We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Julie H
Brisbane, Australia

Poinciana Cottages

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Nov 2021
We stayed at Poinciana Cottages, Norfolk Island, for 8 nights. Jackie and Peter, our hosts were welcoming and generous hosts. On arriving at the airport, Jackie was there to meet us with our hire car. Two of us had booked to share one of the cottages, but upon arrival, we had been upgraded to a cottage each. Cottages well equipped and very comfortable. For the week we were there, our hosts were available but respected our privacy,
Spent a couple of evenings in the well equipped bbq covered area/kitchen, beaut balmy nights.
We had some trouble with internet access, but our hosts had a tech come and reboot when we let them know.
Overall, a lovely little quiet oasis
Thanks Jackie and Peter
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$230
  • Priceline
    AU$237
  • Vio.com
    AU$204
  • Expedia.com
    AU$237
0.8 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Pool
King beds, hardwood floors
AU$203
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$203
  • Hotels.com
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$225
1.2 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$206
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$185
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$206
  • StayForLong
1.0 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Pool
AU$203
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$225
  • Agoda.com
    AU$187
  • Hotels.com
    AU$220
1.8 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Unit 12
AU$87
Fully refundable
No booking fees
  • Vio.com
    AU$87
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Relax and unwind by the pool
AU$227
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$227
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
                                                                        front view of Panaroma A
AU$120
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$97
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$132
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Pretty Ball Bay
AU$158
  • Trip.com
    AU$364
  • Agoda.com
    AU$169
  • Expedia.com
3.8 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Welcome to Paradise
AU$6,475
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
    AU$6,484
  • Agoda.com
    AU$6,245
  • Vio.com
    AU$6,527
1.8 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Clifftop Cottage - open plan lounge, dining and kitchen
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.5 km from Poinciana Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Norfolk Island
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
69
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
69
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews daisy cottage washing machine home away from home hire car quiet at night place to stay comfy bed lounge area short drive jackie hosts week island views balcony cupboard kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2021

Our third time staying with Jackie & Peter Pye at Poinciana Cottages and once again they looked after us so well. We enjoyed the little 'surprises' on our doorstep when we arrived home from exploring this beautiful Island.

We are already planning our next trip and will definitely stay at Poinciana Cottages which we would recommend to anyone. It has all facilities needed, plus much more, including BBQ and picnic equipment. The cottages are in a beautiful garden setting and we enjoyed feeding our scraps to the chooks every morning.

Room tip: This is not a hotel but 5 individual cottages which were in excellent condition and contained all facilities required.
Date of stay: April 2021
Thank cowardlnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2021

We stayed at the cottages for a week and found the stay wonderful. We did not miss any comforts of home and every detail was provided for in the cottage. The cottage is very private despite the owners being on site. Jackie was a wonderful host and was very willing to answer our questions and help us out when our flight was delayed.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank blondered
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie Pye, Owner at Poinciana Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

So glad you were able to relax on our beautiful island after a somewhat stressful year. Thank you for your lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021

We stayed with the lovely Jackie and Peter some 16 years ago and this stay was just as satisfying . The units have been well maintained, modernised and kept spotlessly clean. Our stay was last minute due to COVID airline issues and Jackie was so accommodating and obliging to provide our stay at late notice.
Cottages are quiet, centrally located, contain quality inclusions with balcony and picturesque valley views. It is a flat easy walk to town, shops, clubs and markets. The property is easily accessible via the included hire vehicle.
This was our 6th visit to Norfolk staying at 5 different locations and Poinciana provides great value, quality accommodation in an excellent location.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TGH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie Pye, Owner at Poinciana Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

The airline delay gave us an opportunity to host you again at Poinciana Cottages, so thank you for choosing us. So nice to be reacquainted, until we meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021

We had a great week at the fabulous Poinciana Cottages. We loved to comfort and homely layout of the cottage. Everything you need is there, from a gorgeous view from your (rain proof) verandah, to dishwasher, massive comfort bed, picknick equipment, snorkeling gear, BBQ. The location is excellent, walking distance to the best deli shop, town centre, airport ( no worries about plane noise with 3 flights a week) and gorgeous restaurants.
The owners are extremely accommodating and bend over backwards to make you feel at home and assist you wherever needed.
Highly recommended!
Karin

Room tip: All the cottages are the same, we had Daisy which is opposite the BBQ area
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie Pye, Owner at Poinciana Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Thank you for your kind review it has been a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2020 via mobile

This review is as bit late, sorry Jackie! We had a fantastic week here in November. The cottages are super and have everything you need and more! Great location central to everything but very private and scenic and so well appointed.Jackie was extremely helpful and great to chat to.
We had a fantastic, relaxing but fun week on Norfolk and totally happy with Poinciana! Chris & Kym

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChrissyPortmacquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie Pye, Owner at Poinciana Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Never too late and such kind words thank you Chris and Kym.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews