We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
6
4
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
4
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Just 2 1/2 blocks from the plaza containing the "Iglesia y Convento de Nuestra Senora de la Merced," and 6 1/2 blocks from the "Parque Central," you pay only Q100 ($13) for a nice clean room with a double bed, TV, private bath, and shower (with instant-on hot water). The interior patio provides a nice sitting/reading area; there also is a kitchen and tables on the upper level for eating, reading, etc. Wi-Fi is free. It is only 1/2 block from Fernando's Kaffee which has great breakfasts and lunches, a large variety of chocolates, some wines, and a friendly cat. The nearby plaza has several restaurants and bars, travel agencies, small stores, and outdoor food vendors on weekends. In sum, Casa Los Arcos provides low-cost secure accomodations within walking distance of many cafes, bars, tour agencies, and Central Antigua.
Tour operators and micro-buses to the airport in Guatemala City (45 minutes away) will pick you up at the door.

Room Tip: First, find the intersection of 7a Av Norte and Callejon Camposeco (also Fernando's Kaffee), go West 1/2 block; Casa Los Arcos is on the left, also has a sign. "Laundry." Best rooms probably are the two downstairs on the west side or upstairs toward the back (a bar, which may be a bit noisy on the weedends is in the front under the upstairs rooms.). Unlike other places, roosters crowing in the morning are a few blocks away and thus not a problem. As anywhere, the city wakes up around 6:00.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank P1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there with friends, is a nice place and price is cheaper than the most of hostels. We recommend it. The room is comfortable and clean, has a private bathroom and warm shower. The kitchen is small but well equipped. Location is near of central park of antigua around 5 minutes

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed here during peak spring break/Holy Week season for a couple of nights, so this definitely should be taken into consideration, as cynical price-gouging and poor service rule Antigua at this time. However, still, price per night was expensive-beyond-cynical, mid-range peak season hotel level pricing for this hostel experience (I arrived unexpectedly without having time to make pre travel arrangements). No towels in room. No change of linens. No hot water in shower. Wi-fi barely functioning. Attached bar area full of loud folks without shirts or shoes until 1-2 am.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coprinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a couple of days and we felt really warm and cosy. Inside casa there is a nice little patio, full of flowers. Location is good, a bit off from central Antigua, but quiet though. Lady owner is nice, it's not bad if you know some spanish words. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klavdij L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed for almost a month here in 'Casa Los Arcos' where we received a recommendation of fellow family travelers.
There's a kitchen(tiny, and there are occasional cockroaches), and our room was slightly tight for four people but functioning well, with a fridge, desk, closet and attached bathroom(there were frequent problems with the toilet though, the water won't build up in the closet! We had to open the cover often to close the plug. A normal toilet would have done this automatically). Sometimes there was no water as early as 10 in the night and also there was sometimes only lukewarm showers instead of hot ones but this is Guatemala. The cleaning lady cleaned our room once a week, she did a good job but we wished she would clean more often. But no major problem with the room. Besides there are chairs and desks out that gives a great view of Volcan de Agua. And plenty of place to hang our laundry. Perhaps about 15 minutes or so by walk to the centro, or the market and the big supermarket 'La Bodegona'.
Now here's the problem: the owner. She's an old lady who mostly has no problems with us. She speaks zero English which can be a bit of a problem if you don't speak Spanish and have to argue about your room. The problem is she keep changing her words! She takes a reservation and later she says 'come later to make sure'. There was even one situation when she took a reservation and then gave the booked room to someone else(another family's story, no doubt made them very angry). Not to mention her sometimes sour personality. She was the main reason why we did not come back after we left the place.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Unyeondong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews