hotel is beautifully maintained and charming. Set in a colonial house (we were told it was the home of a former president of Guatemala) with nice courtyards and terraces. Rooms are quite large and well appointed. The restaurant food is quite good although service is a bit slow. They will also be flexible and prepare additional things if you ask. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful and knew our names within a day. The hotel does not have a pool although you have access to the very nice pool at their sister hotel, the Porta, a block away. Pensativo is fairly well located, about 5 blocks walk from the central square. Make sure to walk up to the upstairs terrace to take in the excellent volcano views, especially in the early morning. Unfortunately they do not have any bar or coffee service up there although there are some nice tables/chairs.

Room tip: Suites are extremely large with separate living rooms
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DW123418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your kind comments regarding your most recent visit to Pensativo House Hotel. We are taking note of the areas of opportunity you've pointed out so we can assure Best in Class Service to all of our guests as they deserve.
Hope that you come to stay again with us soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding last week. The resort is very nice, clean and had great food. I would recommend this hotel to anybody traveling to Antigua, also a great location for a wedding.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LightPacker302796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you so much for sharing such great comments about our service and facilities. We hope you come to visit us again soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We spent three nights here while visiting our daughter in Antigua. The grounds were beautiful and there were some great views from the terrace though not from our room. But that was fine. We had a nice room with two queen beds, a large bathroom with two sinks, a large shower and a Jacuzzi (which we didn't use since they told us we had to ask them to fill it and turn it on) and a small, private courtyard. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating (particularly Miguel) and we had a wonderful time.
The only downside was that the walls between the rooms must have had no insulation and the people adjacent to us had two small children that yelled and cried all the time. That was incredibly annoying at night and early in the morning. They really need to think about things like that when assigning guest to rooms. And there was a wedding scheduled for Saturday and with all the guests arriving Thursday night, there was a lot of activity Friday morning. Again, it wouldn't have been a problem but when a group of folks are all having a conversation in the common area between rooms and the walls don't provide any insulation, we were awakened much earlier than we planned.
The room safe wasn't working when we got there (apparently the previous guest left with the key) but Miguel got us another key the same day we requested it. The only other issue we had was that with three registered guests, for some reason we only had two sets of towels. We asked for a third set the next day and got three hand towels but only two washcloths...Something like this should be that difficult. A little more attention to details like these would take this property to the next level and might make the difference between a return visit and someone choosing to try someplace different the next time they're in Antigua.
Overall, we had a great time, the one time we ate at the restaurant the food was excellent, the property was very pretty.and the staff were very nice.

Room tip: Ask for a room not near people with small children!
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 76012MikeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Michael S,
We appreciate so much the time that you've taken to share your experience with the traveler community on Trip Advisor.
Your comments really help our team to work on this areas of oportunnity that for sure will take our service to the next level.
We really hope that you come to visit us again soon and experience the difference!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews