We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just a Hotel, It's an Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Earth
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not Just a Hotel, It's an Experience”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Casa Santo Domingo is a destination all by itself. Not only does this former monestary offer the visitor to Antigua a wonderful hotel and oasis from the activity of the city, it offers outstanding gardens and museums. It was a treat to be able to experience a stay here. Whether walking the candle lit corridors and gardens in the evening or sitting in the candle lit bar or restaurant, a person is able to absorb the quiet and beauty of the surroundings. Staying at this hotel simply feels good. After checking into the hotel the visitor passes through an arbor of trailing orchids on the way to the rooms. It was beautiful! The rooms are very large and clean with a small balcony that contains a table and chairs. The rooms also had a fireplace with a wood fire set and ready to be lit. The bathroom was spacious and contained ammenities of every kind. The beds were comfortable and the hotel offered guests a choice of pillow types. My only crticism is that the lighting in the rooms was not good. The ceilings are high and have dark wood. Though there were several different lights in the room, it was still too dark to read well or find things in my suitcase. Sections of the hotel were set up in the Spanish style of rooms surrounding a patio, which in this case was a lovely garden. Though I did not have a chance to use it, there is a pretty pool area on the property. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and interested in meeting any need that their guests might have. The attention paid to detail at Santo Domingo made this hotel an exceptional destination for my 3 night stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konstanzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    229
    73
    24
    31
See reviews for
232
417
67
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have just spent four nights at this wonderful hotel. Having traveled all over the world, we rate this as the best place we've ever stayed. Rooms were beautiful, clean, spacious. Staff was friendly and courteous. The grounds phenomenal. If you visit Antigua, you must stay here.

Room Tip: We checked various types and would recommend them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbacoInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have read many of the preceding reviews and I would not like to repeat the raves I have read. But I must say that this is an exceptional experience. The grounds are unforgettable. We had been advised to try the "Tenedor de Cerro", the hotel's off site restaurant. We arrived after dark and decided, despite some fatigue, to go for it. The hotel
provides complimentary transportation to and from the restaurant in what they refer to as a "tuk tuk"....really an open air jitney. It is about a 10-15 minute ride up a curving mountain road to a really fine adjunct property and finally to the "Fork on the Hill". We had a most satisfying meal of authentic Italian cuisine, served as expertly as one would be served in a fine Roman restaurant. The wine list consisted primarily of south american (Chilean and Argentine) selections and the list, while not extensive was more than adequate. We had a lovely Chilean Sauvignon Blanc. We were able to eat very well indeed, for a surprisingly reasonable price and were returned expeditiously to the hotel afterward. The rooms are very pleasant......the baths a bit outmoded but the water was hot and with good pressure. Internet is with ethernet cable, complimentary......and seemed fine for a time.....but did fade in and out at times. Who knows why? The really memorable feature of this property is the expert service. I have rarely seen more attentive and excellent attention to guest satisfaction. Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: not concerning the rooms, but if you're going to ride the "tuk tuk" to the "Tened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

What a refreshing change from generic business hotels! The rooms are quite a bit different than your typical hotel - very comfortable and it seems every one has its own garden patio. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well-maintained - the local multicolored parrots, guacamaya, are put out every day to rule the roost. The breakfast buffet is massive, with a mix of local and touristic (American) offerings. You can have black beans and fried plantains for breakfast, or you can have a Denver omelette.

All employees were helpful and courteous, even as I was traveling in a group of about 85, they were patient in the extreme with us. The property is quiet - I would say serene. From the street, there is no indication. Like most of Antigua, its beauty lies behind the walls.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our stay here was incredible. It was the perfect way to end our trip! The grounds are well maintained and the rooms are huge! The walkways to the rooms are just beautiful and our room had a fireplace which was perfect for the chilly nights. The breakfast buffet was delicious but a little pricey.

If you have time take the shuttle to their restaurant on the hill. The views of the City and the Volcano's are incredible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXglobetrotter_DUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
858 reviews
1.1 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
304 reviews
1.5 km away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#17 of 75 in Antigua
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price range (per night): $144 - $861
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing