We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Volcan de Agua
from USD 49.00
More Info
from USD 81.05
More Info
from USD 1,362.23
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
69
30
9
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
30
9
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa maria once in a lifetime active volcano robbers plume clouds bandits smoke tienda guide rocks path arch crater framing hike descent
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

So photogenic. Really great to see this, and even better to get a photograph of it surrounded by the Arch in the city.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank monkeypuzzle0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

This is clearly seen from most of the City and is amazing. Has not erupted for many years but like most volcanoes the threat is there. We stopped for photos at one with a wisp of smoke coming over from the cruise port.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank george650000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Hiked this five times during my stay in Antigua. Take bus from Antigua to Santa Maria de Jesus and register at the tourist office in the corner of the main square. The buses are very regular, almost one after another, from Antigua bus station from 5am onwards, only 4Q one way. Your ticket to climb the mountain costs 40Q for foreigners. The office has a toilet. I was generally at the office about 6am and other hikers were already there. Arrange to share a guide to reduce cost if you wish but realise that you will be restricted to the slowest persons pace. A guide will cost you 200Q, and is advisable. I personally didn't use a guide thinking that a solo hiker would hardly be worth taking the trouble to rob. Additionally 200Q, although incredibly cheap seemed a lot just for me. I had no problems and heard of no incidents. I was very surprised to read the previous review as it would seem this happened during my stay. Everyone I met on the path was freindly and the climb is popular on Saturdays and Sundays. Couldn't say for weekdays. You should be at the crater within 3 to 5 hours. Great veiwpoints all the way up. Make the extra effort to carry on up the path past the crater to the very top for spectacular views of volcanos Acatanango and Fuego. (Clouds permitting). Struggled a bit towards the top with the altitude. In heavy cloud the path becomes wet and very slippy. The climb is achievable with a moderate level of fitness but by no means easy. Take an extra layer to stay warm at the top and a few coins for a coffee at the "Tienda" 2/3 of the way up. The descent is not as fast as some because it is steep and there is a lot of loose rocks so some care is needed. If hiking is your thing don't miss this one and the guide only costs the equivalent of a sandwich in Fort Lauderdale airport! Santa Maria is worth a look too, lot less gringos and more authentic, if somewhat dirtier, than Antigua. On a Saturday a meal of rice, veg and empanadas is no more than 10Q from the stalls in the main square and there's plenty of seating too. All in all a cracking day but don't plan anything too strenuous the day after!

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank SeeJay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

This volcano can be done in an overnight hike (some can do it all in one day, not me). You need a guide for safety reasons.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Will keep this brief. Turned down a guide, bot robbed by masked dudes with machetes and a shotgun. "They" told us it had been three years since a similar incident, only to come home, google, and read about the elderly German hiker that was shot twice earlier in the year. I smell rats.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank oracle2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews