We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Survey54
Sydney, Australia

A home away from home.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 June 2024
Poinciana Cottages are close to the airport but do not suffer from any airport noise whatsoever. The planes do not fly overhead and from the cottages you cannot hear them take off or land. The cottages are situated down a short gravel driveway from the main street, along which is a level concrete footpath which makes the short walk into town quite pleasant (but use the supplied torch if walking at night, as there are no streetlights!). Each cottage is very private with a calming, restful view from the verandah, over well-maintained green fields to Mount Bates. Our recently painted 'Daisy' cottage was fully equipped to a superior standard, making it truly a home away from home for us. The cottage has a bedroom with a HUGE bed and a wardrobe with good hanging space and drawers; large modern bathroom with a great, roomy shower; separate washing machine and tub; kitchen with full fridge, convection/microwave oven, two-burner cooktop, single-drawer dishwasher; dining area; lounge room with TV, CD player, books, overhead fan and gas heater and a verandah with an outdoor setting. A mobile phone for use during your stay as you cannot use your own phone to call (or receive calls from) Norfolk Island numbers - although we could still use our own mobile phone to receive/ring Australian numbers. There is a clothes horse on the verandah and clothes line under the carport. The adjoining carport was a unique and very handy bonus compared to other Norfolk Island accommodation. There is a separate fully equipped common BBQ area. Even though the cottages are serviced once a week, we were supplied with two complete sets of bath towels so we could change them mid-week. The owners Jackie and Peter are lovely people - very unobtrusive but doing all they can to make sure you have a great time. Staying at Poinciana Cottages was a very memorable experience for all the right reasons - faultless and the most complete holiday accommodation experience that we have ever had.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Unit 12
1.4 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Seaview Norfolk Island has stunning ocean views
1.5 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.8 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Shearwater looks over historic Kingston, Emily and Slaughter bays.
3.0 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Spa
King beds, hardwood floors
1.2 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.0 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Pool
1.9 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Welcome to Paradise
1.8 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Pool
BBQ
2.3 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
View more hotels in Norfolk Island
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
69
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
69
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews daisy cottage washing machine home away from home hire car quiet at night place to stay comfy bed lounge area short drive jackie hosts week island views balcony cupboard kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2024

Separate bungalows (5 only) keep any sound from the neighbours to a minimum. Under cover car parking between bungalows. Breakfast on the veranda looking to the west over a grassy field with chickens feeding and wandering is delightful. Beds are comfortable. No espresso machine but French press is available. 1 Km walk to town, with coffee shop, butchers with best fruit on the island only 200 m away. Helpful non- intrusive owner readily available. Wifi, microwave oven, modern TV, radio, local mobile telephone. Main bedroom and bed-setter. Would visit again.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2024

We really loved this place. First of all, the location was excellent. It is literally just across the road from the airport terminal, right on the edge of the small town. Everything in town is within easy walking distance (3-15 minutes). The location is quiet, peaceful and scenic. Our cottage was 1 of 5 free-standing cottages on the property, all set in a row looking out to the rolling hills and pine-studded paddocks. Each unit has its own carport and comes with a nice little car to get around the island – really a nice set-up. The 1-bedroom cottage was spacious and bright, with plenty of windows and a nice veranda. The kitchen was fully functional, complete with fridge, stove, oven, microwave, toaster, coffee-maker, dishwasher, etc. The living room was very comfortable with a nice TV and the Wifi internet was fast and dependable. We loved the fact that there was a clothes washer and dryer in the unit. We had no complaints whatsoever and found the whole place to be comfortable and functional. Our host Jackie was very friendly and hospitable. Overall we had an amazing stay and would highly recommend it to other travelers looking for an excellent base on Norfolk Island.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie Pye, Owner at Poinciana Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Thank you so much for your great review. We were delighted to share our island with you and to provide a base on island, Hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Such a good time. Clean and everything that we need to make our stay excellent. Bed very comfortable. Bbq just what we needed when not feeling like a night out. Walked to yoga class, butchers, airport over the road. Car included and a free tour to get our bearings

Room tip: Try the butcher and coffee, snacks just down the road. Bowls club for tea. Check out all the sights, scenery is beautiful
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lindas3281warr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie Pye, Owner at Poinciana Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Thanks so much Linda for your review, it was a pleasure for us to host you at Poinciana Cottages. Take care and we hope to see you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2023

Can't fault this place. Well appointed cottage. You will want for nothing. Sit on the back veranda with a glass of wine and just watch the world go by as the sun sets. Jackie and Peter were lovely hosts - a wealth of information but never intrusive. So nice to have your own little cottage; and close to town and the airport. We would stay nowhere else should we return to NI.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Passport790536
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2023

Excellent location. Walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Very clean and comfortable with everything you need for a wonderful holiday on Norfolk. Jackie and Peter very hospitable local hosts.

Room tip: Take some packaged groceries with you as most are imported to the island and expensive!
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank garynliz2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews