We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condoms and hair and bare wires, oh my!”
Review of Hotel Costa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Costa Inn
Ranked #99 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Wife and I stayed for a long weekend at Costa Inn. If you plan to stay here, I would say lower your expectations:

- Hair in food (breakfast and dinner)
- Hair in "clean" bed sheets
- Soiled pillow cases
- Exposed wiring @ head of bed
- Shower head missing
- Condom wrapper in swimming pool

We checked in and went to our room. Within 5 minutes we requested a room change as ours was dirty, smelled like smoke, and the door bathroom knob was falling off. The new room, while free of smoke smell, had exposed wires that were by our heads, only one outlet in the room worked (behind the TV mounted to the wall), hair on the sheets / comforter, and dirty towels in it.

The breakfast buffet was unpalatable - we had hair in nearly every type of food we chose. I guess hair loss is is a real thing in Panama. Coffee was, well, crappy hotel coffee.

I was SUPER stoked on the roof top pool, until I found a condom wrapper in it. Lost my thirst to get in the pool. Maybe it's why the pool had a murky appearance?

By in large, it seemed like the staff didn't have the time of day for us (aside from the gal who checked us in), or any of the other patrons. When they were helping us, they were short and unapologetic.

Oh, and even though we couldn't find it required anywhere, you need a reservation for the return shuttle to the airport. Or plan on spending $20 on an Uber.

But, $2.25 Balboas at the bar - I guess there is one thing about the place that was redeeming!

Room Tip: Chose a room at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We stay at the Costa Inn every year in January and sometimes in May on our way in and out of the country to our sailboat.
They offer a free shuttle from the airport (generally a $25-30 taxi ride) and he return has a nominal fee. The rooms are simple, but clean. The hotel has a 24 hour restaurant for those late night arrivals and offers a free breakfast.
It's a wonderful bargain for a quick stay.
The location is not as convenient for walking, shops and restaurants as some of the other districts.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank svragman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Firstly, ignore any review above two stars - they've got to be fake or staying in some secret wing of the hotel which I never saw.

This is a dated, dirty basic 1 1/2 star hotel, albeit at a reasonable price of $40 per night if you book online.

The rooms are small, dated, smelly and dingy. Uncomfortable beds, with wafer thin sheets covering ancient mattresses. Terrible ceiling lighting and wall lights not working so it feels like a dungeon.

Breakfast is reasonable with good pancakes.

The rooftop pool is dated and during the rainy season was dirty.

The location is poor, a run down neighbourhood, not near anything and even as two 35 year old guys we didn't feel safe.

Avoid unless on a backpackers budget.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

good
near to the shops
quiet
good breakfast
pickup at airport on time
drop off at airport on time for a small fee
daily transport free to mall
huge bathroom
daily roomservice
daily towels and soap
easy to get a taxi

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank desscorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

I like staying at Hotel Coasta Inn it is easy to get the Metro to go shopping at AlBrooks Mall, this is my Third time staying at Hotel Costa Inn,and my Fifth time going shopping in Panama and i am in my Seventy,s

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank villashalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 km away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#83 of 115 in Panama City
145 reviews
1.4 km away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#68 of 115 in Panama City
117 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel el Parador
Hotel el Parador
#100 of 115 in Panama City
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#73 of 115 in Panama City
317 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Benidorm
#98 of 115 in Panama City
116 reviews
0.8 km away
La Cresta Inn
La Cresta Inn
#93 of 115 in Panama City
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Inn

Address: Av. Peru 39 Este, Panama City 0816-01510, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: $43 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for mid executives and touristic customers, close to the entrances for the 2 highways, in a hospital and a touristic area, close to the shops and the bank area. 90 Rooms, TV sat, free WIFI, phone, AC, pool, free parking, free buffet breakfast, free airport pick up shuttle service available... Only at the exit of costums you have to go with the people of Viajes Florencia, they have orange shirts and say you have a reservation at the costa inn or please contact hotel with flight information, travel and tours agency in the lobby, restaurant 24hs. Good and well know reputation, referenced in the international guides. Manager 24hs. Free shuttles to Allbrook Mall at 11am, Free shuttles to Tocumen International Airport at special time 5am, 8am, 11am and 2pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costa Panama City
Hotel Costa Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing