We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,722)
Filter reviews
1,722 results
Traveller rating
1,265
291
90
32
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,265
291
90
32
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santo domingo chocolate factory hotel museum beautiful hotel star hotel grounds are amazing hotel guests small balcony breakfast buffet standard room magical place central america guatemala city an oasis visiting antigua monastery candles
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 1,722 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife had heard of the Casa Santo Doningo from a member of her local Rotary International club. He said that despite the more expensive rates (average per night around $200), we would definitely enjoy the experience. Checking on line she found that on Sunday nights only the rate for a jacuzzi suite was only $137, so she booked it. When we arrived from the airport the place did not look like anything special from the outside. This I have learned is common in Antigua. On the outside, most places look the same. It's when you go inside that the distinct beauty appears. It's similar to how Dorothy must have felt in the Wizard of Oz when she opened the door after landing in Munchkin land. The gardens are beautiful and everywhere, even covering many of the walkways. If you are a registered guest at the hotel, you get free admission to the museums on the grounds.
We spent hours touring the grounds and museums.
Our suite was very large with a fireplace and a small balcony overlooking the courtyards below (where we enjoyed our complimentary coffee in the morning) The jacuzzi was located in its own separate spacious room with a skylight which added to the romantic atmosphere.
The staff was very attentive.

Room Tip: Sunday night rates were the best bargain we could find at Casa Santo Domingo
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Excellent hotel, beautifully restored old convent, very good food.
In one word : marvellous !

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I was part of a medical mission trip and our group stayed a few nights in this hotel located in Antigua, Guatemala. Most of our nights were spent within our hosts school compound. So having never been to Guatemala, I didn't know what to expect! The hotel opened in 1989, and was previously a convent. The architecture is beautiful and the rooms are tastefully decorated. The staff was very informed and we were treated graciously. There is a swimming pool, spa, sauna. You can also arrange to join a tour of the area. The onsite museum is well worth the visit. The Archaeological Museum contains many pieces dating back to Classical Period (200-900 AD), The Colonial Museum permits an exposition dating back to the 17th. century. I found the collections very interesting and gave me more insight into the Mayan culture. Santo Domingo is site for recent Archeological investigations.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

On a recent vacation stay in Antigua we stayed at the Casa Santo Domingo. It is a converted convent (1989) with extensive gardens containing beautiful flora and pet macaws, areas for conventions, artifacts on display, and spacious and well-appointed rooms. It is located East of the Central Plaza at some distance so walking at night from the centre of the city back to the hotel is probably ill-advised because of the overall crime that can be a reality in Antigua. Nonetheless we walked alertly with another adult and did not feel particularly threatened. In the daytime it is a nice distance from the city core so it is a quiet oasis.
Our room was pleasant although the lighting was a bit dark. We had a wood-burning fireplace which added a cozy touch. The bathroom was spacious and very well appointed although their was some aging and perhaps mouldy grout (it is a humid climate) and our particular shower door leaked copiously - all minor. The staff were universally friendly and helpful; well presented and the overall level of cleanliness was good. The spacious hallways were quiet and contemplative gardens were everywhere. We did not use the pool which looked a little tired in terms of overall cleanliness but on a sunnier day it would have been very inviting. There is a nearby parkade with a linking tunnel with small shops, and a very secure service.
Had we more time to stay we believe the historical tours of the site would have been well worth taking. In a country where luxury is harder to find, Casa Santo Domingo was well worth the stay

Room Tip: Ask for second floor towards the back of the site but not on the plaza, or overlooking the pool/gardens. Leave a car in the secure parkade.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank activeseniorsKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with others about our Hotel - in particular the one regarding our swimming pool. We want to let you know that we will begin its remodellation in the next weeks and hope you can enjoy it next time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

love this place, i stayed here a couple of times and it has awesome rooms, food etc. etc. etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennethBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews