We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,722)
Filter reviews
1,722 results
Traveller rating
1,265
291
90
32
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,265
291
90
32
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santo domingo chocolate factory hotel museum beautiful hotel star hotel grounds are amazing hotel guests small balcony breakfast buffet standard room magical place central america guatemala city an oasis visiting antigua monastery candles
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 1,722 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

My wife and I travel extensively. We have stayed in high end and low end properties all over the word. This Casa del Santo Domingo rates at or very near the top for us. We had no idea when we booked how fabulous this place was. You MUST stay there once to realize how extraordinary this hotel is. A++++

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank OKLonghorn_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGarcia2017, Director de Recepción at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for such a beautiful review, it means a lot to us knowing that you enjoyed our services. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Stayed here for 2 days after a 2 week mission in San Mateo. We were a group of Medical professionals who were exhausted and ready for some TLC. Hotel was beautiful. Grounds were like being in a museum. Food was good. Service was good. People were friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGarcia2017, Director de Recepción at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our hotel.
We hope you come back in a near future, it will be a pleasure to have you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Absolutely breath taking. Everything was top notch, extremely impressed with everything!! There is so much to do and see. The location is awesome and in walking distance of the market and great restaurants. The views are so beautiful. I wish I would have brushed up on my Spanish prior to coming, communicating seemed to be the only barrier.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abrennan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGarcia2017, Director de Recepción at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, we strive to deliver the best service and make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Santo Domingo SPA Living is the best way to relax and pamper yourself. The service is great... I highly recommend the massages. The facilities in all the hotel are beautiful and very Antigua style. I dah a great time and hope to return in a future near by.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank martaalonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGarcia2017, Director de Recepción at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you so much for your review, it is a pleasure to know you had a great stay and we also hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

The place is absolutely beautiful, however the management has no idea of customer service and apparently they have no intentions to operate as an international hotel. I reached out to this hotel to host our corporate event, because I stayed once in the past and I loved it (event though they wake you up at 7:00 am just to check if everything is okay with your room). So I asked the sales department to book 16 guest rooms and a conference room with drinks, food and audiovisuals for 5 days but unfortunately we got stuck into many issues:

1. They said at the beginning that they don't accept American Express, which is a big issue for many corporate cardholders. Then, when we had to reach out to the general manager they changed the speech arguing that they never mentioned they don't accept AMEX.

2. We accepted to pay with Visa and Mastercard but they wanted us to pay the whole booking of the group prior to the arrival, even though we had signed a contract and gave them a credit card with enough space to make a hold for the complete group stay.

3. They made us provide our personal credit cards to make a "hold" but they actually charged us the booking, which means the lied. So each member of the group paid their stay before traveling.

4. Now they wanted us to pay for the conference room and food & drinks of the event. To which we again responded that there was a contract signed already, they had a credit card to guarantee the payment, and due to corporate policies we cannot pay before the execution of the event or without being present. So we asked them to please be a little bit more flexible and let us pay once we arrived.

5. 3 days before the arrival, we had to call the general manager to see if she could do something as we already paid for the guest rooms and were only asking to give us a chance to pay for the event at the time of the arrival (which was only around $2000 dollars). But what we found, was a very disrespectful woman yelling that she was one of the owners of the hotel and that we were lying when we said that they didn't accept AMEX. So we had to cancel our stay 3 days before 16 people from 6 countries had arrived.

The only good thing is that they did reimburse our money after many calls and emails.

Room Tip: Not recommendable for corporate events
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGarcia2017, Director de Recepción at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you very much for your comment and I think you did not receive the correct information at the beginning and we are sorry. I really appreciate your post and if you give us the opportunity of having your event in the future we will make sure everything is perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews