We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Mid Island home!”
'Incandescence' - 5 BR House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Incandescence' - 5 BR House
Approach to 'Incandescence' - the 5BR House Rockers on the House's Front Porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
'Incandescence' - 5 BR House
Approach to 'Incandescence' - the 5BR House
Rockers on the House's Front Porch
Wicker Seating on the House's Front Porch
Spacious and Sunny Living Room
Dramatic, sky-high cathedral ceilings
Another part of the living room
Sunny dining room w/ seating for 8. (Seating for 4 more just through the French doors...)
House Kitchen
House Kitchen
Inviting kitchen stools
Sunny Dining Room with Seating for 8
daffodils from our garden
House ~ Living Room w Dining Table for 4 more
House - Master Bedroom - 2nd floor
House - Master Bedroom - 2nd floor
House - Master Bedroom - 2nd floor
House - Master Bedroom - 2nd floor
House - MBR - Private Balcony/Deck
Master bedroom balcony
View from Master BR Balcony
House - Master Bathroom
Master bath
House ~ King Bedroom Suite - 1st floor
House ~ King Bedroom Suite - 1st floor
House ~ King Bedroom Suite - 1st floor
House ~ Full Bedroom Suite - 1st floor
House ~ Full Bedroom Suite - 1st floor
House ~ Twin Bedroom Suite made up as a King - 1st floor
Third Floor nook
Nook under the stairs
Side View of House
House - Back Deck
House - Back Yard - Hammock
Side view of House
Welcome to 'Lesser Light'! (Cottage shares same 3 acres but rents separately from house.) # 5416141
'Lesser Light' Cottage ~ Bedroom Detail
Cottage Exterior
Cottage - Main Room - Cathedral Ceilings
Cottage Kitchen
Cottage Bedroom - Cathedral Ceilings
Cottage Bedroom - Another View
Cottage Main Room and Dining Area
Cottage Kitchen Cabinetry
Cottage Environs
Cottage Deck
Cottage Deck
Cottage - A hammock for you and a doghouse for your pup . . .
Cottage Kitchen
Cottage Sleeping Alcove - Futon Opens to Double Bed
Cottage - Main Room
Cottage Bathroom
Cottage Front Garden
Cottage Deck Detail
Cottage Deck Detail
Shell Driveway
View of Gardens from the House's Front Porch
House Living Room
House Living Room Stairway
View from Master BR Balcony
House - First Floor Bedroom Hallway
House - First Floor Bedroom Hallway
House - A Guest Bathroom
House - A Guest Bathroom
Front View of House
House - Exterior Detail
View from House Widows Walk
View from House Widows Walk
House - Exterior Detail
House - Exterior Detail
House - Front Porch at Night
The sky over 'Incandescence'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Nantucket, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katy N
Stratford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
“Perfect Mid Island home!”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have been going to Nantucket for several years now and this was our first year staying at Incandesence. We were a party of 12- 8 adults and 4 kids. This house was perfect for our group. We had enough space to comfortably gather while at the same time we never felt on top of each other. We had a great time cooking dinners, lounging in the hammock, and the kids loved running around and chasing the bunnies in the yard! It was the perfect mid island location. Away from the hustle and bustle but very convenient to the store, restaurants and beaches. Lauren and Ron were great hosts! We had a great time mACKing memories at Incandescence

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelle T
1 review
“Private, Perfect Summer Oasis!”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We rented Incandescence for 4th of July week with our group of friends and had the greatest time. Ron and Lauren were beyond accommodating and were quick to fix any issues we had. The house is spacious, private, and beautiful - absolutely perfect for a bigger group or large families. So nice to not be on top of each other in a rental home, and we also loved that it was a little secluded, especially with how crazy the town gets during the 4th! About a 20-30 minute bike ride into both the town or the nearby Tom Nevers beach (probably one of my favorites in Nantucket!). This house will hold a very special place in our hearts and we highly recommend to anyone looking for a great getaway!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliM2081
1 review
“Beautiful home on a perfect island!”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a wonderful time at Incandescence over Labor Day Weekend! The home was beautiful and extremely well maintained. We had 11 people (4 "couples" and 3 "singles") sleep very comfortably. For having so much space, the home is still full of charm! For example, there is an "widow's watch" on the roof providing a gorgeous 360 degree view of the island.

Lauren & Ron's home has it all – a hammock, an adorable front porch, a killer grill, adorable decor, and the list goes on (there's even a game cabinet for rainy days)!

There is a bike path entrance very close by, so we were able to rent bikes and ride for 15 minutes down to the quaint town & beaches in Sconset. We didn't have a car on the island, but there is a WAVE bus stop right outside the house which took us into town a few times.

Nantucket is amazing – we enjoyed Cisco Brewery, Tom Nevers Beach, Sconset walking path, and dinners downtown. We unfortunately had a bit of bad weather at the end of the trip, but Lauren & Ron were very accommodating and let us rent for another day since the ferries were cancelled.

Overall, we loved our stay and would highly recommend it to a group of girlfriends, a family, or a few couples looking for a nice place to stay on the island. Hopefully we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything... the home in general
Liked least: the ice machine was slow :)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen w
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“breathtaking”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband, myself and our 3 married children and grandchildren stayed in this beautiful home the last week of July. The home is roomy and comfortable. There was plenty of space for for all 12 of us. The home and grounds are beautiful. It is very quiet and peaceful. We exercised daily on the beautiful bike baths. If it rains, it is a very comfortable and clean home to spend your time Lauren & Ron are a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend this home for a wonderful vacation.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
It is hard to say which we love more: when families like yours come three or four generations strong and everyone has a great time or when we talk to the great-grandfolks who tell tales about when they first visited the Island eight decades back. Nantucket is a place that can get into your heart and stay there forever. It's lovely to see young children catching the magic from their grandfolks. I hope we'll be seeing them - and the grandchildren soon-to-come - sometime again. It's a great summer ritual.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee1028
Paradise Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
“Incandesence was the perfect home for our family vacation on Nantucket!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

There was plenty of room for 8 adults and 4 young children. The house exceeded our expectations. It was beautifully decorated and had a fully stocked kitchen- including two big lobster pots! The master bedroom was particularly luxurious with its own private porch, huge shower, and jacuzzi tub. We loved the secluded location with its big wrap- around front porch and hammock - yet we were just minutes away from a beautiful beach and the charming town of Sconset. The owners were fantastic and responded immediately when we requested more propane for the gas barbecue. We would definitely recommend Incandesence to our family and friends and hope to return someday ourselves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
It's hard to cook lobsters for 12 in a single pot! As guests make comments and suggestions we are always listening and always trying to making things a little closer to perfect for their vacation stay. We would love to have you back again: maybe even for the (famous) Christmas Stroll or Daffodil Weekend!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing