We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alan4870
Cairns, Australia

Lush, green and peaceful

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Nov 2021
Our accomodation was spacious and well appointed. Full kitchen and lounge room, 1 x double bed, 1 x single. Norfolk is a little off the beaten track therefore don't expect 5 star (anywhere). Use your time to unwind, lower your blood pressure, and connect with a beautiful natural environment - forest and coastal walks abound.

Thank you to our host Karen, we thoroughly recommend your retreat.
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Nobbs, General Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 4 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to put up a review for us. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and could relax and unwind. I hope we see you back again some time.
Kind regards
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$237
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$209
  • Expedia.com
    AU$237
0.9 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Pool
King beds, hardwood floors
AU$210
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$350
  • Hotels.com
    AU$315
1.4 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$224
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$202
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
1.2 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Unit 12
AU$87
Fully refundable
No booking fees
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Welcome to Paradise
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    AU$6,521
  • Trip.com
2.0 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    AU$245
  • Agoda.com
    AU$211
  • Expedia.com
    AU$250
2.1 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
3.2 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Ocean Views from all apartments
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.4 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Pretty Ball Bay
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$182
  • Trip.com
4.1 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
                                                                        front view of Panaroma A
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$120
  • Hotels.com
    AU$106
  • Vio.com
2.9 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
View more hotels in Norfolk Island
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
41
21
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
21
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit trees close to town manager karen lush gardens a great stay mobile phone unit car norfolk week accommodation acres
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2021

Loved this place. A secluded hideaway with pool, tennis courts & pick your own tropical fruits from the orchard. Also very convenient for Burnt Pine & the Airport. Fabulous hosts & would highly recommend!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank S1422CUandrewn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Nobbs, General Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2021

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and the fruit in the orchard. I hope we see you back again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2021

Our host Karen was truely our host with the most. She welcomed us at the airport and we followed her in convoy to the Hideaway Retreat. It is located in a tranquil lush setting about a 5 minute drive from town. We were grateful to be offered the upstairs one bedroom apartment which was spacious and came with a well equipped kitchen. We had no problem negotiating the 17 or so narrow steps up to the apartment with our suit cases but others may find it challenging.

There was a bit of a musky smell each time that we returned to the apartment but we got used to it very quickly. The bathroom was very modern and a good size. The large queen bed was very comfy. The TV picked up all the major mainland stations. It was quite cold when we were there so we made good use of the small portable heater.

The wifi signal was quite weak unless we were on the balcony but worked well down in the office area. Speaking of the balcony, it was large with a couple of comfy chairs and provided a great view in multiple directions.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and were made to feel very welcome by the wonderful Karen.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NauticalDreamer3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

This property is close to town but away from through traffic where you can relax if you have any downtime after visiting all the wonderful attractions Norfolk has to offer and doing various tours. Karen the manager is extremely friendly and helpful with local information or any queries, and the facilities ensure that all comforts are catered to during your stay. Would highly recommend this holiday rental.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank E2240LUsues
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Nobbs, General Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

I am so please you enjoyed your stay and found Hideaway Retreat relaxing and comfortable. Yes there is so much to do on this little island it does take that full week to fit everything in, as well as allowing downtime. Thank you for taking the time to place a review for us we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021

Just the relaxing break I needed after the chaos of 2020. Karen picked us up from the airport with our hire car and showed us back to the resort. She is frendly laid back and discreet. We had an upstairs room in the downhill apartments, beautiful views from our windows and balcony, with mother hens and little chicks running around on the lawns. Very quiet and secluded. There is a plunge pool and a BBQ with plenty of picnic tables, a libary, tennis court and an orchard from which you can pick fruit in season. I found a couple of tiny birds nests, one with a deserted egg inside. The tropical grounds are full of birds and wildlife, and yet very close to the shops, restaurants and markets of town, the airport, the botanic gardens and Mount Pitt. Only a ten minute drive to Kingston and Emily Bay so a very convenient location but a hire car is needed on Norfolk Island. The upper area accomodation overlooks the airport and you can watch the planes land and depart, once every couple of days. A perfect retreat and would definitely stay there again. The apartments are fully self contained , spotlessly clean and you are encouraged to sort all your recycling for the sake of the beautiful unique environment of Norfolk Island. Thank you Karen and John for our lovely stay!

Room tip: Love the views from the upper floor, the downhill apartments are very quiet, the uphill apartments have views of the airport and the pool.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Nobbs, General Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2021

Hi Lesley, I am so please you enjoyed your stay at Hideaway Retreat, and many thanks for taking the time to place a review for us. It was lovely to meet you and Morag. We look forward to you coming back some time in the future.
Many Thank Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020

A lovely self contained place in the midst of lush gardens and forest. The rooms are very spacious and modern with well equipped kitchnette. The bed was very comfortable and nice contemporary bathroom. It is very easy to get around the island from the property.

They have tennis court, small library and pool/bbq area at the front. Balcony rooms have a nice view over the forest and you can actually see the flights coming in and going from apartment 8.

Karen is a wonderful host - very easy going and helpful. Met us at the airport with our car rental and directed us back to the property.

The only suggestions I have is that it might be worth them investing in some sun shades for the balcony rooms as it's so nice to hang outside, but it gets very hot without any shade to protect you and a ceiling fan in the room (rather than a portable one).

I would not recommend if you are after a luxurious catered stay and need all the bells and whistles, but if you want somewhere that is peaceful with few guests, gives you flexibility to make your own meals, and has spacious and comfortable rooms then it is perfect for you!

Would definitely stay here again!

Room tip: Apt 8 has beautfiul views.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank charlene_veverka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Nobbs, General Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2021

Hi Charlene, thank you for taking the time to place a review and for the suggestions regarding the shade cloth over the balcony. I will definitely look into that. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will come back some time.
Many thanks
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews