We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Our go-to for easy boat rental on ACK

I'm a long-time ACK visitor and two-time IBR customer. Easy to book, easy to operate boats and a... read more

Reviewed 14 July 2018
rdski17
,
Massachusetts
Lovely time with Captain Tom!

We rented a boat to go meet the Figawi sailboats as they were finishing the race over Memorial... read more

Reviewed 3 June 2018
bedandy
,
Montpellier
Read all 7 reviews
  
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
7
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 14 July 2018

I'm a long-time ACK visitor and two-time IBR customer. Easy to book, easy to operate boats and a really convenient location. Great for kids if you know how to operate a small boat. Our favorite outing is pulling up to the beach on the East side of First Point in Coatue, and walking around the harbor channel side of the Point. Tide pools, lots of crabs for the kids to see, a beautiful view of town, and shallow, warm water to play in.Bring your water shoes as there are a lot of shells where you pull up, but plenty of smooth sand once you walk around the Point.

1  Thank rdski17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

We rented a boat to go meet the Figawi sailboats as they were finishing the race over Memorial weekend, and we had a fabulous time. We weren't comfortable manning the boat on our own, being very green sailors ourselves, and having Captain Tom take us out on the water was really a great idea: stress-free, nice person, flexible and the experience was perfectly reasonable $$. We had a nice picnic (remember to pack something for yourself, nothing is available on the boat) and we managed to get great shots of the boats, including one our friends were sailing on. It was really a great day.

Thank bedandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

These guys are great!!! I have gotten a boat a couple of times now, when on island.
It is great for a day at a remote beach, fireworks, touring the island from the water or taking a sunset cruise with some wine and cheese form the nearby Table No. 1.
And for those less comfortable on the water, they even have a driver on hand if you aren't comfortable driving it yourself.

2  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Perfect way to see Nantucket. A few times we have grabbed sandwiches & friends to make a day of boating and hitting up remote beaches on Nantucket -- nearly impossible to get to any other way. The staff is always willing to offer up suggestions with maps provided on the boats. They can tell you where to go whether you want to cruise, fish, kite surf or swim. Grab a boat & have a blast!

Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Renting a boat at Island Boat Rental was the best way to get to know Nantucket. In one day, we explored the boats in the harbor, went out to Coutue - a beach with a bird sanctuary that is only accessible by boat, went clamming, hung out in the water and swam, and zipped out to the lighthouse. I felt like we got to experience places and do things that only people who have been to the island lots of times, or are locals go to or do.

The owners and staff at Island Boat Rental are locals with intimate knowledge of the island. They can give you ideas about fun stuff to do depending on what your interests are. Plus IBR's location at the bottom of Straight Wharf couldn't be better.

The boats are fun to drive and exactly what you want for a fun day out on the water. We were with friends, but this would be a great activity for families as well.

Thank kroneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I have rented boats from Island Boat Rentals dozens of times over the years. Jimbo, Patrick, and crew always have the boats clean, in great shape, and ready to go! I could not recommend this experience any higher. Being able to show up at the dock, load up, and take off is a luxury that even few boat owners can enjoy.
Not sure where to go? These guys are happy to help, and direct you to the best way to spend your day. Do yourself a favor and get on the water with Island Boat Rental!

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Great day activity when your group wants to do more than sit on a beach. You can fish or go explore quieter beaches. Awesome views of the island and great to be on the water on a super hot summer day. Jim at the boat stand is informative with suggestions of best places to go for your group.

Thank JacksonNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews