We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
228
183
64
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
183
64
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscampus centerparking garagecontinental breakfaststudent unionhotel lobbybagelsfood courthard boiled eggsuniversity clubvisiting umasscookiesgreat place to staywould definitely stay here againdesk staffmy songraduation weekendthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I work at a different UMass campus and needed to be in Amherst for an event that required an overnight stay. The hosts put me up in Hotel UMass. It was perfect! The rooms were clean and quiet, the staff friendly and helpful, my view was lovely, and it was super convenient. I'll remember it for any future stays!

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the lake. Very pretty in the morning.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sallygore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hello Sallygore,

Thank you for the wonderful review of Hotel UMass. We are delighted to read you loved the comfort of your spacious room and were impressed with the convenience of our location. We appreciate you sharing your nice comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

LaMar Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

A nice clean hotel. The entrance is via a parking garage which is a little odd. Don’t expect concierge services. Get out and go to elevator to get to the check-in. The breakfast was nice with fresh pastries. Did not visit or see exercise facilities.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Edwellons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were planning a trip to Amherst so my son could visit the campus of UMass...knowing nothing about the area or the geography, I referred to the UMass website for lodging recommendations. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that there was a hotel on the campus. It was SO convenient and not expensive, so we booked it.
Upon arrival, everyone was so kind and helpful....and, the little extras that we did not expect were outstanding. The continental breakfast was plentiful, internet access in our room worked very well, they offered room service and we had free parking!!
Would definitely stay there again....

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hello Carhouse,

Thank you for your review and for being our guest. We are thrilled you included us in your travel plans and even more pleased to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding our breakfast and staff. We look forward to sharing your review with our team, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,

LaMar Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Very reasonably priced for the quality of room provided. Centrally located on campus; super convenient for visiting applicants and parents. Dining downstairs in the Blue Wall is incredible quality and value (#1 rated college dining program). Good service. Enjoyed meeting Jasper from London who is a student on campus. Definitely need a better entrance from the garage - it looks like a bus station! Not a favorable first impression - but don’t despair, it gets better!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank CMGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hello CMGrady,

I would like to personally thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to campus and for posting a nice review of the Hotel UMass. I am truly glad you loved our location, friendly staff,beautiful guestrooms and awesome food! It would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to accommodate you once again when your travels bring you back to Amherst. Wishing you and your family all the best!

Travel well,

LaMar Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Booked this hotel strictly because of the location. I visit Amherst yearly and usually stay at Marriot but wanted to be on campus this time. If the weather was nicer, we could have walked into town in 15 minutes but a $5.00 lyft ride was worth it to stay warm. Rooms were small but very clean. Staff was very nice and location was great having the university store and blue wall so close by. Breakfast was just OK, there was an assortment of muffins, bagels, cereal and hard boiled eggs. There was a water machine in the lobby that had both still and sparking water and there was a large water bottle in every room to fill up, I especially enjoyed this feature. This a great place to stay if you want to be close to campus.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dfwalsh368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for returning to Amherst and choosing Hotel UMass. Nothing pleases us more than to know we succeeded in providing everything necessary for you to have a wonderful visit. We truly appreciate your loyalty and hope you will continue making us your preferred hotel in the future.

Regards,

LaMar Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews