We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LesleyDG
Newcastle

Beautiful relaxing place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Jan 2021
Just the relaxing break I needed after the chaos of 2020. Karen picked us up from the airport with our hire car and showed us back to the resort. She is frendly laid back and discreet. We had an upstairs room in the downhill apartments, beautiful views from our windows and balcony, with mother hens and little chicks running around on the lawns. Very quiet and secluded. There is a plunge pool and a BBQ with plenty of picnic tables, a libary, tennis court and an orchard from which you can pick fruit in season. I found a couple of tiny birds nests, one with a deserted egg inside. The tropical grounds are full of birds and wildlife, and yet very close to the shops, restaurants and markets of town, the airport, the botanic gardens and Mount Pitt. Only a ten minute drive to Kingston and Emily Bay so a very convenient location but a hire car is needed on Norfolk Island. The upper area accomodation overlooks the airport and you can watch the planes land and depart, once every couple of days. A perfect retreat and would definitely stay there again. The apartments are fully self contained , spotlessly clean and you are encouraged to sort all your recycling for the sake of the beautiful unique environment of Norfolk Island. Thank you Karen and John for our lovely stay!
Date of stay: December 2020
Room Tip: Love the views from the upper floor, the downhill apartments are very quiet, the uphill...
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Nobbs, General Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 2 Jan 2021
Hi Lesley, I am so please you enjoyed your stay at Hideaway Retreat, and many thanks for taking the time to place a review for us. It was lovely to meet you and Morag. We look forward to you coming back some time in the future.
Many Thank Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
King beds, hardwood floors
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$347
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
3.2 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.9 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$203
  • StayForLong
1.2 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$266
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Clifftop Cottage - open plan lounge, dining and kitchen
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.4 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.4 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
                                                                        front view of Panaroma A
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$156
  • Booking.com
2.9 km from Hideaway Retreat
Free parking
View more hotels in Norfolk Island
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
41
21
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
21
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit trees close to town manager karen lush gardens a great stay mobile phone unit car norfolk week accommodation acres
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2020

A lovely self contained place in the midst of lush gardens and forest. The rooms are very spacious and modern with well equipped kitchnette. The bed was very comfortable and nice contemporary bathroom. It is very easy to get around the island from the property.

They have tennis court, small library and pool/bbq area at the front. Balcony rooms have a nice view over the forest and you can actually see the flights coming in and going from apartment 8.

Karen is a wonderful host - very easy going and helpful. Met us at the airport with our car rental and directed us back to the property.

The only suggestions I have is that it might be worth them investing in some sun shades for the balcony rooms as it's so nice to hang outside, but it gets very hot without any shade to protect you and a ceiling fan in the room (rather than a portable one).

I would not recommend if you are after a luxurious catered stay and need all the bells and whistles, but if you want somewhere that is peaceful with few guests, gives you flexibility to make your own meals, and has spacious and comfortable rooms then it is perfect for you!

Would definitely stay here again!

Room tip: Apt 8 has beautfiul views.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank charlene_veverka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Nobbs, General Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2021

Hi Charlene, thank you for taking the time to place a review and for the suggestions regarding the shade cloth over the balcony. I will definitely look into that. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will come back some time.
Many thanks
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2020 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay, super quiet location, surrounded by fruit trees & just 5mins from the town centre.
The owner Karen, was very friendly & happy to help if you needed anything.
Karen organised our car hire for the week & delivered our car to the airport for our arrival.
Our accomodation was the 1 bedroom loft which received beautiful cool breezes, private elevated position & overlooked the pool, bbq area & tennis court.
When we visit Norfolk again we will definitely book at Hideaway.
It was the relaxing holiday we needed.
Thank you
Kate & Mark

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank km2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohnN2899, Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Hi Kate & Mark, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hideaway Retreat. Thank you for taking the time to place a review for us that is much appreciated. The Chalet is a great space with lovely views over the property. I do hope we see you back again sometime.
Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020

Great spot close to town, rainforest and botanic gardens. Less than 10 minutes drive to Kingston and beaches. Karen was very friendly, professional and helpful. Hideaway Retreat is in 13 acres of rainforest where we watched the rare Green Parrot feeding in peach trees. We would fully recommend this place to any staying on Norfolk Island.

Room tip: We asked for the upper floor, but they were carpeted anyway so downstairs would have been fine.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FarAway565727
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohnN2899, Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to place a review, we really appreciate it. I am so glad you got to watch the Green parrot they are something special. The bird life here is amazing. We hope to see you back again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019

A lovely peaceful place to stay, with terrific views over lush greenery and easy access to all that Norfolk offers. Only a few minutes drive away from the shops, the beach, historical sites, forests and walks, basically everything the island has to offer.
Karen, the manager, was very pleasant and on hand if we needed anything. We would highly recommend Hideaway Retreat to everyone.

Room tip: Rooms on the second level have great views
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 827juneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohnN2899, Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. It is very much appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back some time
Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2019

Karen, the manager, welcomed us at the airport with her lovely smile and happy manner. She showed us to our hire car and we followed her to Hideaway Retreat. Such an easy start to a holiday!
The Retreat has great views and is surrounded by lovely gardens. The weather was quite humid during our stay so the plunge pool and green lawns were most appreciated.
Our apartment was very clean and had everything we needed to self cater.
Not far out of town, but (unless very fit!) a hire car is necessary.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kartigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohnN2899, Manager at Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review for us - we really appreciate it. I am so glad you enjoyed the pool and the gardens. Hopefully we will see you again some time.
Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews