We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid performer in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This Holiday Inn is a solid performer in the HI chain. It is conveniently located near I 95 on RT 22. Everything is located in this area from restaurants to food shopping. Several non-chain restaurants are in the area which also makes it a nice break from the rigors of chain food.

The property is well kept and always fresh. The staff is friendly and always greets you as a returning guest. The hotel has standard rooms with up to date conveniences. Lots of channels on the TV and good internet connection.

Breakfast is usually included in my rate, but not sure if it is included in all the room rates. The breakfast is quite nice.

There is ample parking around the hotel as it shares a lot with a mall area. It is well lit and well kept.

You are a few minutes away from Aberdeen Proving Ground or the Ripken stadium.

This is not the cheapest hotel in the area, but certainly one of the best performers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evilshig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

We didn't find it easy to know where to enter the strip mall in which the hotel is located and any directions on the road were not picked up by us . On arrival, we realised there were renovations going on. It's going to become a H.I. Express.The Receptionist told us our breakfast was free but had to be informed that our rate included it and then gave us a ridiculously partial amount of reduction . It took till the next morning to put it completely right as by chance the manager was on duty and sorted it fully.
We had to ask for a different room because there was a musty, not fresh, smell. The Pub ( the hotel restaurant) was closed so we used a Pizza Hut Takeaway, just about 200 metres walk across the precinct in which the hotel is located. Breakfast finished quite early (0930 hrs?) to our surprise-we should have been told at Reception- and we thought we'd missed it but were rescued by kind, helpful breakfast staff, who brought out food for us after it had been cleared away ( they had known I was waiting outside for my wife to arrive!) . It was an ad hoc breakfast room because of the conversion work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room unaffected by the renovations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I have stayed in a few hotels at I-95 exits 80 and 85. This hotel is as close to Aberdeen Proving Grounds as you can get. It is within walking distance to a couple of restaurants and a sports bar. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was good, and room was clean. There are renovations going on, but it did not interfere with my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul35824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

No problems here. Nice clean hotel with plenty of parking. Near lots of food and drink too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resortg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The selections are limited in Aberdeen so you can't be too picky. The Holiday Inn is under renovation so at the time of this review, it is a hogpodge of new and old. The lobby has been redone but the pub is closed. The outside is very plain and in the middle of a strip mall.

The rooms are the basic rectangular room but with plenty of size to them. Bed was comfortable. I had room 402 which is particularly quiet as it is the end of a T bone hall. It also has a "view" of Aberdeen. If you have been there, you now what I am talking about.

My one major complaint was that the bath tub had not been cleaned properly. The sticky mat (which I hate) had been left in the tub during cleaning and there was a small nest of hair under it. Yucko.

The workout room is dilapidated with poor equipment. It sits on an unrenovated hallway which needs updating badly. The elevators are old.

Staff was ok but didn't provide me with any priority club benefits at all.

There are restaurants within easy walking distance including a Green Turtle which is a nice pub.

Room Tip: Try to get up high on the east side to be away from elevators. The Fourth floor has been renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huntguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Aberdeen
36 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
#5 of 16 in Aberdeen
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Aberdeen-APG
3.3 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Aberdeen
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House

Address: 1007 Beards Hill Rd, Aberdeen, MD 21001-2255
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: $156 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen-Chesapeake House is centrally located in the city of Aberdeen, MD, 1/4 mile off I-95. Just minutes away from Aberdeen Proving Grounds, the Heat Center, Cal Ripken Stadium, and Bulle Rock Golf Course. We are just 30 miles north of downtown Baltimore, the Inner Harbor, National Aquarium, Orioles Park at Camden Yards, and M & T Bank Stadium. We are a non-smoking property which offers a year-round heated indoor salt water pool, an outdoor patio, 24hr kids game room, a fitness room, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests also enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, 50+ cable channels including HBO and ESPN. We are a government friendly hotel and offer dedicated Wi-Fi along with hardwired high-speed Internet use for increased security. We started 2016 off with a complete renovation and now participate in the new Green Engage program so we have a fresh, up-to-date look in a comfortable setting to accommodate our guests. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen-Chesapeake House staff takes pride in producing a friendly and pleasant environment and we'd love to host your next visit to Aberdeen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing