We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving on the Island!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jared Coffin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jared Coffin House
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Evans City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving on the Island!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We went to the island Friday after Thanksgiving. My wife's family and I enjoyed a great stay. Rooms were very clean. Bathroom was great, and there was even a pullout bed for our son. Great location friendly staff!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    81
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
29
130
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Just a few weeks back me fiance and I spent the weekend at the Jared Coffin house in Nantucket. The weekend was nice as always on Nantucket(even in the winter) and the location of Jared coffin house was great....just a few blocks from the fast ferry.

HOWEVER, the hotel itself though beautiful and quaint... the walls in the main building in the rooms are paper thin to say the least. The bed...nice, the staff friendly, the room clean.... but holy crap we could seriously hear every word of the conversations in both rooms that surrounded ours. We are not pickey people... we get up early and are not bothered by things like this but if you are going there to sleep in and hope for quiet mornings...this is not the place. The only other thing I would say is that in the summer if we paid the HIGH season price to stay here I would have been much more dissapointed then we were paying the december price.

Nantucket was and is an amazing place anytime of the year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KOB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Nantucket in November is an interesting time to visit. Coming off season definitely has its perks and drawbacks. The stay at the Jared Coffin House was amazing. It is a great location just a short walk from the pier with a very friendly staff. Our room was a great size but the beds could have been more comfortable.

The staff offered to help make reservations in advance but we opted to make them upon our arrival. We definitely recommend Lola 41. It's one of the few places open and it gets crowded on the weekends. If it's still warm, its also worth renting a bike and heading to the brewery. The staff at Youngs is very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlillie308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed in a small room with single bed in the main building. Just enough room for one. Bed was comfortable with soft pillows. Being late in the season the crowds were sparse and so was the street noise. Located a short walk from the pier and at the end of one of the main shopping streets in Nantucket. Hotel has a restaurant and bar which were closed at the time of my visit. Breakfast isn't much so you may need to go out for the morning meal. The staff was exemplary in making sure everything was to my satisfaction.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingwestI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

A great bed and breakfast (almost large enough to be a hotel). Has bar and restaurant in the main building. Terrific location in town within walking distance to the docks, shops, restaurants, etc. Beautiful and atmospheric building and rooms. Only issue was the mattress in our room. It sloped down in the middle so we spent the whole night either very, very close or climbing the outer sides of the mattress to get some breathing room. Avoid room 408 or ask if they have changed out the mattress!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, General Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Nancy T - thank you for feedback regarding the mattress in room 408. I apologize for the inconvenience you incurred and please know we have replaced the mattress with a new one. Thank you for the kind words otherwise and on behalf of the entire team at the JC, we thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jim Storey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
4.2 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 km away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.4 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
10.0 km away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#10 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jared Coffin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jared Coffin House

Property: Jared Coffin House
Address: 29 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554-6116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price range (per night): $229 - $807
Hotel Class:4 star — Jared Coffin House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Main House of this historic hotel dates back to 1845 and was the home of an affluent whaling captain. Today, this historic hotel welcomes guests to the Main House and directly next door, to the Daniel Webster House. Guests will find modern amenities with the newly refurbished library/parlor--where complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air-conditioned. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Guest rooms have been updated with stunning traditional-style furniture. With the hotel's superb location, just steps from boutiques and excellent restaurants, guests enjoy wandering the cobblestone streets or visiting the many nearby museums and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jared Coffin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jared Coffin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing